We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cold when you need it warm”
Review of Bistro Fourteen

Bistro Fourteen
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Fourteen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #87 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lionshead Circle
Transit: Lionshead bus stop.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“cold when you need it warm”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose the eat at Bistro 14 because it was a very cold day, we wanted to warm up and we needed a break from the long lines in the other cafeterias on the mountain.

The place was downright freezing inside - we had to keep our ski jackets on ! The hot food was really cold when served, but the waitress did replace it with a warmer version.

This place is not what it is hyped up as. It looks and feels like an old, tired and rather beat up restaurant from the 1980's . Also - there is no view and is actually more back of house than a great place to eat. A big miss on their part.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mclean,va
Level Contributor
135 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Went for Lunch”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Service was good. Since I didn't have dinner, can't really comment on that. Wine list was good with decent breadth.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KcR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

we got there at 3pm, only three tables were occupied put the host did not give us a table and she mentioned that they are all reserved for 4pm, we asked if we could get something quick and the rude MANAGER named Edith came out and she made sure we can't get a table. so we ordered togo at the bar and ate across the hallway. During this time (for about an hour) I watched at lease 10 families of four come by and she turned them all around, All tables stayed empty and bunch of people were upset because she would not give them a table. I figured for an average of $30 per person that restaurant lost $1200 for that hour. Food was actually good but she is bad for business.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“mountain view”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location is perfect and the food is well prepared and quite good. Service is professional and timely.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
343 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Much to do about Nothing”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Don't be fooled by the picture showing an upscale setting with table cloths and full table settings. Even though it is up on top of the mountain at Eagle's Nest, it is not the upscdale restaurant on the third floor but a bare wood table bistro setting on the first floor. Food was so so for the dollars although the service was excellant. Tried not to let the misleading info effect my thought process ...... food was over priced even for a Bistro. Would expect something like thisduring a quick lunch during ski season ..... not night/late afternnon time summer dining!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garnett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Fourteen also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Fourteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing