We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We must have stayed at a different hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We came in for the 50th anniversary celebrations, but despite paying top dollar, our room was tiny, so tiny it could not accommodate a bedside table on both sides of the bed! With the drapes open, people on the next door balconies could see right in to our room (we did not have a balcony). The sliding door to our bathroom literally had one foot of leeway before you landed in the bathtub. The hotel was shabby and dirty - carpet, masonry and woodwork. There was NO place to sit and have a nice cocktail after skiing except bunched around an outdoor fire pit. The indoor spot set aside for apre ski was a windowless staging area for the restaurant with large conference tables and a lonely leather couch you would find in a second hand store sitting next to the fireplace with no place to set down a cocktail, although since there was no ambience to be had, who would want to sit there anyway? We had to track down someone to serve us a drink. The workout room was nice but I had to call the front desk for water as the attendant was busily working out. At $500/night, definitely not a good choice to enjoy Vail anymore. I would also have to reconsider other Rock Resorts. That being said, the staff was polite and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cjay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your recent visit to the Lodge at Vail. I apologize your visit was not as you expected, in particular the room you stayed in. At reservation time we do all we can to match our guests needs so that we exceed their expectations. We have a very wide variety of guest rooms at the hotel ranging from smaller Lodge style accomodations to oppulant Suites and Luxury rooms that face the mountain. We also have 80 private residences in the hotel that we rent out ranging from 2 - 4 bedrooms. In addition to the complimentary apres ski service we provide in the Cucina restaurant, we have a newly renovated and spacious bar located in Elway's Restaurant. I am very sorry we were unable to exceed your expectations during this visit and would like the opportunity to disucss it with you personally so that we can resolve your concerns. Please call me at your convenience.

Regards

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 832 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

From the moment we stepped out of our car I was amazed and impressed by the level of service this hotel provided. We were greeted by the warm staff and tended to our every need. Walking distance to all the shops and wonderful dining. If you are not a skier there is plenty to see and do. I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Vail.

Room Tip: Love the special added touches. Magnified lighted makeup mirror in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The staff was wonderful! We arrived early to ski, and they let us leave our car and bags until our room was ready. I was called while skiing to let us know that since our room wasn't ready when we arrived they had given us an upgrade. Our "deluxe" room overlooked the new gondola (we could hear the beep of the ticket scanners from the balcony), our bags were brought up promptly, and the bellmen drove us around wherever we wanted in the village in a brand new escalade. In the morning when we wanted to ski we would just call down and tell them and our gear would be waiting for us wherever we wanted it. One night, they even tuned it for us without requesting it or being charged. The spa was very nice, the locker rooms were great and well stocked. Massages were spectacular. The property is slightly dated, but it is THE first hotel in Vail so that's part of its charm. There are fancier (and more expensive) properties in Vail, but this one is a fantastic combo of location, service, comfort and value. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UAAJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at The Lodge at Vail. I am very glad to hear you had a terrific visit at the hotel and in Vail. In particular it is very nice to hear about how the staff exceeded your expectations on a number of occasions. Every one of the hotel's staff is empowered to make a guests stay more memorable. I will certainly share your examples with the team. Positive feedback is always a good motivator to continue providing an Experience of a Lifetime to every guest. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time your travels take you to the Vail Valley.

Regards

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I really had a good experience here. I had a need for a romantic place to take a girlfriend from out of town. Couldn't have asked for more. It was a great value, everything was great and classy without being stuffy.Good location too.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the slopes if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The Lodge at Vail. I'm glad you had a romantic visit with your girlfriend and hope you will make staying with us a tradition. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for 4 nights. The staff was very helpful all the time. Whenever we needed anything they were right there to help. The room was awesome with fireplace, nice comfortable sofa, a fully furnished kitchen and not so comfortable murphy bed. I absolutely loved the kitchen, it had everything. Just because we needed Kitchen we had to take the room with Murphy bed. I didn't like the bed much though concept was good which made the room look more spacious. There is not much storage space to unpack your bags. There were closets but no drawers or shelf to stack your clothes (Just hangers), as a result our room looked quite messy with clothes and bags everywhere. SO I would like to suggest that they put more storage space in their closets for clothes and all. Also since they had no AC, there was no ventilation in the room and it felt so hot in the room. So staff suggested us to open a window for fresh air and use the Fan and humidifier, which made quite a difference and helped us breathe and sleep peacefully. We had a wonderful time skiing 3 days. The hotel's shuttle service was quite convenient. The hotel is situated right in the middle of village so its convenient to shop and eat. I loved their Hot Chocolate and cookies!! They were absolutely yummy. I also liked their Hot tub and Jacuzzi, though I would recommend some more light near the poo areal (Pool near gym) as it was quite dark out there!! I would definitely recommend this place. I had a great time there!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for your candid feedback about your recent stay at The Lodge at Vail. We will certainly have a look at the closets in our Studios to evaluate the possibility of adding additional storage space.

I will make sure to share the positive comments about the service with the hotel staff. It is always nice to pass along this type of guest feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Vail. We are celebrating our 50th anniversary this year and just unveiled the new "One" Gondola in Vail Village. With heated leather seats and WiFi it is certain to be an amenity all our guests will enjoy.

Regards

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Truly the closest lodging to the NEW GONDOLA in Vail Village!! Wonderful front desk staff....excellent restaurants....beautiful rooms, studios, condos....FIRST CLASS spa & pools....wood-burning fireplaces....has been my favorite place to stay for many, many years! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank localDENVERskigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on the hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your return visit and the new "One" Gondola that was just unveiled. This new 10 passenger gondola has heated leather seats, Wifi and is the fastest gondola of its kind in North America. We are are all very enthusiastic about this new amenity right outside our door. This is a very exciting year for Vail Mountain and The Lodge at Vail as we are both celebrating our 50th anniversary. We have a lot of great events planned all winter that I am certain our guests will enjoy. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Got a great deal during shoulder season. 7 of us shared a 3 bed/3 bath. Very impressive. Two story living room with stone fireplace. Staff from the valet to the bellhop to the concierge to the driver who brought us out to dinner were all awesome. Staff started the fire for us, brought us extra linens, extra coffee items, etc. Nothing seemed to bother them and they all seemed happy to help you. Pool was a little chilly but the hot tubs were great. We used both pool areas and prefer the smaller pool area. Nice gym. Would definitely return but could probably only do it on another deal. Location couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAV81657, General Manager at The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post some feedback about your recent stay at The Lodge at Vail. I am happy to hear you enjoyed one of our 3 bedroom residences. All of these units have wood burning fireplaces which is one of the amenities our guests really enjoy. I will make sure to pass along your feedback about the service to the staff. It is always nice to be able to share this with them. Regarding the location, you are correct...it does not get any better than The Lodge at Vail. We are the closest hotel to the new Gondola "One" in Vail Village which has 10 person capacity, heated leater seats and Wifi. Combined with our slopeside ski valet service it makes for a very stress free experience when hitting the slopes. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Stephan Nicolas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 31 in Vail
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $225 - $1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vail's most iconic hotel. The Lodge at Vail is Vail's first hotel, and remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina and Elway's. After a day on the slopes, relax in the lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing