We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good business hotel - ask for a room with a view (of something other than the parking lot)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good business hotel - ask for a room with a view (of something other than the parking lot)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great hotel, centrally located in town near shops/restaurants, nice beds, good food.
The only recommendation I have is regarding the rooms:
- since this is a historic (but updated) hotel, the rooms are smaller that you might be used to for this class of hotel.
- Also, ask for a room with a view -- not facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLALWLYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    183
    70
    51
    43
See reviews for
248
257
35
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have just returned from staying at the Lodge at Vail for just over 2 weeks on our Honeymoon. I have been fortunate enough to have travelled the World extensively and i can honestly say that the Lodge is one of the best places i have stayed.

From the moment we arrived and the doorman whisked our bags away, we received some of the best service I have experienced. All the staff we came across were friendly and eager to help with any query (Restaurant reservations, directions, advice etc). We were even offered a lift to the local pharmacy in one of their fleet of Cadillac’s to save our ski-weary feet! The housekeeping staff were excellent, ensuring the room was perfect by the time we returned from our days skiing...additionally each and every maid made the effort to say "Good Morning" as opposed to the usual cursory smile or nod.

In terms of the accommodation, we were booked into a fantastic room (475) on the 4th floor in the "International / Luxury" wing overlooking the mountain, where the views from our balcony were truly breathtaking. The room was large and very comfortable with all the expected items (Safe, Fridge, Widescreen TV) and an enormous marble bathroom with 'his & hers sinks', bath and large separate shower....and heated floors!!! I know there were a few comments about noise, but we genuinely never heard a peep off anyone during our 2 week stay!

There are 2 restaurants, Caucina Rustica - a charming alpine themed breakfast place where we were greeted by name every morning (A lovely touch thanks Kaeli). They also serve complimentary drinks and food on their terrace by the fire pit each afternoon with live music. The 2nd is Elway’s, a fantastic steakhouse where I had one of the best Fillets and Lobster Tails I have ever eaten. Even when i had some sauce accidentally spilled on my shirt by a waitress, I was quickly told by the manager that it would be cleaned at their expense and the hotel informed of this before I even got to reception after the meal. Very impressive service to rectify a genuine accident!

Overall, i couldn't recommend this place enough. They really made our stay special and i wouldn't hesitate in staying again. Yes it is expensive, but you don't go to Vail for a cheap get away do you, but either way.....it's worth every penny.

Room Tip: Go for a Mountain view on the 4th floor of the International / Luxury wing. More expensive, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our family took a long weekend getaway to Vail in late January, 2013. We stayed at The Lodge at Vail for 3 nights/4 days. It was a wonderful experience. The amenities that the Lodge at Vail had available made our stay very special. Hot coffee in the morning, hot chocolate and cookies to greet us after a day on the slopes. In addition to a great spa that welcomed us to use their sauna, jacuzzi and steam room even though we were not purchasing any spa treatment. The entire staff at the lodge was friendly and very accommodating. What a pleasant stay. You can't beat the location if you are skiing Vail Mountain. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is one of the original Vail spots (1962) and has been added on to, and updated. It sits roughly 100 yards from the #1 Gondola, and plenty of shops and restaurants surround. It has a nice "Alpine" feel to it, however the price is outragous. It is listed at $950 PER NIGHT! We were there for a Doctor's "Continued Education" seminar, and secured a total package deal (Seminar group rate) of $320 per night. Even that was too high. The room was clean, coffee maker and small fridge. View of the parking lot. Office center, Pool (Outdoor but open) and hot tubs. Exercise room was nice, as was the restaurant, however also expensive. A steak house there as well, "Ellways" (The retired quarterback and Bronco's owner)
The lobby was nice with a fireplace and Heated couches! Also a nice Firepit, just out back of the restaurant, with a guitar player in the late afternoons. Great place to relax after a day of skiing, skip the glass of wine at $9.50 (!!), and have a free cup of hot spiced cider!! (MUST!!) Add a little of your own packed rum with it! Coffee is offered as well, mornings and afternoons.
Staff was indifferent, not very friendly, and when asked where I could purchase some asparin, two desk clerks had NO IDEA!! TIP, there are NO "convienence" or grocery stores nearby the Vail village, so stop at the Safeway on way in to get any needs. (Alcohol, sun lotion, snacks...)

Room Tip: Away from parking lot, if reali$tic? Bring a ladder to get into bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay at The Lodge. The hotel is right on the mountain and is very accessible for serious skiers. However some of the nearby properties offered a more lively atmosphere. The spa is elegant and well appointed. In terms of food options, breakfast at Cucina Rustica could be better; dinner at Elway's was lovely. The restaurant options in Vail are terrific - definitely try Sweet Basil and Terra Bistro. If you would prefer a more romantic atmosphere for your hotel stay, I would recommend the Sonnenalp which offers more of a 'scene.'

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBren85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Arrived for a stay of 6 nights and extremely disappointed - the location is superb but that's probably all the Lodge has going for it. Arrived early and we were able to check in which was great but the room awful and not of the standard expected of this class of hotel. Some lights in our room don't work and twice we have been told maintenance will fix it ... Not sure when though!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went there The Lodge has a good overall rating as I'm writing this as a 4 out of 5, but when people write that it's garbage, etc. I think they have to take a step back, take a deep breath, and get back to reality. I mean seriously? This place is walking distance to the lifts, tons of restaurants in vail village, has 4 little spas and a big one, and they even put a humidifier in the room to keep you from getting all dried out from the weather. At the rates they're charging it's a steal. The rooms might be small, I assume they could be but they upgraded us when they found out they had no 2 queen rooms left like we ordered ( A huge plus and without us even asking), but let's be honest...any room that can fit 2 queens at THAT price ($380-$400 a night) in THAT location is a deal. Plus their concierge people were awesome, their front desk was pleasant, and the maids were agreeable every time we interrupted them because we seemed to return when they were in the middle of things. They just left and came back later... I dig this spot.

Room Tip: try to get close to the door on the 3rd floor near the exit that is closest to the ski lifts. minimu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shane2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at The Lodge at Vail. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and all the amenities the hotel has to offer. As you stated, the hotel is the closest property in Vail to the new Vail "One" Gondola and our ski valet will keep all your gear righ at the base of the lift so you do not have to carry it back to the hotel when you are done skiing. I appreciate the positive comments about the guest service and will make sure to share them with the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Property: The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is Vail at its most iconic. Vail's first hotel, the Lodge at Vail remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina, Yama, and Elway's, lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing