We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch break”

The 10th Vail Mountain
Reserve with OpenTable
The 10th Vail Mountain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On Mountain, at the top of Gondola One, out of Vail Village
Transit: The free Vail in-town bus runs from Golden Peak to Vail Village to Lionshead to the Marriott. The closest stop to Gondola One, the lift accessing The 10th, is Vail Village. Proceed across the Covered Bridge and up Bridge Street to load Gondola One (lift ticket required to access Gondola One during daytime hours).
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great lunch break”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a party of 9 for lunch at 12:15. Excellent food, service and loved taking my ski boots off for lunch. Was an excellent spot to stop for lunch without the crush of people in food lines at two elk.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    56
    30
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth the ride up the mountain!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had dinner at the 10th after a long day skiing on the mountain. Rode up the gondola in the morning and thought the view was nice, but riding the gondola at night was fantastic! Be sure and ask the attendant for a blanket to help keep you warm on the ride. It was snowing that evening so the setting was truly magical. There were 5 of us for dinner that night, the service was wonderful and we all enjoyed our food. Will be sure to go back the next time we are in Vail! Oh and be sure and check out the bathrooms when you are there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sn0wb0under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Another great find in Vail”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I love that this place gives you the option of the entire menu gluten free! I had the gluten free pizza with arugula and mushrooms. It was crisp and light. Just what I wanted.
Let's not forget the view. Set in the middle of Vail Mountain, great for a break from a day on the slopes while enjoying a snow covered view.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cortneyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'd go just for the view, the bar, and the bathroom...LOL”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The truth is the food is "ok" we ended up eating at the lounge/bar in the seats near the fireplace. The view was amazing and the drinks (hot choc. with a bit of kick!!!) were too. We decided to have an appetizer their and realized we were not in love with the menu or the restaurant area as much as the view from the bar and the drinks. So we stayed with are really great server his name wasTracy (or something like that ...dang those drinks?!?) who took great care of us all night and we loved it!!
Ohh, the bathroom...the have more amenities in the biggest bathroom ever then I do in my own house, lotions, hair dryers,sprays of all kinds ...it was cute and made you feel "cared for!". Also the 2 min. drive in the snow bus (not sure it's real name) was fun and added to the bucket list of done that!!! If you go early you can see the sun set from the gondalla and that alone is priceless!!!!
P.S. The finger foods were very tasty and filling and the onion soups was unique and worth a try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

When you make the effort to eat dinner at a location like this in Vail, you expect that they know what they are doing. WRONG!

We waited about 15 minutes to be seated. We were told that the staff had to set our table. I guess I don't like being lied to. No one had to set our table, the hostess was incompetent. After waiting we were taken to a table that had been set. I don't understand when the entire place was almost empty why then we were given the worst table after waiting for such a long time. We did not arrive early but exactly at our reservation time. The sommelier was jumpy and could not stop talking. He did though respect our dollar range.

It was really really cold the week we were there, so the ride up in the gondola was freezing. Why after the ride up did we find out that they had blankets at the bottom and were not offered any? For the Vail Mountain surcharge, why could be have not received just an iota of service?

The food was mediocre and served dead cold. The service staff snotty.

The best entertainment during dinner was watching the multitude of groomers








have never experienced such appalling service and "food" anywhere. The whole experience was simply an insult. The cost of the "meal" was an utter disgrace not to mention the contemptible automatic addition of a 20% gratuity to the bill. The food was cold and utterly unpalatable not to mention the incompetence with which it was "served".

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 10th Vail Mountain also viewed

 

Been to The 10th Vail Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing