We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Vail lodge in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Christiania at Vail
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Vail lodge in a great location”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Christiania. Very quaint with a wonderful breakfast room and helpful staff. We visited in the summer, but can imagine that it would be an excellent location for skiing in/out. There is an awesome pirate ship park behind the hotel - our kids loved it. The heated pool was great!

Room Tip: The first floor has rather low ceilings, if we return we will request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    115
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
159
118
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very friendly staff. It is located one minute from the village and has reserved parking across the street. The property is well maintained and reasonably up to date.

The two issues are probably minor but need to be mentioned. First, no A/C. If it is hot you get a window fan and no cross ventilation. Second, the room was on the small side. For my wife and I in July, not that big a deal. With two queen beds it would be very tight with four people and ski equipment.

We would come back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KirkwoodMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel was in a very good location in the village. I can't complaign too much, given the great price we paid for the room (<$100). I will say, however that maintenance and amenities are not strong suits. No air conditioning and a crank open window that broke the first time we tried it. Don't expect a lavish (or even hot) breakfast. All in all, however, it was clean and it was convenient. I would recommend to the very budget conscious traveler.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs room next to the service room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steckberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Chrisitiania Lodge a couple of times, both in May. This is a quiet time between the ski and summer seasons when only a fraction of the shops and restaurants are open but the general lack of people is a plus, not negative, in my book. The lodge is a somewhat sprawling boutique hotel situated close to the town center. They have a small private parking lot for guests in front and at least one building across the lane from the main lodge. I've stayed in both. The hotel is modeled after an alpine ski lodge so don't expect the uniformity of a Best Western and again this should be viewed as a positive. My rooms were very adequate and clean. Bubbling brooks outside can be heard from the rooms if you have the windows open but in general the hotel wasn't noisy. The WiFi was fast and problem free in my visits. The desk staff attentive and helpful. The continental breakfast is served in a small communal dining room. Basic stuff but again, more than adequate. For lunch and dinner we ate out but this was always a short walk away, another plus. I don't know what the prices are like in season but off season they seem reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I travel to Vail annually and usually go in shoulder season which is in May. It is such a joy to be there without the crowds and at very reasonable prices. I will make Christiania my usual place since my visit this past week was perfect. The clerk up graded me to a suite for the same price as a regular room just because it was available. I did not even ask for an upgrade. The breakfast was free and had the usual continental favorites. I slept very well and was able to walk around Vail near the river in the morning before I left. It was a terrific 24 hours in Vail courtesy of the Chrisiania!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a boutique type hotel, there is none better in Vail. The best location with a caring staff. The property is less than 30 yards from the new gondola. The suites are spacious and are perfect for a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CUNVAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have returned many years to the Christiana due to great location, excellent service and alpine atmosphere. This year's visit was most memorable. Service was warm and helpful, from the front desk to the guy who put away boots and skis, to the warm greeting we received each morning in the restaurant. Other review suggest the hotel is "dated". We do not think so, although if you want glitz and marble, may be you should be paying three times as much at the Ritz or Four Seasons!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.2 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christiania at Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christiania at Vail

Property: Christiania at Vail
Address: 356 E Hanson Ranch Rd, Vail, CO 81657-4527 (Formerly Christiania Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vail
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#7 Business Hotel in Vail
#14 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Christiania at Vail 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Christiania at Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christiania Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing