We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at great prices!”
Review of Big Bear Bistro

Big Bear Bistro
Ranked #24 of 124 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Conveniently located at the top of Bridge Street, and featuring the BEST Gourmet Sandwiches in the Vail Valley, we offer Boar's Head meats, fresh veggies and organic bread baked fresh daily! We also offer Rudi's organic gluten-free bread, natural whole-wheat, or a variety of tortilla wraps. We also offer great quick breakfasts, as well as beer, wine, crepes and numerous apres selections.
Sweetwater, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent food at great prices!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Cute little "deli", located just off the Vail Gondola one, in Vail village. Fresh bread, nice soups, salads and sandwiches! Beer and wine. Nice, friendly couple run the place, all staff upbeat, helpful and proud of their products. We got in to town late, too late for dinner, and were sent here for a "light" meal. I was quite impressed! Basil/tomato and fresh mozzarella, a cup of broccoli cheddar soup with a glass of wine, my date, an overstuffed turkey sandwich pannini and a beer, all less than $25.00! And, all was fresh, excellent and served with a smile! They offer breakfast also. It is of basic decor, and on the walkway, one away from slopes, clean and comfortable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    68
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floyd, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Better Than Ale Houses”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Much prefer Big Bear over the Ale House chain. Good food, moderately priced. Tends to be noisy at peak times. If weather permits, I recommend sitting on patio...makes for a much nicer experience. My favorites: goat cheese and walnut salad; garlic smashed potatoes; baby back ribs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bydamanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate there twice during our stay in Dec 2012 - located in Vail Village walking distance from Mountain Plaza ski slope gondola and from the Lodge at Vail. Small place with a nice selection of sandwiches and salads and soups. As a vegetarian i found the salads fresh satisfying and compared to other Vail eateries this one was reasonable. they did run out of teh soup i wanted early in teh day. we will return again in our next visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rc908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Terrible experience at the Big Bear. When manager was told there was a problem with food, response was in essence "too bad." Never seen such unresponsive arrogant treatment from restaurant staff and management. Bathroom was filthy: soap container was filled with water! Health department should investigate. Stay away!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our "go to" while staying in Vail”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family of 4 had several breakfasts and a couple of lunches during our stay in Vail. It was recommended by the front desk person at our hotel.
It was a solid option for us for quick, economical and delicious eats.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Big Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing