We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time at streamside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice time at streamside”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed at Streamside Birch for the first time. Had previously stayed at Aspen (name may have been changed). Resort is clean and convenient but not fancy. Location is about 2.5 miles west of Vail Village (West Vail) but there is a convenient shuttle that runs up there. Property is ride on the Gore Creek Bike Trail and you can ride for miles in either direction. Amenities include a hot tub, indoor/outdoor pool, fitness facility and a racquet ball court. Staff was courteous and efficient. Unit (studio) was comfortable and well appointed. Only issue we had was with wasps that had established themselves in an overhead kitchen light. Exchange rate was very favorable and we'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south (back) side of this facility would be quieter although highway noise is not disru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Streamside at Vail, what can you say about this property... first off, this is the first vacation club Marriott ever built. I think the key to enjoying yourself here is knowing the property is dated. Having said that, we loved our stay here. The front desk is awesome! Scott and Bru were very friendly and courteous! The villas are clean and huge! 2 bedrooms sleep 10 and 1 bedrooms sleep 6. For the price there is no better bang for your buck. They have shuttles that run like every half hour so you can get by without a car if u had to. I read other posts on how this place is dark and not to Marriott standards. I would have to disagree. Our villas had tons of windows and clean. There is no a/c in the units but guess what, most of the hotels up here do not so that pretty standard. They have daily activities for adults and children, so a great place to stay for families! I would def stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawickied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This location has three building - Birch, Douglas, and Evergreen. We stayed at Birch building and found that it was not that great.

In Marriott website, they showed great pictures of this hotel with the stream and outdoor jacuzzi, but they do not tell you that the hotel is right next to the I-710 highway. Douglas and Evergreen are in the back by the hill, but Birch is right there by the highway. We stayed in a one-bed room unit. There's no air-conditioning in the unit. With the water heater in the living room closet, the pilot of the fire place still on, and the humid weather in July, it was extremely hot in the unit and we had to open the sliding door and windows to get some breeze. But then we had to put up with the really loud traffic on the highway. However, the amenities are not bad there. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is nice and the kitchen has everything. The house keeping staff are great. They were quick to bring us the supplies when we asked and were very polite. However, the engineer department were not so good. We had problem with the TV and the front desk said they were sending the engineer over, but they never showed up, and we had to call the next day again.

The closest jacuzzi to the building is very small and next to the highway, so we decided to walk up to the club house and use the outdoor jacuzzi there, which was pretty nice and good size.

The hotel provides free shuttles to Vail Village and Lionhead Village. It is great to take them during the busy time, especially the Saturday famer's market. However, they are not always available, so it's important to find out the schedule beforehand.

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve Douglas or Evergreen and avoid Birch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floatingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week in a 1-bedroom condo, just down the hill from the main offices and pool area. The pull-out couch was perfect for our 9-year old son. Room that we had had a fireplace. The room was excellent, roomy, with a great kitchen area. Very room! The beds were really comfy, and it was nice to have the room straightened each day. Laundry was available for free on the ground floor, a bonus for a week stay! Our room had 2 balconies - one that picked up some of the interstate traffic noise, and one off the bedroom. The shuttle runs through every 15-minutes for an easy ride into Vail, which is great, since parking can be far from the village. The indoor/outdoor pool was a great way for kids to blow off some energy at the end of the day. There was a nice creek/river that ran along the front of the condos, with a sitting area and grill. The kids loved "the cave", a carpeted, clean, fun room with Wii games, and other games and bean bag chairs! We would highly recommend this property and the staff was outstanding, very helpful and laid back.

Room Tip: choose a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanesmomSt_Louis_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We attempted to stay at Birch, Marriott's StreamSide at Vail. NOTHING AS THE PUBLISHED PICTURES!!! Hope more people will read this and skip this place. We entered a dark, old, cheap 1/2 room to discover there is NO BED, NO BEDROOM SPACE in the condo! The bed was hiding behind the closet doors, if bed was arranged on floor, there would be no space for the sofa to be used as bed as well. The whole space was so tiny, there was NO DINING SPACE AT ALL!!! NO DINING TABLE! ...AND THIS EXPANDABLE BED IN THE MIDDLE of this1/2 room was crazy! Please, publish pictures of the real condo! People need to know what to expect for their money.

Room Tip: Will never book this hotel again
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 679Worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vail hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Marriott's StreamSide Birch using Vacation Club points. It was an excellent decision! Neither of us had ever been to Vail, but we'll certainly be back, and stay at StreamSide again.

I had concerns about the age of the unit, after reading other reviews, but everything was just fine. The room was nice, well-maintained and the right size for the two of us (we had a one-bedroom unit). The only complaint (very minor!) is that the heater was too warm in the bedroom, but I solved that by opening the window just a bit each night.

The shuttle into Lionshead/Vail was very convenient for us - once we got there we didn't drive our rental until it was time to head back to Denver.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I have two properties at the Doral in Miami and made the exchange with this property. the experience has been the worst. i planned this vacation well in advance and to begin we were not placed together. One group\ was at the Streamside and we were at the Birch. The room is maybe a 350 sq. ft. unit, with very old furniture, damaged and dirty, the room was a very small maybe 120 sq. ft., we placed our money and jewelry in the safe and then it didn't open. The chief engineer had o come and personally verify that it was non operable. They had to call the manufacurer to solve he problem. The gas fireplace smelled like burned plastic. the space in the kitchen is 6 ft. by 4 ft. The bathroom is so small that only one person can use it.
If you don't ask for a garage, nobody offers it. The front desk staff is no help at all. They know nothing, and their answer is allways is blame it on Interval.
I have stayed in a lot of Marriott properties and this is by far the worst. The whole building should be demolished in order to build something according to the Marriott name brand. i don't recommend and will never come again to this 1 star hotel

Room Tip: Never choose to come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank waterman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor.

First and foremost, I apologize that you had a less than enjoyable stay with us at Marriott’s StreamSide at Vail. We try to provide that Marriott service level that you have come to appreciate over the years for all of our buildings on the StreamSide property. Please feel free to contact the General Manager at 970 476-6000 if you would like to talk about it further.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.

Best regards,

Customer Care
Customer.Care@mvwc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.0 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
0.1 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
2.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
2.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#8 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail

Property: Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Address: 2284 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail is the perfect Colorado retreat. Tucked neatly in Vail, Colorado, our rooms are accented by the cool breezes throughout our picturesque Vail resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Birch At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Birch Vail
Marriott Vail
Marriott Vacation Club Vail
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing