We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christiania at Vail
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at Christiania 2/18-2/20. This is a hidden gem. The location is perfect. It is ski in/ski out and just steps from town. I think this is the best kept secret in Vail. I thought the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help. The continental breakfast was good and reasonably priced. The rooms are nice and clean. Felt like we were at a Bavarian lodge. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pupdog224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Christiania at Vail
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 500 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2008

The Christiania is a little hotel in a great location within Vail Village. They also run and manage a number of condo units in the middle of Vail Village and very near the hotel. The location really can't be beat. it is the best part of the whole deal by far. Our experience was that the service wasn't bad, it just wasn't friendly which is a huge part of service. For example at check in, they didn't do anything wrong, they just weren't friendly at all. It seemed as though we were putting them out by checking in to their hotel. Additionally, two other times when we either needed to leave our bags up front for the shuttle or needed anything else from them, they complied and didn't complain or anything, but they just weren't nice and helpful. When you are on vacation and staying in a nice place, especially in a down economy, you want the staff to at least crack a smile and be helpful. We may go back because the location is great and you don't really interact with the staff too much, but we will probably consider our options before booking next time.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TripFan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

The Christiania is a lovely in. The rooms are nicely appointed and the lobby and dining area are absolutely charming. The location is great, I assume, for skiing (the lifts are right out the back door -- but I stayed there in early October, thus this was not a consideration).

One negative of Vail and the Christiania (out of their control) is the fact that the entire area is situated right on top of I-70. Traffic noise is constant. I just did not find Vail to be as charming as Aspen or Breckenridge. I did not here the road from my room (it faced the mountain) despite having the windows open, but I utilized the fan they included in the room (nice addition).

I recommend it (especially at under $100 a night in October!).

Stayed: September 2006
1  Thank WestEndDeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2006

What a place and what a location. This bavarian inn was in a fantastic location and was very clean and neat. They have a great heated pool and the rooms were nicely decorated and roomy. Our room had a huge patio with lots of flower boxes and right in the main area of all shops and restaurants. Michelle and Debby at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tigerpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2006

I stayed here recently Jan. 2-8 with some friends for a 40th birthday trip. The hotel is perfectly located - it is one of the few in Vail that is truly ski-in, ski-out. You can access either the Vista Bahn or Riva Bahn lifts in 5 minutes out the back door. The Christiania's decor is quaint Bavarian/Austrian with seemingly authentic decorations (knotted pine beds, antique Tyrolean prints, tasteful alpine knickknacks, etc.). The beds are wonderfully soft with fluffy down comforters. The bathroom products are by Aveda "Rosemary Mint" and the staff was quite generous with them. There is a varied breakfast buffet each morning in the bar/lounge area which costs $7.50 pp. and I think it was well worth it.

The only reason that I did not give this place 5 stars is because of a few hiccups that occurred during my stay. Namely, we specifically requested a 3 floor mountainview room when we booked the rooms back in July '05 but got put on the 2nd floor instead which is basically the groundfloor and hence has a limited view since it is blocked by trees. Also, the staff forgot to set up a massage for me that my sister had ordered with them several weeks before(lots of passing the buck by the Christiania staff when that error came to light)and some other minor issues. But - I have to say that the Manager John Everly was very gracious and apologetic about the mishaps and genuinely seemed to care about making sure that those kinds of things did not happen again. He also comped me my breakfast and bar tab during the whole stay which was more than fair.

All in all, I think this place is a gem and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jemimagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MicMaclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ivandelafuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie F, Guest Relations Manager at Christiania at Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christiania at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christiania at Vail

Address: 356 E Hanson Ranch Rd, Vail, CO 81657-4527 (Formerly Christiania Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
#14 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $122 - $665 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christiania at Vail 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Christiania at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing