We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great location”
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed for one night here. Room was very updated and the balcony was great.
I would definitely stay again. The breakfast was very nice. There is no need for an on site restaurant. You are in the village. Great price for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msanderson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 364 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Austria Haus has an awesome location in Vail village. It's close to everything! The pool overlooks the river that runs through town. The staff and rooms are wonderful as well. The room included breakfast and it offered good food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oinkerColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night at the Austria Haus during a trip of the Rocky Mountains And had a great stay. When we checked in we were given a free upgrade to a suite without even asking ( a big benefit from going during the off season) and the suite was terrific. Clean & comfrtable. The bathroom had a large shower and a large tub. There was also a gas fired fireplace with comfortable furniture. A large TV that you could watch either from the living room or lying in bed. The suite also had cathedral ceiling with a post - beam look. The bed was soft & comfortable and we had a nice view of the mountains across the highway. The pool is a little small but is well kept and at a comfortable tempurature. Breakfast included fresh waffle station, Italian ham, salami, cheeses, fresh fruit and rolls. a great upgrade from your typical continential breakfast. There are also a lot of restaurants within walking distance and also a lot of retail shops. I am looking forward to going back to vail a staying here for a couple of days

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in mid-March with our 3 sons on the condo side of the Austria Haus. This property has both a boutique hotel with 25 rooms and probably 15 or so 2 and 3 bedroom fractional ownership condo units. The condos overlook the river and the mountains, so they are quieter (less street noise) than the hotel units. We've rented before in Vail, in Aspen and Breckenridge and this was our favorite combination of location, condo and ski conditions!

The condo was wonderful. Charming Austrian decor, with seemingly recently replaced furniture...really nice quality couch, chairs, dressers. We stayed on the second floor in a 2 bedroom which had a king bed in one bedroom with a full bath with two sinks, large soaking tub and shower. The 2nd bedroom had two full beds and another full bath with tub/shower. The bathrooms were beautiful, especially the master, with Italian marble tile, top notch towels and toiletries and nice updated shower with glass walls. There was a separate toilet room too...very nice. The couch in the living area also pulled out and was very comfortable (said one son!).

The living/dining/kitchen area was spacious enough for our family of five and we loved the views over the river, village and mountains. We prefer wood-burning fireplaces, but seems like no hotels/condos in Colorado put them in so the gas one created a cozy atmosphere. The building is solidly built -- we could hear no noise from neighbors on either side or above us, which was nice! There were 3 tv, one in each bedroom and a larger flat screen in the living area. Would be a nice touch if they added an Ihome or Bose music player that guest could put their Ipods into, to the room (maybe on the large piece of furniture opposite the dining table).

I have to mention the kitchen! Spacious enough for a small condo, but what was remarkable to me was how nicely it was equipped. We have rented homes and condos all over the country, several in a similar price range, and I have never been so pleased with a kitchen. Even though it's vacation, we do some cooking while on a ski vacation, so it was so nice to have good knifes (Cutco!), enough and the "right" sizes of pots and pans (All Clad!) and quality dishware and silverware! The appliances were top notch too with things like a Bosch dishwasher. It was nice that they supplied dishwasher detergent and paper towels since sometimes rentals do not.

The rest of the Austria Haus property was lovely. The lobby & breakfast areas were attractive and the staff always greeted us warmly. The complimentary breakfast included fruit, yogurts, cereal, pastries, bagels, break, oatmeal, coffee, tea, juices, Belgian waffle iron, hard boiled eggs, cold meats like ham, salami and salmon. More than adequate, though I would've loved warm scrambled eggs added to the offerings (good to have protein before a day on the slopes). One day they offered an omelet station I heard, but we slept in that morning and missed it! The breakfast was well staffed by friendly folks constantly refilling items and cleaning up.

We enjoyed the hot tub and pool area a couple of times, but the hot tub was a popular place and there is only one....would be awesome if they could add another one somehow. We didn't utilize the lobby bar except to attend the Monday night reception which was very nice and it was interesting to talk to other guests who return again and again to the Austria Haus.

Another nice benefit was access to the Vail Athletic Club a 3 minute walk down the block. Our son is a rock climber and we enjoyed watching him climb while working out on a few mornings that we gave our legs a break from skiing!

Finally, the Austria Haus location was perfect for us. We loved being able to walk to the Vista Bahn gondola (stored our skis at the Austria Haus partner shop) and to restaurants and shops instead of getting on a shuttle bus or trying to drive and find/pay for parking. Our condo was quiet except for one night when folks leaving the bars across the river were especially boisterous (I think it was St Patty's day, so lots of people partying), but I do think Vail police could do a better job of moving partiers along and out of the sidewalks and streets after the bars close.

As you can probably tell, we'd absolutely return to the Austria Haus and to Vail!

Room Tip: If you're staying for a week with more than 2 people, consider renting one of the condos instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondfromBeantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Austria Haus for a recent spring skiing trip. We found that the hotel offered good value and we enjoyed our stay very much. We opted for the "Columbine" room, which was large, attractive and comfortable. It featured a gas fireplace, large windows and a balcony. Our room was in the front of the hotel which was near the transportation depot, so it was a bit noisy at times. We did have a nice mountain view. The inside of the hotel is beautifully decorated in the Austrian style. There is a large, attractive breakfast room and a library full of comfy chairs and couches. The staff was friendly and helpful. They host a weekly beer/wine reception on Mondays. Although the hotel is located in the heart of Vail Village, it is a bit of a walk to the lifts. However, they do offer free ski valet right at the lifts, so no big deal. There is a breakfast and bar, but no restuarant, although you are just steps from the bounty of Vail's restaurants. There was a nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi, with nice Vail views. The hotel charges a $30 resort fee (like most Vail hotels), but this one actually includes something worthwhile - breakfast, free indoor valet parking, ski valet, priviledges at the the Lodge at Vail gym and spa, and more. We found that the Austria house was every bit as nice as the pricier Vail options. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd or 4th floors for goos views. Note that the rooms at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Quaint, well taken care of with superb service centrally located to all amenities fabulous free breakfast. The only place I will stay when I go back to vail Walk to gondola. Rt in the village of vail. Friendly staff
Louise Dawe
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a Lupine room on the 3rd floor and loved it. This hotel was so nice. My wife and I both felt like we have stayed at 5 star hotels that were not as nice as Austria Haus. The bathroom was big and excellent. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was well lit. Everything was extremely clean. Breakfast was also excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would love to stay here again. Compared to the other places in Vail, Austria Haus is a great deal and price. It is also close to the ski slopes (gondola 1). It is in a great location in Vail Village. The room is a good size room for two to three people. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor away from the elevators. Our Lupine room had a full bathroom and was a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodrunner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
632 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $247 - $986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, the Austria Haus Hotel exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. After a day on the mountain, relax in the heated pool or Stroll up Meadow Lane and enjoy the essence of Vail Village-Bridge Street and the covered bridge, bowling, movies and events at the Solaris, Vail Farmer's Market, shopping, dining and galleries galore. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing