We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Bear Bistro

Big Bear Bistro
Ranked #27 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: Conveniently located at the top of Bridge Street, and featuring the BEST Gourmet Sandwiches in the Vail Valley, we offer Boar's Head meats, fresh veggies and organic bread baked fresh daily! We also offer Rudi's organic gluten-free bread, natural whole-wheat, or a variety of tortilla wraps. We also offer great quick breakfasts, as well as beer, wine, crepes and numerous apres selections.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Terrible experience at the Big Bear. When manager was told there was a problem with food, response was in essence "too bad." Never seen such unresponsive arrogant treatment from restaurant staff and management. Bathroom was filthy: soap container was filled with water! Health department should investigate. Stay away!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    56
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our "go to" while staying in Vail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family of 4 had several breakfasts and a couple of lunches during our stay in Vail. It was recommended by the front desk person at our hotel.
It was a solid option for us for quick, economical and delicious eats.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quick bite excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Small sandwich shop with really good unique sandwiches. A great find known by locals. Nothing fancy, but really good, custom made food.

Helpful?
1 Thank tennisdr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fresh sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was so excited to find this place. Their sandwiches are really fresh and delicious, the ciabatta bread was so yummy.
This is a perfect place to pick up a lunch and bring on picnic at one of the many nearby parks. The prices are affordable and they have a few great vegetarian options for those interested (the treehugger sandwich was really good!).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McMae0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moo sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I loved the Moo sandwich here, while I was in vail I went 3 times to this little restaurant. They are so welcoming and nice people working there. You can seat outside too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 424foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Big Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing