We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, small place”
Review of Big Bear Bistro

Big Bear Bistro
Ranked #2 of 15 Quick Bites in Vail
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Welcome to a local's favorite! Owned and operated by longtime locals, and located at the top of Bridge Street just 50 yards from the fountain and steps from Gondola One, we're proud to offer the highest quality Lavazza coffees, killer breakfasts, lunches, crêpes, and après selections, as well as a broad selection of beers, wines, juices, and teas. We offer premium, natural, single muscle meats, fresh baked daily breads, vegetarian, and vegan and gluten-free selections. We also offer catering for your next big event. From our family to yours, we put lots of love and careful attention into each item. We hope you enjoy our work as much as we enjoy bringing it to you! We offer limited indoor seating, an expanded outdoor patio, and takeout and delivery, with curbside car pickup at the adjacent Hanson Ranch pullout across from the Christiania. Both downloaable menus and online ordering are available at bigbearbistro.com
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

The food at Big Bear Bistro was so fresh and flavorful. I had the seasonal salad and my husband had the turkey sandwich. The greens looked like they were freshly picked! The place is very small so it does fill up fast.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank AAA36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2017

Had lunch here a couple of times - amazing sandwiches. Coffee is pretty decent too.

One thing I done;'t like though is when you use a credit card at the counter, they turn the device around and ask you to sign and a great big tip sign there. I decline and feel guilty for a minute and then think - hold on - I'm at the counter - do people really tip when they have gone up for it.

Still not enough to put me off the excellent food.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

Here's a great place for lunch with good soups and sandwiches, a local vibe and reasonable prices. It's definitely worth coming off the mountain to avoid madness of the on-mountain lodges, if you have the time. And perfect for your rest day, late day, or short day.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017

Big Bear Bistro has a fantastic location right by Gondola One, making it very easy to grab breakfast on the way to ski or a quick sandwich once you get off of the mountain. They have very hearty portions for the price, so it's a great deal. The menu can be a little overwhelming because there is so many options with not many vegetarian options - but other than that it is a fantastic spot!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank dmac862017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

Stopped on for a quick breakfast before hitting the slopes. Found a good breakfast burrito (nothing special) but the croissant French toast was out of this world. Staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend dropping in before a day on the slopes.

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank chriscoon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.