We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcooked, bland”
Review of Gohan Ya - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gohan Ya
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overcooked, bland”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Three of us looking for Asian food, & this had one of the better ratings for Asian food in the area. Yakisoba noodles dry, tasteless. Sparse veggies, overcooked. Must be a better alternative

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DillonScottsdaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
huntington beach
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very mediocre food”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Here is my review for Gohan Ya

Went there twice since it was very close to our hotel. Tried a noodle dish....it was okay. Next time i tried a salmon rice bowl.....very mediocre.

It is a fast food restaurant. It is not a place you want to take a date to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dilly4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fast food japanese style”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hole in the wall joint in Vail Strip mall next to Safeway. No nonsense, quick meal: Donburi bowls...
The tempura batter light and crispy, to my liking. if you order the salmon, ask for sauce on the side. They are slightly heavy handed on Teriyaki. Prices are on par to this type of restaurant.
$10.00. The Tonkatsu was a bit overcooked according to my dining partner. stick to the Salmon.
Red Bean and Green tea ice cream $1.50, a great deal on a hot summer eve.

Two concrete tables outside (though next to parking) available.

Sake over priced but Sapporo beer bottle $4.00, well within price range.

Service very friendly. Can be very slow if more than three parties.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bdt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Menu, Average Late Night Meal”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was so hopeful when my husband drove up in front of this restaurant. It looked groovy Colorado and I liked their slogan. We appeared to have been the last folks that they served that night. The brown rice teriyaki chicken bowl is what we ordered. The vegetables were great but the chicken was way over cooked. The sauce was unique and tasty. Perhaps going during the main dinner hours rather than 8:30 would have been better.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank machp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“REAL FOOD! - made by REAL ORIENTALS not a franchise”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

This little place is fast in and fast out and one of our favorite places to eat in Vail. REAL FOOD! freshly made,by people who are real cooks - the owners of the restaurant.

Not fancy, easy to get to and park.

Wonderful staff. but its a tiny place.

We love It!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing