We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sushi in vail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yama

Yama
Reserve with OpenTable
Yama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vail Road
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best sushi in vail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Once a year I visit vail. Know all the restaurant there by now .
There are two great sushi restaurants in the area. This one and Nobu. Nobu is good but over prices. We found Yama more intimate, great food and more reasonably priced
Great find. The staff one evening was great and the second evening average.

Helpful?
Thank Limorkiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    29
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“where did there staff go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

used to go a bunch to see April, Kelly, Kaylee, where they go?? did the chef change??food has changed not for the worse but kind of weird. last two experiences we average service average sushi good but expensive and a little over thought its raw fish.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomludwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for a Monday sushi date”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Went in for industry night. It was pretty busy. Food was great, but the service was a little overwhelmed. Waited 30+ minutes for the check. All in all I recommend a reservation and hope that they keep an extra waiter on...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adsmiths1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita KS
Level Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This restaurant came highly recommended. While the food was good, not great, the service was abysmal. The restaurant was empty when we arrived but filled quickly after we ordered. There were 6 of us - 4 orders came out very timely. After 10 minutes we asked our server (who was hard to track down) if perhaps the kitchen had lost the other 2 orders- she mumbled something about having 3 kitchens and family style and left. 15 minutes later and the rest of our party was done eating - this time she argued with us and said the restaurant was busy - when told it had been almost an hour and the restaurant was empty when we ordered she offered to cancel our order - she was rude and rigid - I will never go back to Yama sushi

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelwichita18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh Colorado Bass!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Very fresh. Enjoyed every roll and dish. The atmosphere was very top notch. I've caught a lot of bass in my day but never ate any raw, the bass was killer. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing