We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The lodge at Vail is a place that we would come back and stay again. The staff was amazing. They were friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean. It was just a standard room so nothing special, but it felt very cozy. The location was great! It was a short walk to shops, restaurants and bars. The resort fee was very resonable at $20, though we did not use any of the amenities. A great hotel to stay in Vail!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 820 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2011

My stay with this hotel was much better than I expected. Starting with the great accommodations and the superb customer service. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astrum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

First time ski-ing in USA and loved Vail.
The Lodge is a nice hotel with a great location as it is so close to the slopes and the centre of Vail Village. Some of rooms have been renovated but overall the hotel feels tired.
Moved room after 3 nights (had mentioned it after the second one) as we were placed next to 3 service rooms so there were always people outside the room chatting - and we were there for 10 nights.
Great bar at Mickeys. Good bar and evening waitress service but concierge service was very variable. Breakfast was a lottery with some very inexperienced but also some very good staff. There are few things more irritating than a dining room with lots of staff setting up tables and standing greeting people, but no staff actually serving you and no-one doing anything other than their allocated task. This happened two or three times.
I didn't realise that the normal tipping rate in the USA is 20% so we must have seemed very mean Brits for the first few days. A bit of management presence is needed. This is an expensive hotel and one that has a good reputation. Most people eat breakfast in the hotel but few eat dinner - so someone supervising and talking to guests would be helpful and make the hotel seem as if it was being managed.
We ate at the Wildflower which was expensive and only ok compared to other meals (Up the Creek, Left Bank etc), but our waitress was very nice.
Overall we had a great time in Vail. We plan to go back and wouldn't rule out returning to The Lodge but will have a look at some of the other hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid room 250 - next to service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackies321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Without question, the Lodge at Vail was one of the most enjoyable places at which my family and I have ever stayed. Every member of the staff was kind, helpful, and attentive without ever being overbearing or intrusive. The Lodge at Vail is a great property with a great location, and the service of the staff - from everyone at the front desk, the valets (the golf pro and the guy from the Czech Republic to mention just a few), the cleaning staff, etc. was impeccable. In short, the Lodge at Vail is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DougL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I do not understand why they removed refrigerators from the standard hotel rooms. Always had this in room in the past. As a season pass holder, I was entitled to an upgrade based on availability, but nothing was available so we were placed in standard room without a refrigerator. I have a medical issue that requited milk in room so was told to use ice bucket -- but ice was three hallways and two floors away. After enduring a three times a day trek to get ice to keep milk cold for a few days, I complained to management and they provided a refrigerator. After that, stay was delightful. Hot tubs, pools, fitness center are terrific. Staff who suggested the trek to the ice maker need some further guidance and training, but once issue was brought to management, there was a satisfactory conclusion

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Great location, but that's where it ends

The property wreaks of poor management and despite having the best location in Vail Village, and probably all of Vail, the Lodge at Vail is not worth the price. 

Friendly, but near-incompetent Concierge staff, even by ski resort standards. They are understaffed, probably because they can't find their way home at night and are never seen again. They have limited knowledge beyond the names of restaurants at which they can't get you a reservation. This job must be how they train the newbees about Vail. It is a self taught, learn-by-mistakes training program. However, the guest's experience is only marginally compromised because there is absolutely no follow up. Our15-minute wait for our 5 minute shuttle ride in the sole shuttle was reduced to 10 minutes by other guests who gave up the wait.  

Some bright rooms with good views are available within the labyrinth floor plan of the property. Nice enough room layout and furnishings in the traditional shabby chic ski chalet style. Yet, the rooms are barely functional because the attention to details - and attention to basics for that matter - is appalling. The single 6' closet in the corner of the bedroom of our suite was lit by 2 stick-up lights from late night TV ads that threw off a combined 30 watts. Yes, a $1400 per night suite with lighting by Popiel! The bathroom does have lights. But the switches are good 4' from the door, hidden on the other side of the towel bar. Neither of the 2 televisions, nor one of our sinks worked without visits from the engineer. The first of our Guest Fill and Operate Humidifiers didn't work. Two lamps with burnt out bulbs were replenished only when we happened to be in the room to explain to the housekeeper that the lightbulbs sitting on the table for two days were a too-subtle indicator they didn't work and needed to be replaced. Do they clean in the dark? Don't expect blackout shades or curtains to cover the bedroom window facing the all-night landscape flood lights. But none of this matters because the real ambiance is set by the skat-art created by all of the guests' cloths strewn about. There is not one hook anywhere in the suite; not the closet, not the bathroom, not in the bedroom, not at the entry door. The only place for ski jackets, pants, hats, helmets and gloves is draped over the furniture, thrown on the floor, piled on a table or of course neatly hung on hangers or folded on shelves with your street cloths in the dungeon closet.  Bathrobe and towel - on the floor.

Breakfast is well done and Mickey's Bar provides the appropriate vibe and is worth the visit.  

We have always wanted to stay at the Lodge at Vail out of respect for the Grand Dame. We have paid our respects. Despite her exceptional Vail Village location, in the future, we will walk the extra 5 minutes and stay with the professional, well trained and managed staff of Sonnenalp or maybe try Christiana. RockResorts should be embarrassed to have their name on the operation. It is a shame Vail can't do better.       

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

The only thing that makes it worth it to stay here is the location. Other than that, the food was terrible, rooms and service were average, at best. The only reason it's ranked even this high on tripadvisor is because of it's location and nothing else.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PugLvr404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
319 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort

Address: 174 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Business Hotel in Vail
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Spa Hotel in Vail
#11 Family Hotel in Vail
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $238 - $1,153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vail's most iconic hotel. The Lodge at Vail is Vail's first hotel, and remains the cornerstone of Vail Village, located just steps from Gondola One. Revel in the proximity to the slopes, savor exceptional on-property dining at Cucina and Elway's. After a day on the slopes, relax in the lounge at Pool One, peruse the plethora of shopping options along Gore Creek Drive, and enjoy authentic Rocky Mountain hospitality, all at Vail's original hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Vail, a Rock Hotel Vail
Hotel Vail a Rockresort
a Rockresort Hotel Vail
Lodge Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing