We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average restaurant”
Review of Matsuhisa Vail

Matsuhisa Vail
Reserve with OpenTable
Matsuhisa Vail is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
California,USA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Average restaurant”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were looking for a japanese restaurant in Vail and we went to Matsuhisa. The food in general was pretty uninspiring and the sushi especially looks like plastic sushi. Big disproportion between price and quality

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    73
    41
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I want to go back now.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been so lucky as to dine at the Matsuhisa in Aspen and Vail, and both experiences were amazing! I can't wait until I get to go back again!! Definitely reccomend!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sasand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went off season to this restaurant. The food was excellent and more affordable (slightly) than we were anticipating. We had yellowtail/jalapeno to start, endamame, sashimi, and black cod - I'm not a huge sushi person. The only thing wrong with the evening was that the server somehow mistook sashimi for sushi, so the timing of the meal was off while he corrected his mistake. Desserts were also very good. The sommelier steered us well, pairing an Austrian wine with what we ordered. We plan to return, but I will watch the bill as we had an additional charge I never figured out and the sashimi/sushi issue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Our favorite Japanese Chain”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have tried 6 affiliated restaurants matsuhisa/nobu. No matter which one we go to the food and service has been great. The must order dishes for us are the miso cod, rock shrimp, and jalopeno yellowtail. Then we usually just order other dishes to try. The omakasa is amazing if you want to taste their menu.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bacong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grossly over-hyped, and extremely dissapointing!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Let me start by saying that my wife and I are sushi fanatics, and we've eaten fantastic Sushi in many great cities like Huntington Beach, Dallas, Denver, etc. After hearing out trusted "foodie" friend lavish praise on Matsuhisa, we had high expectations. Unfortunately, we found it to be a massive disappointment. The atmosphere was amazing, but that's were it abruptly ended. We found the menu to be odd, and sparse. The waiter recommended the salmon skin roll, which was utterly disgusting. The creamy rock shrimp was descent, but not great. We were with a big party, so we got to sample several of their signature dishes. We felt they were all average (or below) tasting, overpriced, and under portioned. I feel that everyone leaving 5 star reviews, is partaking in the "emperor's new clothes" syndrome. All of the wealthy socialites say its great, so it must be.
Bottom line, save your money, and go to any of the other sushi places in Vail. They are probably all better, and cheaper. Matsuhisa was a grossly over-hyped let down.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matsuhisa Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing