We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and exemplary service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz Residences
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
207 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and exemplary service.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this lovely property expecting a rather inflated ski type condo setting. The 3 bedroom residence we stayed in exceeded all our expectations. The residence was so large, we kept getting lost. There were 3 lovely bedrooms, a view of the mountains from each window, and 3 and 1/2 bathrooms. The staff went out of their way to welcome us, even though we arrived quite late. Look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fifth floor with a beautiful view of the mountains. Think it would be hard to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SondraTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    12
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
107
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in a condo here for a week in June. It was a wonderful experience. The service was impeccable and so helpful. Our residence was beautiful and the pool and facilities were top-notch. I highly recommend this place to anyone with small children. It's perfect for big families with lots of little ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

First time to stay several days in Vail. The Ritz-Carlton his a great property. The residence is like home with top of the line furnishing and kitchen. The staff was outstanding like you expect from a Ritz property. I would recommend if you like to relax and enjoy a property like you are at home. The only con would be the noise from the the cars and trucks from I-70. If you want to enjoy the cool evenings in the summer and have the windows and doors open you will just hear the trucks The is the thing that was not good. Could not sleep with the fresh air in the rooms. I will try and get a unit facing the pool and hopefully the noise would be less and could enjoy the nights much better. Was a little disappointed they put people on the side facing the interstate if not full but next time will request.

Room Tip: Units facing the pool would be the best for evenings with less noise from interstate traffic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbeasley61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

If anything could make us happy that we purchased 17,000 Marriott destination points, it would be our stay here! Never have we felt so fortunate in our selection of places to stay. From the alder wood crown moldings to the wide plank hickory floors, our 3 bedroom, 4 bathroom residence was first class in every way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobbispiano88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a well-run resort property, with professional and friendly service staff. There are two parts to the hotel -- a "club" side and a "residence" side, with separate reception areas but sharing a common lounge and valet area. As the concierge explained it to me, the "residence" side are homeowners who purchase their units, their "club" side are people who buy into one of those vacation club memberships where you get a number of points and use those to book at their properties in Vail and elsewhere. Not exactly a timeshare but kind of a similar concept. I was not a member of either, and actually did not realize I had not booked at a regular Ritz Carlton hotel until we arrived and I was checking in (I had skimmed the reviews on Tripadvisor before booking, but did not catch the vacation club concept). In any event, we received a room on the "club" side, which I booked through the Ritz Carlton website. It was a last minute decision (the weekend prior) as my coming week had just cleared up and it appeared that Vail was getting snow and our family wanted to get in one final week of spring skiing.

I was very pleased with the accommodations overall. The valets at both the car and ski area addressed me by my name each time, and appear to have been trained well.
The room itself was a standard high-end luxury 2 bedroom unit - high quality furnishings and a well appointed kitchen with stainless steel Bosch appliances. The kitchen had sufficient dinnerware and utensils, although none of the typical basic things you might expect such as salt and pepper, coffee, cooking oil, etc., which means you will have to purchase those items. The in-room Wifi worked perfectly on multiple devices with no problems. There is a Bose audio system but the remote control had dead batteries. Turnover service each afternoon.

I was also happy overall with the ski valet service. It is not exactly as turnkey as others have described in other reviews however. The main problem is that there is only one shuttle bus for the entire property, so if you plan to go in the morning or return in the afternoon (when everyone else is) you may have to wait. At least twice we had to queue in line and wait for the shuttle to return to pick us up because it was already full. This is only a 15 minute wait so not the end of the world. I realize I am nit picking here, but for $500-$600 a night you expect a sufficient shuttle service if you are not going to be staying slopeside. Also they do not appear to wash the shuttle bus daily so it can get dirty on the outside. Other than the fact that the sole shuttle bus does not appear to be sufficient for the number of guests during peak times, the ski valet service is otherwise quite good. The ski room downstairs is large and appropriately sized to handle everyone. One thing they do not offer, which would be nice, is an overnight tuning service for your skis, which is something that most ski valets at resorts we have stayed at will offer. The valets themselves are very friendly and trying hard to get everything done.
The complimentary car service (GMC SUV) is also very convenient for getting around town and we never had to wait more than 10-15 minutes to use it. We used the car service to purchase groceries at the Safeway market about 2 miles away, as well as for dinner reservations in West Vail one evening.

The pool and spa area was an uneven experience. Most days it is clean and well maintained. On at least two days there were empty glass beer bottles and cups left on the ledge next to the spa (by previous guests) which were not cleaned up while we were there at least an hour. I ended up doing it myself so our kids did not get hurt.

Something I really appreciated they did not do, was try to sell you a club membership, which is what I feared would happen when I discovered the type of property it was. The only mention during our week was a discretely left envelope inviting me to the membership desk to get my free hat (which I didn't do).

Unlike other ski resorts, there is no "kids program" of any kind here. There is a "teen room" in the basement which has a pool table, foosball and air hockey table, but nothing organized like they have in many ski lodges or at the Four Seasons. Also to actually use the pool table you have go back up the elevator several floors (after you have already gone down to the teen room) and check out the equipment from someone in the reception area -- that was annoying and I didn't bother.

Finally, the Vail ski school was excellent. Our boys kept asking to go back each day.

Overall I was pleased with the stay and would recommend this property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike-lcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
164 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton. The brand says it all, overnight or extended stay the firm's management makes a commitment to all who enter that the traveler's needs will be tended to. This writer states for the record he has no vested interest in this hotel chain. The "Ritz Carlton Residences" of Vail more specifically, The Lion's Head location offers the best of all seasons with the flair expected from world destinations. From the doorman to reservations and through out every staff member, there is a dedication to each visitor's needs no matter the time of day! The suites offer everything one finds at home up to and including any reason to make a return visit. The location is nearby to any amenity one might possibly need. Bicycle, kayaking, skiing or fine dinning or whatever- it is available! If it is too far inquire about their free shuttle service to the nearby community. One might do better but this visitor seriously doubts it is beyond a stay at the Vail, Lion's Head, Ritz Carlton Residences! Enjoy.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites were great! I prefer the upper floor but at this time there was little dsitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were very lucky be able to trade our Marriott points at the last minute into a 4 night stay at the residences. Only regret is that this was our first stop on our colorado trip - which made everything afterwards anticlimactic.
PROS: Beautiful Double master layout with dining area, nice kitchen with Bosch appliances, and wonderful large family room with views of the mountains and Vail. Most comfortable beds of any hotel we've ever stayed in. Service second to none. Will give you a ride anywhere in Vail, including the Safeway. Great Ski Valet service with an area to change into and out of your boots and a shuttle to within 50 yards of the base of the gondola. Hotel has a wheelchair - nice for folks with difficulty getting around (or injuries on the slopes).
CONS: Not much. If you wanted to walk to the slopes, it would be a bit of a hike, particularly at the end of the day. Views from the hotel do not directly overlook any ski slopes and those on the front overlook the highway. Main part of the village is a bit of a walk as well (but shuttles are provided on demand).
Would love to come back if we ever get another chance.

Room Tip: Those along the south side (not the highway) would likely have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Residences

Property: The Ritz Residences
Address: 728 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Family Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extravagant, refined and exclusive, it's all about luxury and convenience during your stay at The Ritz Residences, Vail. Experience the ultimate mountain resort lifestyle in each of the two-, three-, four- and five- bedroom residences. From its premier Lionshead location, extraordinary amenities and personal concierge, to extensive services including on-site ski & snowboard rentals, overnight storage and door-to-door shuttle service to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, there's no comparison to the renowned attention to detail you will enjoy. The Ritz Residences, Vail invites you to enjoy the most tailored experience in Vail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Vacatia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Club, Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing