We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Experience”
Review of Timberline Tours

Timberline Tours
Ranked #2 of 20 Tours in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Offering Vail-area whitewater rafting and jeep adventures to Vail, Colorado visitors, locals, families and corporate groups, Timberline Tours is the largest and most experienced outfitter in the region. With state of the art equipment and a staff famous worldwide for extraordinary skills and service, Timberline Tours consistently sets the standard for safety and fun on the water and in the mountains. From sightseeing, to nature and wildlife viewing to adrenaline pumping adventures, Timberline Tours offers something for everyone. Three times voted the Vail area’s #1 outfitter, celebrating 40+ years of world-class adventures.
Southern California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We rafted the Shoshone 1/2 day trip with Timberline and it was perfect! We requested an experienced guide because we were concerned about taking our 6 year old along. We were assigned to Wiz (Peter) and he was fabulous. His expertise made us feel safe on the river and he looked out for our little ones. All kids 14, 12, 10 and 6 had a great time. Wiz allowed the kids to swim in the current and took the time to point out lots of details about beautiful Glenwood Canyon. Would definitely recommend Timberline, and ask for Wiz.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lint95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    11
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a rafting excursion then Timberline Tours is what you want. Thanks to Sean, Adam, Riley, and especially Margaret who had to drive us around the mudslide on the way home!
We did the Brown Canyon tour with our 4 kids (13, 11, 9 and 8) and everyone had a great time!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendymark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful float trip down the Colorado with the kids”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went rafting with Timberline on a mellow float trip with our 5 year old grandson. Timberline is a well organized and professional group that covered all the bases. Their bus which carried us to and from the river outlet was new, beautiful and comfortable. They have teamed up with 4 Eagle Ranch to provide a gathering place, and lunch option in a very scenic and interesting environment. The kids loved the ranch animals and views of the snow capped mountains in the distance. The guide was quite expert, and gave good safety instructions without going overboard. The lunch stand at 4 Eagle had not yet gotten its act together. It was being manned by a few young and inexperienced kids, who were easily overwhelmed with trying to keep orders straight and making sure that food was delivered. Will give them a "pass" on that, since we were in no particular hurry. When rafting, look for discount coupons in the "What to Do in Vail" and "Parents Handbook".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LevtyVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing first time rafting trip!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We did our first ever white water rafting trip today with Timberline. My husband and I did the Shoshone half-day trip which was perfect for us. The weather was great and we were pumped for a super day. The van picked us up at our hotel and we were greeted by Nate, one of the guides. He immediately made us feel comfortable and at ease. Super friendly and knowledgeable! Actually, the entire staff was so friendly. We stopped to get our gear then another short drive to the launch point. Long story-short... we got in the river and off we went. Nate was an AMAZING guide!! He kept us going and told great stories along the way. The rapids were mild to moderate but exciting too- perfect for first timers like us. Not too strenuous, but know that you will be paddling! The trip ended with a great BBQ lunch and then the hour drive back to the hotel. Thanks to previous posters who answered a lot of our questions in advance!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day in the mountains”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wonderful day-long jeep tour with Jey - best guide ever. Friendly, nice and extraordinarily knowledgeable about the fauna and wildlife. Picnic lunch in a beautiful early summer glade. Stretched our 6 hour tour into 7 - loved it all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Timberline Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing