We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and upscale intrerior design but mediocre food quality”
Review of Bol Restaurant

Bol Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bol Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 122 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Center/South Frontage Road
Transit: The Town of Vail bus stops directly in front of Solaris.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Modern and upscale intrerior design but mediocre food quality”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a definitely well deigned placed where a bowling alley, restrauntant and lounge have been combined together. We could not play bowling as the lanes were fully booked. We tried the food but unfortunately was not very impressed with it. We ordered mussels from the appetizer menu and margherita pizza. Mussels lacked any distinct flavor and pizza was not rather cold. We ordered green tea, apple pie and bread pudding for dessert and I could see hand prints on the tea pot!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rombuk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    72
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food especially for a bowling alley”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Don't expect cheap greasy food here. Good food, beautiful decor, and if you don't mind the sound of bowling balls in the background, an interesting place to visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jillnt6772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Bowling!”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The food at Bol is really good, they have a nice mix of everything to appeal to everyone. Like most people said the bowling is pretty expensive ($50 for an hour - for 1 lane). Also, you need to book a lane way in advance (2-3 weeks). But besides the price, I thought Bol was super fun, I had a great time. If your bowling with two people you could probably get in 5 games if you move fast and you will get your money's worth. If you have a larger group just get everyone to pitch in and then it won't be to expensive.

Bol is definitely a fun night out... drinking, bowling, music, and TV's everywhere. Go check it out if you are in Vail and want to do something a little different!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bol”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

good food and priced reasonably for centre vail. Can't fault the food in Bol. But the Bowling is overpriced - $50 for a lane for 1 hour and $5 for shoe hire. this was a pricey game for me and my husband.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kempy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail,co
1 review
“Phenomenal meal! Funky, casual chic, five star restaurant meets state of the art bowling.”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I can't believe a just used the words chic and bowling in the same sentence. However,that is what best describes Bol. Owner, Barry Davis' s attention to detail makes this restaurant /bowling alley an exceptional experience. You know you are in for something special the moment you open the door. The hip decor and metro vibe would make any of my Chicago hot spots green with envy. The bowling is state of the art and fun. Davis makes you want to bowl. But, the real star hear is chef Eric Wupperman's seasonal, fresh, unique and amazing cuisine. My eight year old budding gourmet, loved the appetizer of grilled shrimp skewer over a salad of mango, cilantro and greens. In her words "A-MA-ZING! She also loved the cheese pizza. She thought they had a magic oven that made the crust so yummy. The shrimp and grits were wonderful. The stone ground grits spoke to my southern roots and Wupperman's unique Asian twist transported me back to my Bancok vacation. The grapefruit in the dish gives a great counterpoint to the velvety sweet coconut infused sauce. Chef Wupperman even makes the humble chicken soar to new heights with his oven roasted chicken breast over mashed potatoes, gravey and sautéd spinach. My daughter insisted we have desert. She had the incrediable thick and decadently rich chocolate shake. The nutella banana bread pudding was so good that I had to take a cold shower when I got home. Oh my! I would have expected to pay a lot more for food of this caliber. They also have an extensive wine and custom cocktail menus. The hostess and wait staff are freindly,attentive,well versed and accommodating. You should make bowling reservation early and the dinner reservation around your bowling. You can also eat as you bowl. Bowling is $50.00 per lane per hour plus shoe rental. This place is a hot spot so don't get mad at the staff if you failed to plan ahead.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patience L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing