We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for patio lunch”

Tavern on the Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Tavern on the Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled conveniently within The Arrabelle, just steps away from the Eagle Bahn Gondola, Tavern on the Square's slope-side location is truly unbeatable. With live music nightly during peak season, The Tavern offers a Vail après ski scene second to none complete with mouth-watering food and drink. Having been recently expanded and offering both indoor and outdoor patio seating with stunning views of the mountains and skiers coming off the slopes - this tavern is a unique treat. Come experience our new summer menu specially crafted by Executive Chef Paul Wade from locally sourced ingredients, updated regularly to always satisfy your palate.
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent for patio lunch”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautifully situated in Lionshead village square, the tavern provided superb salads and a great bowl of gumbo. The service was extremely good, courteous and friendly. I would certainly try it for dinner if there in the evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry Gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    164
    61
    24
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dismal Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went out for what we expected to be a nice dinner on labor day evening and were thoroughly disappointed. After we sat down it took 15 minutes for a waiter to acknowledge us. That should have been a sign. Another 15 minutes later, the drinks made it to the table but the waiter wasn't ready to take our order yet - assuring us he'd be right back. I had to grab the floor manager 10 minutes later to take our order. It went downhill from there. From that moment on our waiter basically ignored us. I had to go to the bar and pick up drinks, the food came a half hour later. French onion soup that looked like water, a tuna burger that looked like a turkey burger and so on. There are so many great places to eat there, don't waste your time, money or energy on that place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank demandingcust0mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate at Tavern on the Square and were blown away! The food was absolutely delicious! In fact, dinner was so good that we had to come back the next night for more. The wait staff was excellent. The restaurant was clean and inviting and our experience was fantastic. We will definitely come back again and again. Thanks to Kenny and Kelly, two of the best wait staff we had the good fortune to meet.

Jan M

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful new American at the bottom of the gondola”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The fare at this indoor-outside gem is healthy, new American. We enjoyed a snack of a superb sweet corn soup, and a grilled asparagus side with egg. Both really well done. Staff was gracious and the outside plaza seating is great on a sunny day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dougananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good restaurant for a hotel restaurant”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stopped in for a late dinner upon arriving to the hotel. Food was very good for a hotel restaurant. I liked what my spouse ordered. The next day I took my friend there for lunch and ordered the same dish that my spouse got the night before but it was not that great that time around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSprinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tavern on the Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing