We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went there, loved it, bought it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Norwich, England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Went there, loved it, bought it.”
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We originally booked into the Aspen block four years back, and then bought a timeshare unit on eBay dirt cheap for Week 8 in the BIrch building every year.

Bear in mind that these units are worked hard by skiers and boarders in the winter, and bikers and hikers all summer and they actually stand up quite well. They're not to the usual Marriott Vacation Club five star standard, but then you're probably not looking for somewhere like that if you book into West Vail.

The units are smaller than the Marriott standard sizes, with the one beds being around 860 square feet. They have two queen beds in a single bedroom, with a small kitchenette and a bath/shower room. The rest is an open living/dining area - table, chairs, breakfast bar, sofa, coffee tables, large TV, open gas fire in the corner and a small balcony to admire your icicles.

In 2008 the Birch units are being upgraded by Marriott to have new furnishings, tiles, plasma TVs etc. This refresh should give them a new lease of life. Don't get me wrong, they're fine, but they're more functional than the last word in luxury. At twenty years old, very few of us looked as good as when we first came into the world.

The clubhouse - which is shared by all five buildings - was refurbed in 2007 and looks good. There's a fine kid/teen area with free Nintendo Wii replacing the slots in spring 2008. The decks been rebuilt and the pool cleaned up. the reception is now very Marriott, and best of all, there's a fitness centre stuffed full of top-of-the-range machines. No bar or restaurant, bit as they point out, nobody would use them even if they had them.

Face facts here - no one goes to this end of Vail for straight luxury. You go because the snow, golf and fishing are great and the mountain's extensive. What you want is somewhere, comfortable and secure to stay - and that's what Birch offers.

Reviewers who say there's nothing around the area obviously never took the two minute walk under the I-70 to Bagalli's Italian Kitchen, the Westside Grill or the Sandbar Sports Bar. The Sandbar is probably the best proper sports bar in Vail (rather than just a bar with TVs in every corner) after Garfinkels in Lionshead .

Anyway, the Marriott lay on a shuttle bus to the slopes FOC every ten minutes during peak times, and in the evenings it's every half hour to either Lionshead centre (Vail's new dawn) or Vail Village. As a service, it's brilliant - no drink-drive fears, friendly and reliable to the minute.

Birch - unpretentious, decent pricing, the right size and service. It's my kind of place.

  • Liked — Free shuttle to town, value, comfortable and secure
  • Disliked — 2008 refurb should brighten the place up closer to usual Marriott standard
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Demon_Barber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    13
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Our family of five stayed at Marriott's Streamside at Vail over President's week in February. We are owners at another Marriott Vacation Club timeshare property and traded our two bedroom unit for a one bedroom/one bathroom unit during the highly demanded President’s week through Interval International. We were placed in the Birch building, room 2205 which faced Gore creek.

The one bedroom unit felt cramped for our family of 2 adults and 3 small children. The bedroom held 2 queen beds and the living room provided additional sleeping on a full sized sofa bed. However, it was inconvenient to make up and fold away the sofa bed each day. We would have been better accommodated in a two bedroom unit. Having to use the living room as a bedroom really left no place for that person to store their clothing and other personal belongings as the bedroom didn’t provide enough storage for the whole family.

The unit was compact but conveniently arranged. The main room was the living room, dining room and kitchen. The living room provided seating only on a leather sofa facing a TV in an armoire. Next to it was a dining table with seating for 6. The kitchen was tiny but provided everything we needed. It had a breakfast bar with seating for 2 and the kitchen was stocked with dishes for 8.

We spent a lot of time in our condo unit as our youngest child became ill during the trip, so we used the property and its amenities more than we intended to. We cooked all meals in the unit and had no complaints about the small but efficient and well equipped kitchen. It had all the pots, pans and dishes plus more than I could use in one week. There was a full sized fridge, stove, dishwasher, blender and microwave oven. There were lots of dishes and serving ware. Also, there were additional storage containers and even dishes for baking and a hand held mixer.

We did not see any welcome events on the activities sheet even though we were there 7 days. We did partake in some of the kids MAZE activities because we were spending more time than we planned at the condo. Because it was ski week, our kids were the only ones at the planned activities. There were nominal fees for the craft activities.

The location of the buildings was about 2 miles from Vail village, but the property offered a very convenient shuttle service to the Lionshead Village where Eagle Bahn Gondola is located and the village proper in the evenings. The service was excellent and we used it daily. What we didn’t like about the location that though it was picturesque being on Gore creek, it was also very close to I-70 which gets pretty heavy traffic day and night. Because the unit was quite warm, we needed to keep the windows open a crack, but were then bothered by the highway noise.

There are 5 buildings which make up the property. They are Aspen, Birch, Cedar, Douglas and Evergreen. However, Marriott manages only Birch, Douglas and Evergreen buildings while Aspen and Cedar buildings are managed by Vacation Resorts International. All the buildings share the same amenities and you don’t really know there are two companies managing the same property until check in. The clubhouse, which doubles as the main lobby, houses two registration desks. It is also where the indoor/outdoor pool, hot tubs, steam room, sauna, game room, lounge and kids area are located. The building was recently renovated, but the pool area seems to be really lacking. It certainly didn’t look recently renovated, and while we were there, during one of the busiest weeks of the year, all of the hot tubs were not working. Also, part of the week the steam room was inoperable.

Overall, we found the property to be adequate for our needs, and the beautiful Vail Valley certainly exceeded our expectations of natural beauty. Add in the fantastic snow we experienced and even though our youngest got sick, it still added up to a great week in the snow.

  • Liked — Good value for what you got.
  • Disliked — It felt cramped.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jlp879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vail hotels

ny
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

There are positives and negatives. On the plus side, it seems that they will be updating the furniture and window treatments at the end of the year. Also, the shuttle is very convenient and runs very frequently. Also, there is free laundry in each building, just bring your soap suds. Also on the plus side is that there is a nice but small indoor pool with a swim out, but for some reason you can only use half the outdoor pool (the cover is on the rest of it) and the inside of the area where the indoor pool is could use a bit of sprucing up. Plus both hot tubs don't work and haven't worked for the past week. On the negative side the units are old and dusty and definitely need updating. If you come to vail be prepared for the altitude. It is really hard.

  • Liked — free shuttle
  • Disliked — old and dusty rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank doctoradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for one night with our 14 month old son. The staff was friendly and the rooms were adequate. They could use a remodel but for $99/night, you can't go wrong. It's located one exit up the road from the heart of Vail and they have a shuttle that will take you there and pick you up at no charge.

It's not the nicest Marriot timeshare we have ever stayed at and I wouldn't even put in the top 40%. Since the price is lower than most Marriott timeshare resorts, I don't mind taking a step down in quality.

The view from our balcony was of the woods and it was very quiet and peaceful.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed Christmas week a the Streamside at Vail - Cedar building. It is nice and cozy, especially with the fireplace and all the firewood you need. It is up a hillside with no parking except at the bottom of the hill, so there are a LOT of stairs to climb, and we were on the first floor!! That part is inconvenient, no elevators to get up to the building, and I spraned my ankle skiing, and had to walk up the stairs with crutches. The unit itself is nice, clean, spacious, but not overly luxurious. Good enough, though. The people are all extremely helpful, from the front desk to the shuttle driver, and very willing to take care of any problem you might have. We would stay there again and had a great time.

  • Liked — the view and the condo itself
  • Disliked — the stairs
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank joanbosoxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2006

Well, I just got back from a great vacation in Vail, Colorado, and I was staying at the Birch building in Marriott’s Streamside while I was in Vail. There are many things to tell, both good and bad, about this building and the complex.
The Birch building is not that impressive on the outside. It is the plain brown painted building on the complex. There are many parking spots right in front of the building. The Birch building does have an elevator.
When Marriott acquired the building they re-carpeted, re-tiled the bathrooms, put in new counters, and re-furnished it. The furnishings were quite nice. The room’s colors blended well together. We were a little disappointed about some parts though. We went to Vail during the summer, and the gas fireplace in the room still had its pilot light on, it really heated up the already warm room. Over the fireplace there was a ceiling leak. It didn’t actually drip water, but it made the paint and drywall around the leak adopt a yellowish color. In the bedroom, there were two sets of two holes in-between the beds where a light fixture used to be. One of the most annoying parts of the room was that it wasn’t air-conditioned. I can understand why, it gets quite cold in Vail at night, but if you don’t have your windows open and the portable fan the hotel gives you running, the room gets really hot.
We had a one-bedroom villa. When you first walk into the villa, the sitting area is in front of you with a couch, coffee table, ottoman, and a nice Sony TV. There is a sliding door for access to the balcony. To your left is the dining table with a ceiling fan over it. There are two closets in this area, one has the room’s water heater in it, and the other has a broom, plunger, carpet sweeper, a humidifier, etc. Down the hallway and to the right is a full kitchen and counter, the kitchen has a dishwasher, electric oven and stove, microwave, and a full-size refrigerator. The kitchen has a nice set of dishes and glasses. To the left of the kitchen there is the bathroom with a nice counter and mirror. The whole bathroom is new and is very nice and works well. If you keep going down the hallway, you pass into the bedroom. The bedroom has a closet with a safe inside, two queen sized beds with a bedside table in-between, and a TV. The whole villa has vaulted ceilings.
One side of the building faces a big hill, and the other side faces the Gore creek that runs along the freeway.
Streamside is only about a 5-7 minute drive away for Vail Village, and the hotel operates a helpful free shuttle that can take you to the nearby Safeway Grocery store, Vail Village, Lionshead Village, the Marriott hotel, and the ski slopes. The shuttle interior is very nice, with comfy chairs and wood trim. The driver will also give water-bottles out to riders. The shuttle leaves the building at the top and half of the hour, and they give you a number to call to be picked up and brought back to the Streamside. It is all free and very helpful.
The lobby building is nice, but the indoor/outdoor pool was VERY cold!
Overall, the Streamside is better than your average Holiday Inn, but it is nowhere close to as great as a normal Marriott Vacation Club. If you happen to see one of the villas in the Evergreen building, you can tell that it was built by Marriott. If you stay at a lot of Marriott Vacation Clubs, you will be a little put out by this property. It has Marriott’s standards, so it’s okay, but it is obvious that Marriott didn’t build this place.

  • Liked — It was clean and effecient.
  • Disliked — It was not as nice as most Marriott Vacation Clubs.
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not buy gas in Vail, it is VERY expensive, we found that Frisco ususally had cheaper gas.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank KidMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 21, 2003

Wonderful experience. Recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.0 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail
0.1 mi away
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail
2.7 mi away
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
316 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail

Property: Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail
Address: 2284 S Frontage Rd W, Vail, CO 81657-4389
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail is the perfect Colorado retreat. Tucked neatly in Vail, Colorado, our rooms are accented by the cool breezes throughout our picturesque Vail resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's StreamSide Birch at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Streamside Birch At Vail Hotel Vail
Marriotts Streamside Birch Vail
Marriott Vail
Marriott Vacation Club Vail
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing