We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Service (4.5)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Location and Service (4.5)”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I were at the Lodge for a conference- but brought my two girls and husband along. I looked at the reviews and knew that the newer section was going to meet our needs the best- and it did. The room was super- 2 queens, great BR, even had a small fridge added.

Check-in was easy, front staff was super. While there was a small issue at check-out, Chris M. took care of it and with a smile. Cheryl and Ben were great as concierges, and the valet guys couldn't have been more pleasant.

All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin23320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    188
    74
    51
    46
See reviews for
256
263
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a girls nite in Vail at the Lodge. The staff was exceptional (from concierge to bar staff), offering great recommendations on where to eat, dance and club. The next morning, several staff saw us and asked about our evening, where we went and what we did, having the time to really engage us. The property was nice, rooms and bed excellent. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Quick review, and I'll add in fairness that my review is of course relative to the quality and service that I'm used to. Bottom line, the Lodge at Vail is pretty underwhelming from a product and service perspective.

1. Valet was slow; had to wait on both pick up and drop off. In fact, there was no one to take our car when we returned to the Lodge around 10:00 pm on a Friday night.

2. Check-in was slow and the gentlemen checking us in was snide. It seemed like a chore to give us basic info on the hotel since it was our first (and definitely last) stay. Just because I show up in shorts and a t-shirt doesn't mean I'm any less important than the Gucci loafer loving gal who was complaining about her room in front of me. Also, when we asked for a higher floor upon check in, the front desk associate said, "we're completely booked." Hey, guess what, that's irrelevant; there's no way everyone had checked in by the time we arrived. Thanks for not going the extra mile to accommodate us. Instead, the associate said, "we have you on a high floor." That high floor was floor 3 facing the porte cochere and with windows open looks right into other room's balconies. Horrible.

3. Our room was warm; not hot, but not comfortable for sleeping. There's no cooling system in the hotel. The front desk told us to use the fans and open the windows. Unfortunately, our room fronted the porte cochere so not only was it loud from cars arriving and departing (even late in the evening), but we had lights from adjacent hotels, car alarms, and voices that easily carried to our room. Also, there are no fly screens on the windows, so it's not ideal to open the windows in any event. Moreover, the only window cover is a heavy drape, so you have to leave the drape open for the outside air to have any chance to circulate, which resulted in bright lights in room.

4. Both wife and I had to unplug lighting fixtures to plug in my phone next to my bed.

5. Bathtub water backed up upon first use of the shower - this is disgusting whether you're in a Four Seasons or a Super 8.

This may all seem trivial to some, and I get that. For my standards, this was simply disappointing enough that I wouldn't return. Not all the interaction and experiences were bad, but all it takes is a couple to ruin it. There are plenty of options in Vail; I stayed here for a wedding and should have just opted for one of the tried and true options.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't front the porte cochere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wva97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first summer trip to ski country. It was fabulous. The Lodge at Vail was so comfortable, clean, and the staff was terrific. The breakfast at Cucina's was scrumptious! Elway's was also very good. We also took advantage of the in-room dining. I have three active boys, and the concierge was very helpful in setting up white water rafting, zip lining, golfing, mountain biking, and hike! We all enjoyed the pool. Great tunes, great pool food, and a very friendly staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynAnn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had a very nice experience staying here, employees super friendly. The rooms themselves could use an update, the rest of the facility was well kept. The restaurant was an Elway's which was very nice, a little pricey though

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My sister flew into Denver to enjoy a nice getaway. She got far more than she bargained for at the Lodge in Vail. Greg, Tricia, Brad, Eric and others were incredible. The service they provided us was so genuine and they made sure our every request was met beyond expectation.
We had booked a couple nights here and then were booked at a Rock Resort in Beaver Creek. This particular resort's restaurant wasn't open due to their "off-season". So, with multiple phone calls, they allowed us to go back to the Lodge in Vail and we even got our room upgraded. What a nice touch.
We enjoyed the beautiful, spacious rooms and large bathroom that was plenty big enough for two females to prepare for eventful evenings.
The outside fire pit was wonderful because even in May we experienced snow.
I am taking my daughter this weekend to show her what the Lodge offers. She is ecstatic.

Room Tip: We were given the opportunity to peek at several rooms. They were all stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfisherak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We usually visit every fall for obvious reasons, however, decided to try high season. It was 100 in Denver and just needed a break! Three days of bliss! The service and accomodations are always above average, but the pool vibe seemed different, maybe they remodeled? We never usually use in September, so we enjoyed the pool staff (joe Smith)and met some fun guests from all over U.S.! In addition to wonderful breakfast every morning at Cucina Rustica, we enjoyed a great filet mignon from Elways on our own beautiful deck, (felt like eating in our robes:)). The spa is perfection...and the hotel couldn't be more perfectly situated in the town of Vail! I have tried at least 10 different resorts in Beaver Creek, Lionshead and Vail. This is where we belong!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Molliesellsdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#8 of 30 in Vail
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Property: The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vail's most iconic hotel. The Lodge at Vail is Vail's first hotel, and remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina and Elway's. After a day on the slopes, relax in the lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing