We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2008

First, the location could not be better. A great entry and lobby with very nice staff. Concierges were excellent. The room was average, but the real problem was a general feeling that the hallways were not clean. The pool area was not well maintained, and there was a lot of debris in the pool and three spas. Towels were in short supply. The morning coffee next to the restaurant was cold all four mornings we were there. The exercise room was way below par. We've been to other Rock Resorts, and this one does not measure up. It's going on its reputation as "The Lodge".

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaimeMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 824 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2008

A very nice place to stay in Vail Village, with one caveat. As other reviewers have noted, most of the rooms are older and not air conditioned.

The luxury rooms in the new International Wing, however, are wonderful. After having a look at the room we originally booked in the main part of the hotel, we immediately negotiated an upgrade with the manager.

Not only was our room air conditioned (we kept it at a chilly 65 degrees!), but the beautiful marble bath was larger than most bedrooms. The bathroom floors are heated, as is the towel rack, and the double vanities made it very comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated with new, contemporary furniture, very clean, and we had a lovely terrace overlooking the courtyard. These rooms are pricier than the rooms in the un-airconditioned section of the hotel, but well worth the extra money.

A glitch with housekeeping prevented them from providing the nightly turn-down service we requested, but the room manager was very apologetic and gave us a generous credit toward our bill. Understanding that things will not always go smoothly, we were more than satisfied with management's resolution of the issue.

There was some construction in the area, but we did not notice it from our room.

Based on some of the other reviews, we hope the construction will continue to include a renovation of the rooms in the main building. Had we been forced to remain in our original room, our experience would not likely have been as pleasant. But we highly recommend this hotel, IF you stay in the new wing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudolphWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I've just returned from a nine-day Colorado vacation with my family. During our visit we stayed at several high-end hotels, including the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. The Lodge at Vail was by far our favorite. I am shocked to see so many negative reviews on this site. IMO, The Lodge offers a combination of luxury, service and off-season value that is hard to beat.

We stayed in a two-bedroom deluxe unit (#405), which we selected because it had a king bedroom and a second bedroom with two double beds, which was perfect for my two teenaged children. The unit had two levels with a fully equipped kitchen, large living/dining room and balcony on the first floor and the two bedrooms and two bathrooms on the second. The furniture wasn't brand new but it was all in very good condition. The balcony and a large picture window overlooked the pool with a view of Vail Mountain behind it.

It is correct that the hotel has no air conditioning, although our unit had four floor fans. The fourth floor is the top floor of the hotel and our unit was very warm when we checked in. However, maintenance came to our room right after we arrived (without being called) to open the bedroom skylights, and once we got the ventilation going the unit cooled to a comfortable temperature quickly and remained that way for our entire stay. We all slept like babies!

The hotel has a lovely restaurant where we ate breakfast, a popular bar, and a large, landscaped pool with comfortable padded lounge chairs. There is no business center, but there are two computers in the lobby for guest use. We neither saw nor heard any construction at the hotel, although there is some going on nearby. Service at the hotel was attentive without being overbearing (which is how we found the Broadmoor). Every hotel employee we encountered was as friendly as could be. The hotel's location couldn't be better -- right in the heart of Vail Village, a short walk or shuttle ride to everything.

My only (minor) complaint was that The Lodge requires you to valet park your car -- a $20/day expense that we didn't find out about until we arrived. It's certainly understandable with parking at a premium in Vail, and with eveything close by we didn't need to use our car from the time we checked in until the time we left.

The rates at The Lodge are by no means cheap, but for the space of the unit, the full kitchen, the amenities and the location, I think it's a good value in the summer (although I'm not sure I'd pay $700/night for a stay in February!) My family had an extremely enjoyable stay there and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank More_2_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Most decent hotels in the world warn you when there's major construction going on, but not the Lodge at Vail apparently. There is a HUGE crane and project going on here. On top of that the men start working at 7am!! Since the rooms have no A/C and the windows are thin you'll hear ever truck backing up, every bang of a hammer, every saw, etc. It's horrific!
Will never stay here again. Room was just fair as well, nothing special. Bed was hard as rocks.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeasonedTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We thought the hotel was beautiful, the staff was very nice, and the bathroom that went with our room was newly re-done and spacious. However, there is NO AIR CONDITIONING, and the only ventillation in our room were the doors that opened directly to the pool. It got extremely hot, but the hot tubs were about ten feet from those doors, so if we opened them we had no privacy.

There are also many costly add-ons with this hotel that were not mentioned intially. For instance, there is a fee for parking, and if the parking lot is full there is an additional fee to valet your car. It is important to budget with these in mind if you choose to stay here. We also thought it was strange that while housekeeping will clean your room nicely, they won't leave any extra toiletries. I thought that for the price of the hotel this was a strange thing to skimp on. I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank leaflet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We went for Memorial Day weekend knowing that it was the off season in Vail and expecting a relaxing stay. However, we were unpleasantly surprised. We had a two bedroom unit which was very outdated and musty. There is no air conditioning in the units and despite cool temps outside the rooms were very stuffy. There is very little insulation between rooms/doors and the noise factor was a huge concern. You could hear every door closing and all the conversations from the hall clearly.

The worst part of our stay was due to a fraternity dance that was being held at the hotel that weekend. The participants were highly intoxicated. My husband left the hotel property at 9:00 p.m. to get Benadryl for our son, and he could not get back onto the property since no one would answer the buzzer to open the gate. He left the car at the gate and walked to the front desk to get someone to open the gate. When he entered the lobby it was complete chaos with intoxicated young adults. The front desk personnel were busy trying to get them under control and therefor could not answer the buzzer. My husband suggested that they contact the manager on duty or even the police but the front desk personnel said their "hands were tied" since the manager was on vacation and it was inappropriate to contact the police. He returned to the room and our night was filled with drunken disorderly contact in the halls outside our room. Someone vomited on the carpet right out our front door. The participants were going down the halls knocking on doors randomly waking people up until about 4:30 a.m. My husband called down again to the desk and was informed they had received multiple complaints, but the best they could do was email the manager on vacation.

A few minutes later we heard running down the hall and someone crying. My husband went out to see what was going on and a young lady had been punched in the face by another individual. We called the police ourselves. The sheriff returned to the property multiple times after that trying to gain control.
We felt like we were living a scene from Animal House.

We understand that the hotel personnel can't always control the actions of their guests, but their lack of response to this problem was shocking at a hotel of this stature. After all, we were not at Motel Six, though our experience there may have been better.

We will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank msgcnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

The Lodge at Vail was a 'diamond' in the heart of Vail.

The people were genuinely warm and hospitable, paying attention to every detail no matter how large or small. The Wildflower restaurant was EXQUISITE - the menu, the wine, the ambiance and of course, the food was divine.

They made me feel like I was the "only" one in a room full of guests, and I know they've been making many people feel that way for years. It's celebrated and treasured by so many people year after year and now, I completely understand why I've grown to LOVE the Lodge at Vail. It's one of a kind.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stacee729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $211 - $1,192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vail's most iconic hotel. The Lodge at Vail is Vail's first hotel, and remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina and Elway's. After a day on the slopes, relax in the lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing