We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needed to give skiing a rest”

Vail Backcountry Tours
Ranked #3 of 19 Tours in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vail Backcountry Tours is the only tour company in Vail Colorado. Why sit in a van for half the day when you can snowmobile just across the street from Vail Mountain? We pride ourselves in providing the most diverse and accessible terrain in the Valley. Our experienced, safe, and knowledgeable staff is guaranteed to show you the trip of a lifetime. Family friendly snowmobile tours, that are 5 minutes from the lifts of Vail Mountain.
cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“needed to give skiing a rest”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a short three and a half day stay in Vail in mid march 2013. I had some experience with snowmobiling but my 17 year old son had no experience. The staff was excellent, the weather was perfect. The facility was very close to vail resorts, convenient, location, location, location. Our guide, Gregg Haggen was very attentive to the fact that my son was a beginner and took special notice to teach him the basics of safety and operation of the snowmobile. He was a great guide, knew the mountain well and even gave us a little history lesson about the area and wildlife. The facilities are top notch, the machines worked perfectly. We would definetly go back again and would recommend to others. Our guide Gregg helped create a great family memory.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank docfurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    3
    0
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Snowmobiling in Vail”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife, daughter and I went snowmobiling for the first time this March (2013) and had a wonderfully fun time on a 2-hour snowmobile tour in Vail. VV Tours is a 1st rate outfit. They had all the gear we needed, including boots, helmets, goggles, gloves, suntan lotion, and snow pants if we needed them. Gregg Haggen, our backcountry guide,was a great leader. He made it easy for us to understand how to operate the vehicle, took us through some cool trails and onto a meadow for some fast trekking!! The scenery was spectacular! The trip even included warm cookies and hot chocolate!! What's not to like about THAT. My 12-year old was all grins, from ear to ear.

The artic cats were easy and safe to operate. Get this: the handle bars were heated!!

WE can't wait to get back there next spring to do it again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Park, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great snowmobiling, had lots of fun!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went on the 3 hour tour including lunch. Had an AWESOME guide Gregg Haggen, both of us had teenage girls with us and he was very accommodating. Lunch on top of the mountain in a yurt was fabulous, great food and Chris makes great cookies!! I would recommend Gregg to anyone, he was the best.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serious snowmobile fun for the family!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband, 9-year old son and I went snowmobiling for the first time ever and were not disappointed! Our terrific guide, Brian, was knowledgeable, informative and gave each participant excellent personalized attention, focused both on safety and fun. We had a great time and would recommend it for others. Oh... and the warm chocolate chip cookies and hot cider/cocoa in the yurt were delicious and well timed!

Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeLunchCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easy, convenient, fun”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went on the short tour with Brian and took the whole family. My sixteen year old boy and wife had a great time. They make it easy and pick you up at convenient locations. The start is 10 minutes from Vail and these are no old snowmobiles, they are great machines. An easy safety discussion and how to ride the machines, and then you are off on the national forest trails that take you to private land where you can open it up(if so inclined). Then some time going up to great 360 degree views and then back down for some warm drinks and cookies. Everyone had a great time. I would recommend to anyone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vail Backcountry Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing