We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is it that hard to make a decent omelette?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Bear Bistro

Big Bear Bistro
Ranked #29 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: Conveniently located at the top of Bridge Street, and featuring the BEST Gourmet Sandwiches in the Vail Valley, we offer Boar's Head meats, fresh veggies and organic bread baked fresh daily! We also offer Rudi's organic gluten-free bread, natural whole-wheat, or a variety of tortilla wraps. We also offer great quick breakfasts, as well as beer, wine, crepes and numerous apres selections.
Wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Is it that hard to make a decent omelette?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Although the staff were friendly the quality of the omelette was not very good. We won't be returning

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taffvalais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    57
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stopped into Vail for a quick lunch on the way to Grand Junction. It's small - only a few tables for seating and the line for ordering is elbow to elbow when you are eating. The food was wonderful. Rolls are soft and fresh. The simple salad of mozzarella, tomato and basil was very, very flavorful - must get for a side to split. The pesto was sweet and balanced the balsamic very nicely. So glad we stopped in!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VSTL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A quick lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a small local sandwich place. It is an easy walk in ski boots from the bottom of the One gondola. Seating can be tight at times - table sharing suggested. I enjoyed the Tree Hugger sandwich. The sandwiches are large enough to share. Prices, for Vail, are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank A_Michigan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A tiny place with good wholesome fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My children especially liked the cheese toasties from here and eventually I stopped by to see what they were raving about. They were delicious. It is a small, unassuming place but can deliver simple meals cost effectively and quickly. Yum.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BILMARAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Great spot, best sandwiches and friendly staff. Must eat. Easy to roll to Vail village gondola or a bar. Order the Masterpiece.

Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Big Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing