We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and two kids and one other family for Spring Break 2013. We had a four bedroom room. It was a waste of money. We arrived at 1:45 and were told the room was not ready. No big deal. But I would hope by 3:00 p.m., knowing that we were waiting in the lobby, that our room (being several thousand dollars a night) would be at the top of the list. Nope the room was not ready until 4:15. The balcony was pathetic. It overlooked another hotel. Literally you sit on the balcony and look at another hotel's roof. The ski accommodations were acceptable but not nearly as good as the Jackson Hole Four Seasons . The staff was excellent (especially the maids) save the check in/check out folks. They had little training and it was like attending amateur hour when dealing with them. Overall, for one of their best rooms, I expected more of a personal touch. There was no personal touch that we are used to from the Four Seasons, particularly given the room we stayed in. Of course the slops were top notch but for the amount of money we spent I expected much more. Spend your money on the Jackson Hole Four Seasons if you want to go skiing with the kids, have incredible views of the mountain from your room, have ski in/ski out, and top notch service across the board.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Soonerpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    115
    52
    13
    9
See reviews for
269
349
17
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed at The Vail Four Seasons with my husband and 3 kids. Our first few hours were spent touring the villiage with restless kids because our room wasnt ready. I had requested an early check in upon reservation and the lady on the phone said it wouldnt be a problem. That being said, Avery was very professional and friendly during check in and our bags were in our room before we even got up there.

One of the most annoying issues during our stay was the noise coming from the pool. Its hard to enjoy reading a nice book on the balcony when there is constant music and noise at the pool especially during the pool parties. Do yourself a favour if you are planning a trip here and book a room away from the pool! Speaking of the pool, our pool service was outstanding. Always staff on hand when needed and it was a proper luxury experience.

Dinner at Flame restaurant was average. The food was great but our server (I think her name was either Julie or Jules) was not very polite and made us feel as if we were wasting her time. She looked frustrated at my kids when they took a little time to decide what to eat and she always seemed flustered which made us very uncomfortable. In a complete turn around, breakfast at the same restaurant was amazing. Our server, Jocelyn, was absolutely wonderful with the kids and had such a warm personality towards us. This is what 5 star service should feel like. The food came out quickly and perfectly and she even made me a drink (ginger/honey/milk infused) for my sore throat. I felt better almost immediately and she was sweet enough to give me the recipe for my kids.

The spa facilities are so beautiful and made me feel pampered. They called to remind me of my appointment which I thought was really nice. With three kids you tend to forget about your alone time that you planned.

Overall, this hotel is a great family spot. But in my opinion, not up to the usual Four Seasons standards.

Room Tip: Choose a room far away from the pool. Don't ask for mountain views unless you are willing to spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floridakaren1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of our Resort! Thank you for acknowledging Avery, as I'm glad to hear your luggage was transferred to your room promptly.

We can always look at moving rooms for our guests if they are not pleased. Of course, this depends on hotel capacity. Many of our guests prefer that their rooms face the pool courtyard and Vail Mountain.

I am pleased to hear you also enjoyed our pool service, spa and Jocelyn at Flame!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed at the Vail Four Seasons with my 13 year old son on July 7th. We were contemplating staying another night but decided to move to a different hotel. This hotel is just over priced for what it is. I love a good Four Seasons about as much as anything and I have stayed in many..However, .Four Seasons Vail is not up to snuff.

The pool was filled with screaming kids , even though our hotel floor was basicly empty the night we stayed ( it was actually kind of creepy), so we decided to go up to the restaurant Flame for lunch. We were one of two tables at the restaurant and we asked to sit outside because it was a beautiful day. There were no less than 5 people that were standing around doing absolutely not one thing. They told us we could not sit outside because the chair cushions were wet. I insisted and they finally let us sit outside. The server then hit me in the head with a huge umbrella that she was moving to another table . She did not say she was sorry after hitting me and she took our shade away( I still have a lump...those umbrellas are heavy!!). Again...there were only two tables dining in the whole restaurant. My son ordered a special that came with a root beer float. They, of course, were out of root beer. What? Why is it a special?? He ordered a lemon bar instead . When we finished lunch, they brought the check with no lemon bar and did not ask if we wanted dessert. There were 5 waiters literally standing around doing nothing. I reminded them of the lemon bar and they brought it but not happily.

I paid 100 more upon check in for a "mountian view" room. It was literally a sliver of a view of the mountain. We were really looking into other rooms. Luckily, they were empty...

We found we were spending all of our time at the Sonnenalp. We had dinner there twice and loved it. We spent our next night there and we were SO happy. The pool was relaxing and the staff could not have been nicer. Stay here!! Four Seasons Vail is not worth it.

Valet staff was great. Front desk terrible and concierge not helpful AT ALL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuteandtoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your invaluable feedback with us. We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than exceptional. We strive to exceed all expectations and pride ourselves on amazing guest service. Our Director of Rooms, Raphael Pazzini, would welcome the opportunity to hear more about your experience. If you would be willing to do so, please call him at 970-477-8600. We hope to hear from you.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was our second time staying at this property. Love this hotel...best place to stay in Vail! I have been coming to Vail for the last 20 years and this hotel is by far the best one in Vail. The Four Seasons just feels like home! We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again! We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Gorgeous property right in the heart of Vail Village. You couldn't ask for a better location! The resort is beautiful and the rooms are huge! Each room has a fireplace and has a cabin feel to it. Great amenities for kids too. You must check out the spa....it is amazing!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Greetings, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms, the largest in the area, as well as the spa and children's amenities!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had an incredible stay at this hotel over Presidents Weekend this past February. Although the hotel was 100% full, at no point during out stay did it seem remotely crowded. The hotel is a few minute walk from the base of the mountain but don't let that deter you from staying here, as there is a shuttle that goes back and forth.

The hotel is new and the rooms are beautiful! But the main reason to stay here is the service. The staff could not be more accommodating and although it was a very busy weekend for them, they were extremely personable and helpful. Also, the staff at the ski concierge on the mountain were great and went the extra mile to ensure that we were happy with our skis/boots.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveld0g22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for your stay during the Presidents' Day holiday, definitely our busiest weekend of the year! Thank you for the compliment on the staff and glad that you were able to take advantage of ski concierge--a guest favorite.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

As always Four Seasons is the best.
There are never dull moments and plenty of friendly suggestions on local events and places to see. Returning to our room, it was always refreshed and clean with fresh water. We seemed to drink a lot of water. Our room overlooked the mountains and the pool area and provided a peaceful relaxed environment from out balcony.
The Spa was very clean and spacious with very helpful attendants. I enjoyed the support of your fitness trainer who was excellent.
All in all top notch worthy of five stars.
Thanks
Elbert & Mary

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank espeidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your 5-star review of our Resort! I am pleased to hear our Concierge team was helpful on suggestions of things to do and see.

I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Jim Guttau
Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vail
0.5 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.6 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Address: 1 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Vail Village, Four Seasons Resort Vail presents a fresh interpretation of a grand alpine hotel. With 121 guestrooms, 19 Residence Club units and 16 Private Residences, the Resort features amazing mountain views, a signature restaurant, Flame, and full-service Spa with 13 treatment rooms. The heated pool, flanked by a fireplace, is open year-round. In winter, skiing is a breeze with the Four Seasons Ski Concierge at the base of the Vista Bahn chairlift. In summer, families discover dazzling outdoor enjoyment, with an abundance of activities including horseback riding, fly fishing, zip lining, rafting, biking and more. With the largest guestrooms in all of Vail Valley — each with a soaking tub and a stone fireplace — you may not want to leave the room! Yet the Resort is just steps away to Village nightlife, shopping, al fresco dining and the renowned Village "apres" lifestyle Vail is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Vail Hotel Vail
4 Seasons Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing