We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cozy hotel with Old World charm!”
Review of Austria Haus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Austria Haus Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Trophy Club, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great, cozy hotel with Old World charm!”
Reviewed December 21, 2007

We went to Vail for a quick weekend of shopping and the Austria Haus was a great, central place to stay within walking distance of everything.

The hotel staff was courteous and accomodating. Vail has some fantastic choices for dining, and all three of the hotel staff at the front desk were extremely helpful in our decision process.

The hotel had a great Old World charm, as did Vail overall, and the breakfast buffet was FANTASTIC! Nothing like a fresh Belgian waffle to get your day started off right!

We didn't think to bring our swimsuits in November, but there was a nice pool deck facing the slopes, just outside a large study/library room with a fireplace, board games and comfy leather chairs.

We stayed in room 411 (the hotel only has 25 rooms), which is one of the regular rooms facing the slopes, versuses the large suites that face the highway. The room was still large and very nice. Check out my photos.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone headed to Vail!

  • Liked — The heated floor tiles and the breakfast buffet.
  • Disliked — Not well marked...had to call for directions and was right in front of the hotel!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SchultzDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    55
    6
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
177
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Austria Haus the first week of October. Got a great rate of $139 on the hotel's web-site. The room was not overly large, but could only be described as perfectly cozy. Warm fireplace, heated tile floor in the bathroom, beautiful view from our deck and a plush bed. The staff was very helpful in finding us the great October deals at usually expensive village restaurants. ($9.95 lunches at Sweet Basil- not to be missed). The hot tub was steaming and the pool was like bathwater which was the perfect end to cool mountain days. Each morning the breakfast included the freshest fruit, meats, cheeses, waffles and baked goods. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The construction going on around the property
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RobAshleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Good location in Vail village. Walk to shops and restaurants with ease, though don't expect them to open late if you are European and expect to eat later. Room was stylish, clean and in good working order. Our biggest gripe was service, OR LACK OF IT!

If you just want a room, then great, but this place calls itself a "hotel", and charges accordingly . There was no room service to speak of. We arrived, after a long flight at 9.30pm and staff were not helpful or informative. I think they tried, but they weren't knowledgeable, it was like they hadn't been trained properly. Many seemed to be of student age and some seemed to be very unfamiliar with hotel hospitality. It seemed like there was no proper management. Indeed, overhearing staff on one morning, there was criticism of the "distant" management. Some staff were miserable, some looked tired. One member of staff had worked all night and then was having to porter the next morning because of a staff shortage.

All in all, it seemed that service was the one thing this hotel lacked. I have travelled extensively throughout the world, and the service in this hotel was a little "Faulty Towers" I have to say. I think part of the facility was timeshare, or owned, and I heard staff talking about some of the residents, which I thought was very unprofessional, especially as I was waiting for my husband near the reception desk, and was quite visible to the staff. Again, it was as if they did not realise the impact of their actions.

The other part of the service we did not like was the fact that we had to keep chasing the cleaners to service our room. On one day it took 3 reminders and until 4pm for them to service our room.

Breakfast is good, on the whole, plenty of fresh choice, though a limited continental breakfast buffet.

The surrounding area is a bit "ghost town" in summer, but I can imagine it is beautiful in winter. It feels like an Olympic Games village, a bit impersonal: not quite Austria, not quite the USA.

This place is more like a large, upmarket motel than a hotel, simply because it fails to deliver on service. Oh, and you can forget the pool; bathtubs are bigger and the pool is at the side of the hotel, with limited seating. The picture on the website makes it look enormous, when it is more like a hot tub!

  • Liked — Big rooms in good working order. Good village location
  • Disliked — Poor service, inexperienced staff, no atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzzanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon June 11-15 and absolutely loved it. The room was spacious and clean, with a great fireplace and balcony. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. The free breakfast was MUCH better than your standard continental also. The entire hotel was above our expectations, I would definitely recommend it, and would stay there again anytime. Feel free to contact me with any questions!

  • Liked — Classy Atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bizztizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised by how spacious the room was. It was also nicely decorated. We loved the town and the location of the hotel was excellent. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The gondola ride in town is free of charge after 4:00 p.m. We had a great time!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank danaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2007

When we opened the door to our room it took our breathe away! Beautiful beamed ceiling, Bavarian style fireplace and pictures, duvets, warmed marble floor in the large bathroom, comfy chairs, complimentary bottled water, and 2 special little touches. A pot of heather (not real but very Austrian) and a tiny package of "gummibearen" on each bed. The entire staff could not have been more helpful, and genuinely pleasant.

We needed to use the internet and there is no charge for computer use. The library/sitting area has 2 fireplaces, books and magazines and several board games.

May is a very quiet time in Vail and many places were closed. In fact after 6pm the streets were virtually empty. However, enough excellent establishments were open to make our dining experience memorable!

If you ski it is only a short walk to the lifts, and if not you have the whole town of Vail at your doorstep to explore, We are hoping for a return visit in December!

  • Liked — The coziness of the room, and the warmth of the staff!
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lady2di4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Short and Sweet.........

- Awesome Location in the heart of Vail Village (walk to everything)
- Incredible low Fall rate
- Very nice room, clean, awesome bed, heated bathroom floor
- Very quiet (slow time for Vail)
- Service was great
- Nothing negative to say at all. They do it right.

  • Liked — Location and Nice Upscale Room
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Tips/Secrets — Look on the hotel website for additional discounts.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wincherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Haus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Haus Hotel

Property: Austria Haus Hotel
Address: 242 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4594
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#8 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austria Haus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Vail's premier boutique hotel in the heart of Vail Village. Inspired by the authentic, family-run ski chalets of the Austrian Alps, the Austria Haus Hotel exhibits warmth and hospitality with a touch of alpine class. After a day on the mountain, relax in the heated pool or Stroll up Meadow Lane and enjoy the essence of Vail Village-Bridge Street and the covered bridge, bowling, movies and events at the Solaris, Vail Farmer's Market, shopping, dining and galleries galore. This exquisite 25-room boutique hotel offers the perfect combination of modern amenities, the ideal location and exceptional guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Haus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Haus Vail
Hotel Austria Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing