We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Best in Vail Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Solaris Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solaris Residences
Ranked #9 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best of the Best in Vail Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My friends and I had the privilege of staying at Solaris this February for the week leading into the President's Day weekend. Ligia, our personal assistant, is my new best friend and made sure everything was perfect during our whole stay. It's hard to express everything that makes Solaris wonderful, but here are a few thoughts -

We were travelling as a group and as such, they put us in Unit 6B, a four bedroom, 4.5 bath unit with a full kitchen and great room with a gas fireplace. It had sweeping views of the mountain over Vail Village and allowed us all to have what was basically a full hotel room while also having a fantastic gathering space to spend our time. The beds were amazingly comfortable and it was so tastefully decorated. We had friends staying in other places in town and we made them come to visit us for apres ski instead of leaving our luxurious unit!

A few hints if you're going - ask them to put a humidifier in your bedroom if you are not used to the altitude, it will really help and they will do it with pleasure. Also, they accept pets, which is awesome! If you like to cook, they will do the shopping in advance, so when you show up you will have all your favorite snacks and drinks, which allows you to save a bit on dining out and get right to relaxing. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything you need. And for the foodies, you must visit Matsuhisa, it's in the Solaris building - so no coats - and the black cod lettuce wraps are not to be missed.

The final best bit is the service from SkiHaus. At check-in, they will take your equipment and give you keys to a special Solaris locker at SkiHaus, which is the ski valet closest to Gondola 1 at the base of the mountain. This means no carrying equipment or walking through the village in ski boots. SkiHaus has a sweet staff that will dry your boots each day and provide little extras like cookies and hot chocolate in a very nice locker room.

Overall, I can't think of a better home base than Solaris for a vacation in Vail!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HotelAnnie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear HotelAnnie22,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Solaris. Our goal is to exceed expectations and deliver an incomparable vacation, and I am pleased that we were able to do so. Your feedback regarding the rooms, location, food at Matsuhisa and ski concierge are greatly appreciated and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you’re in Vail!

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    5
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently stayed with some friends at the Solaris over the holidays, and looking back, I'm still not sure if it was real. This place has everything you could ask for....hot tubs, fitness center, incredible food, humble service, and, oh yeah, PERFECT LOCATION. Solaris is at the center of Vail Village--close to anything you could want to do or see during your stay. The shuttle will take you to the base of the lifts, and after a long day shredding powder, you can leave your skis for the wonderfully nice valet service to take care of while you warm up with a cup of delicious coffee. In fact, I can't say enough about the quality of the staff here. Furthermore, the rooms are top notch, with the highest quality appliances and amenities; my wife is still suffering from condo envy. When we return, the only place at which we will stay is the Solaris!

Room Tip: Go for the mountain views...you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Beau G,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Solaris. We strive to deliver an extraordinary experience for all of our guests and thus greatly appreciate your enthusiastic comments regarding the location, amenities, and most of all, the staff. We look forward to seeing you the next time you’re visiting Vail!

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Every winter break I will come with my children to the Solaris Hotel. It is so home-like. It's is so cozy and my children love the stay. Very nice how the valley can take everyone wherever, whenever. Whenever I hear that one of my buddy are going to Vail, CO, I tell them the Solaris is the #1 place to stay at. Very fun outdoors like the Ice skating rink, the stores.... The resteraunt is outstang. And the view is superb with all of the lights. I can walk wherever I want, like the ski rentals, candy shop, and the river is beautiful. Thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Samuel S,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Solaris. We strive to deliver an extraordinary, customized vacation for all of our guests, and your enthusiastic comments let us know we’re succeeding. We appreciate your endorsements, and look forward to hosting you and your family again, the next time you’re visiting Vail.

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Solaris during a recent weekend and had a great experience. The building is a beautiful, modern European-style building in the center of Vail village. The finishes in the rooms are all stone, polished steel and dark wood. We entered the room to a gift package of snacks and a fireplace already burning. The showers and bathrooms were luxurious and the entire space was so comfortable that we had trouble leaving to explore Vail. While it was post-holiday slow period and the staff should have been exhausted, they very knowledgeable and friendly. Overall, the experience was top-notch.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the village, and not I-70 you will be better off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Daniel Z,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Solaris. Your compliments are greatly appreciated; I am elated to hear that the staff went above and beyond to make your experience a superb one. We hope to see you again very soon.

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Solaris is a wonderful place in every way. The development and condos are gorgeous. We had a four bedroom apt which was modern lodge style ...cozy and inviting. The staff is incredible whether providing forgotten toiletries, driving you to the nearby food market or doing your shopping for you and bringing it to your condo. The location is perfect -it's an easy walk to anywhere in the village or you can get a ride to the ski valet and locker that Solaris provides at the base. There's a nice indoor pool and hot tub, and a small gym (enough for me after a day of skiing) and the lobby overlooks Matsuhisa restaurant so you don't even have to step outside for a fantastic dinner. The Solaris development encompasses shops, an outdoor skating rink and an indoor bowling alley and restaurant so its great for families but special enough for adults only as well.

Room Tip: We faced the mountain on the 6th floor and there were great views. The four bedroom had two kings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear travel58,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Vail at Solaris. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the residences, location, and most of all, the service. We strive to make guests feel as comfortable and taken care of as possible, and hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have been going to Vail for many years and have stayed in many condos, hotels, and residences. This year (2012), my family and I had the opportunity to experience five days at the Solaris over Christmas. One word describes our stay: Spectacular! Our 3 bedroom suite was impeccable, the entire staff was extremely accommodating and professional. We came for the snow and will be back for the Solaris!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Gary C,

Thank you for your kind review of Solaris. We’re grateful to have had the chance to host you and your family this Christmas, and look forward to creating another memorable experience for you the next time you visit!

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Solaris last weekend for Vail's 50th Birthday and to date, we have yet to experience accommodations and service of this caliber in Vail Village. I am not even sure where to start....The suite was gorgeous with contemporary finishes that are warm, inviting and unique to any place we've stayed in Vail. The staff could not have been more accommodating and made you feel as if you were returning home. In addition to the spectacular views of Vail mountain, you also overlook the plaza below and can feel the energy and buzz from people skating, shopping and enjoying all the first 2 levels have to offer. And only steps from your door are 2 outstanding restaurants found on site, Matsuhisa and bol. It was simply one incredible experience after the next and the location truly puts you right in the center of it all. All we can say is bravo on a job well done and we're already looking forward to our next visit with you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idealplayground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill M, General Manager at Solaris Residences, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear idealplayground,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Solaris. We are happy that you were able to spend Vail’s 50th Birthday with us, that your stay exceeded your expectations. We’re elated that you plan to join us as our guest again, and look forward to your next visit.

William C. Marshall,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.7 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaris Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Residences

Property: Solaris Residences
Address: 141 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solaris Residences 4.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaris Residences offers a unique Vail vacation experience in a very limited number of expansive two, three, and four bedroom residences. With uncommonly spacious floor plans, these beautifully appointed residences are closer to private homes than traditional Vail condos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solaris Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing