We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Enjoyable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Overall, I really enjoyed the property, the staff and the service. Since the rooms at the property have different amenities, I was not thrilled that mine did not have AC, but quite frankly that was the only main component missing from my recent experience. I will certainly return for a future visit.

Room Tip: If AC is important during non ski season, ask ahead of time for a room that has it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InTheIndustry101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable review of your recent stay with us at the Lodge at Vail! Please reach out to me directly next time you come to our hotel and I will ensure we get you into a room that meets your needs. Our luxury rooms with air conditioning are beautiful with great views of the mountains and of Vail Village. We look forward to your next stay at the Lodge at Vail. Thank you.

Shannon Best
Director of Rooms
The Lodge at Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    167
    60
    48
    37
See reviews for
221
239
32
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wonderful location for all of your Vail experiences. The Lodge takes you back in time; the details of the resort are comfort along with beauty. All of the staff were helpful, gracious that you were a guest along with informative of entire area. The town center area is at your 'front and back' door! Just walk to the best of everything that Vail has to offer. Took in some local golf and then the hot tub and pool were spot-on! It was quite, original and just perfect for a Vail area weekend. Suggest the hotel bar for a beginning of a great evening around town. Next trip to the Lodge at Vail will be most rewarding as expected.

Room Tip: You may choose a room over the pool and hot tub area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fasteddiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for this great review of your recent stay with us at the Lodge! I enjoyed reading your comment about being taken back in time when you walk into our lobby. I agree, our hotel has that special charm and original Vail ski town feel, it's hard to beat! Come back and stay with us soon to enjoy some of the fall restaurant specials that will be happening around town. We look forward to hosting you again at the Lodge at Vail!

Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge is really THE lodge at Vail !!!

Superb location, in the middle of the town center, walking distance to the lifts and close to any good place of the city.

The room was excelent, a 2 floors and 2 bedrooms facility with great kitchen and living room.

Fantastic restaurant and first class hotel service ( including the valet, ski rental, room service, etc).

We plan to be back there for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Facirelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent customer service. Knowledgeable about what to do and how to get around. Room was fantastic. Overlooking pool, flowers everywhere, beautiful at night and every day! Hot tub was just right, lots of room for everyone, staff was so good - every one of them! Business office had everything we needed. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Lodge at Vail! I agree with you, our staff is fantastic! I am so glad they were able to accommodate you during your stay. I will share your wonderful comments with all of the departments that you mentioned and use this as a way to acknowledge and thank our team. I hope you are continuing to recover quickly and that your next visit to the mountains is for pleasure. We all look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Vail!

Director of Rooms
The Lodge at Vail
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our experience at The Lodge at Vail was nothing short of luxurious! The property is absolutely beautiful! The staff was awesome, very friendly and prompt. I have found our new favorite place to stay in Vail! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missijoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our first visit to The Lodge at Vail and it surely won't be our last. The location is outstanding. Step out the door and you are right in the heart of Vail. Upon checking in, we felt like regulars and were treated so well by the super friendly staff. From the valet staff to the housekeepers, everyone made us feel welcome and at home. Our room was beyond our expectation, so much so that we hated to leave. The pool area is huge and private and gorgeous. And the spa is a MUST do!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwidget13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful room, lovely mountain view, convenient location to the village all made this a wonderful experience. The hot tub with fire pit was a plus as was the super friendly and professional staff. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot rate the food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#1 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#5 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#6 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Property: The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Vail at its most iconic. Vail's first hotel, the Lodge at Vail remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina, Yama, and Elway's, lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing