We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but beware” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ritz Carlton Club & Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ritz Carlton Club & Residences
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but beware”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the place is nice. But, be careful. Resort is split between residences and vacation club. Residences are privately owned and managed by, in our case, Prudential. Stayed in unit 112 on residence side. Communication between Prudential and the Ritz seemed nonexistent. Housecleaning service was poor. They completely missed a bathroom one day. Pull out bed revealed sheets that were obviously used by previous guests. Disgusting. Details were lacking. Ritz was apologetic, but that was it. Unit was okay, but could use some improvements (dresser in bedroom 2 was a pain). That said, grounds are beautiful. Loved the hot tub and the views.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    12
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
98
34
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
simsbury ct
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Ritz-Carlton Club and Residences are condominiums located in the Lionshead area of Vail Mountain. The accommodations and service are outstanding. We have a 2 BR, 2.5 BA with den. The Villa size is more than adequate for a family of 4 (2 grown kids). The granite kitchen is gorgeous with Bosch appliances ( although as strange as this may sound the electric stovetop was difficult to figure out)..I had hoped for a gas stove! All of the oversized furnishings were very comfortable, beautiful gas fireplace in the living area, lovely dining area. Hard wood floors throughout and heated tiled floors in the bathrooms. Both bedrooms were masters with comfortable whirlpool tubs, separate showers, and a huge granite double sink. An in- unit washer/dryer was so convenient. Maid service twice daily...every single person on staff went out of their way to be accomodating and were very personable. The rectangular outdoor pool is heated to 84 degrees, with a separate lap area. 2 hot tubs....very fun! The fitness area also had top of the line equipment, the steam room and adjacent showers had all the required amenities. The facility is only 2 years old, everything is in pristine condition. The Eagle Bahn gondola is walkable but most people take the shuttle after putting their boots on in the ski valet area. The skis/snowboards are delivered to the base of the Gondola each morning, afterward they are brought back by the ski valet to be housed overnight. There's a beautiful lounge in the common area with bar, fireplace, library, afternoon snacks and some evenings there is entertainment. Beautiful artwork throughout the resort. The Ritz has a complimentary shuttle for grocery shopping etc. Plus, there is Vail Village!....a free bus that runs every 5 -10 minutes (of course you can take the Ritz shuttle too) that was always on time whenever we took it. Bus stop is at the Marriott hotel, right next door. Tons of restaurants and après ski establishments. The town of Vail is picture perfect, resembling an Austrian Village...almost a "Disneyesque" look. Needless to say, I highly recommend this resort, we had a wonderful week here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The location is nice being in Lionshead and a short walk from the Gondola. The facility is top notch as you would expect from Ritz. There was twice a day maid service which was excellent. The "residence" we had unfortunately overlooked I-70 so not much of a view as would be the case with many of the units. While I understand the desire to have high end appliances, operations of the stove and AV system were unnecessarily complex which frustrated my wife for the entire week (and me as I had to resolve why they werent working).

But there was just something about the experience outside of the room - we seldom saw other people in the halls or the shared facilities like the health club or hot tubs. It was like no one used the common areas. If you are looking for a "private" getaway this would be the place ...

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing I-70
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms, beds, amenities, quiet -- were all outstanding. Not every villa has the greatest view, but the glass and insulation make it easy to block out I-70. The service is lovely and we had a wonderful time. Not many residence properties also offer the kind of personal service and grace of the Ritz Carlton Residence Club at Vail. I could've done without the housekeeping ringing our doorbell two times to see if we had checked out on the morning of our departure. That was silly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannieChiliBeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
434 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Folks can expect top tier amentities, large comfortable rooms (2BR residences are the minimum size) with only the latest top-of-the-line appliances and furnishings contributing to an enjoyable stay. The young staff, without exception, was helpful and friendly. Twice daily housekeeping was competent and responsive to requests. And, as it is only 2-years old, the appearance is fresh and inviting. A plus is there were no hidden extras for valet parking, a daily health club class or activity (e.g., hiking) or a continental breakfast albeit somewhat limited. The latter must be considered limited as it does not include bakery items and only yogurt, granola, a variety of fresh fruit, tea, cocoa and coffee. Tips: Free car & driver to any destination in Vail Village (great for dinner locally), first-come,first-served bikes for short excursions, free in-town bus just steps away and while there is no restuarant or room service (remember these are 2 & 3BR residences) there are excellent light meals available in the bar/lounge. One should not go here if you require a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobile, Al
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I visited the Ritz-Carlton, Vail the first week of April with our four children for a spring-break trip. We stayed on the residence side of the property. We have stayed at the Ritz in Bachelor's Gulch on five different occasions, so I feel like I have a good understanding of what a ski resort should be like.

Location:
Off the beaten path. Though the drivers at the resort took us wherever we wanted to go, I never felt as though I was where anything was in Vail Village or Lionshead Village. The Ritz in Bachelor's Gulch is like this too, but it has bars and restaurants that make you feel like you do not have to go anywhere else. This is not so at the Vail location. You have to leave, but that is another subject.

Condos:
Very nice, large and well decorated. We were in a four bedroom unit with a nice view of the pool. Only complaint is that the walk was very, very long from the elevators. Why there is only one elevator location per side of the property is beyond me. If one has trouble walking, request a unit near the elevator. We walked the stairs often, from the 5th floor to the 3rd floor, in order to get to our friend's condo. Oh, it was really hot in the units too. No matter where I set the air conditioning, it was hot. We left doors and windows open in every room night and day to get close to comfortable.

Ski Valet:
Excellent. No complaints. Great attitudes and very helpful. The ski valet is housed in a ground floor condo near the shuttle for easy access. (it will move downstairs when a new gondola is built in the area in 2014)

Food and Entertainment:
Non Existent! This is why I can not give this location five stars. I found this to be a real problem. The Ritz puts out coffee and tea in the morning, along with a tray of fruit and awful pastries. You must cook breakfast or take a shuttle into a village. I cooked because everyone wakes and dresses at different times. That was fine but the problem continues......there is a limited menu available throughout the day and until about 9:00 in the evening. It is very, very limited and the quality is not good. I never saw anyone dining in the living room. I fed one of my children one afternoon what amounted to noodles with tomato sauce poured over it.
When I vacation, part of the joy is to sit back, relax, and have someone else do the cooking for me. One can not do this at the Vail location, so be prepared to trek somewhere for every meal. While staying at the Ritz in Bachelor's Gulch, the food and drink is so good, we rarely leave the property. Oh, forget room service too!
Because there really is not a bar or restaurant available, I often felt as if I was at a retirement home! It is very quiet and few people are ever around. We did order wine two afternoons for apres ski. It was $25 per glass, and it was so quiet, we felt like we had to whisper! Do not plan on having after-dinner drinks with your group either. It is not available, as the bar is closed at 9:00 p.m.. Everyone just goes back to their condo.

Pool, Gym and Spa:
Pool was nice and the children enjoyed it. Gym is nicely appointed. Spa, again don't plan on having a typical Ritz Spa experience. The only service available is massage. The Ritz will call and have someone come over for this. The "spa" area is not staffed. I had to trek over to the Four Seasons for spa services (very nice) with a friend who was staying there.

Housekeeping:
Staff did a nice job, other than we did not get turndown service on two nights of our five night stay. One night we called and they came relatively quickly. The other night it was after 10, and I was too aggravated to call the second time. This is not what I expect from Ritz service.

With all of this being said, if we return to Vail, we will not stay at this location. I would recommend this location only to a family who wants a lot of quiet and does not like to go out to dinner, does not want room service, does not want access to a bar or entertainment, and does not expect spa services. The condos are fantastic and the staff was friendly and very service oriented, but I was just missing too much to feel like I was at a resort or on vacation. We toy with the idea of purchasing into the Ritz Club, but it would never, ever be at this location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank asdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

In January we stayed at the Ritz Carlton Club, 4 bedroom plus a loft, residence. We are not members of the Ritz Carlton Club, but had received an offer to stay at this property during the times we usually go skiing. There were 11 people between 2 families, 4 adults and 7 kids, and we felt there was plenty of room in this beautiful property. The ski amenities at the Ritz made getting 7 kids ready for a day on the slopes as easy as possible. There is a separate ski storage area, with sunscreen, hot chocolate, water, and several staff members to help get ski boots out and on everyones little feet. It is possible to walk to the slopes, but they run a shuttle every few minutes that makes getting around in the awkward boots much easier. The one negative about the residence was that the seating area in the family room didn't seem conducive to hanging out with either a large or a small group of people. The couch was placed too far from the fireplace and television, and the 1 chair in the room was uncomfortable.

However, the bathrooms were fabulous, as was the bedding in each of the rooms. We also had daily maid service, which is a must with 11 people and ski gear! There was also ample room in the residence for storage of boots, coats, and other ski gear.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4girls1boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.3 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.0 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ritz Carlton Club & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Carlton Club & Residences

Property: Ritz Carlton Club & Residences
Address: 728 West Lionshead Circle, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Family Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ritz Carlton Club & Residences 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extravagant, refined and exclusive-it's all about luxury and convenience during your stay at The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Vail. Experience the ultimate mountain resort lifestyle in each of the two-, three-, four- and five- bedroom residences. From its premier Lionshead location, extraordinary amenities and personal concierge, to extensive services including on-site ski & snowboard rentals, overnight storage and door-to-door shuttle service to the Eagle Bahn Gondola, there's no comparison to the renowned attention to detail you will enjoy. The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Vail invites you to enjoy the most tailored experience in Vail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Ritz Carlton Club & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Club, Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing