We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Galatyn Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Tivoli Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$236
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Sonnenalp(Vail)(Great Value!)
$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$510
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Talisa, Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
$249
$152
Starwood.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sebastian - Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lion Square Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort(Vail)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort(Vail)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vail Mountain Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
$265
$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$478
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
59
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski lockershand warmersheated poolvail athletic clubshort walklast minute bookingboot warmersgreat locationgranola barsfront deskwe loved our staythe betty ford gardensgolden peak liftski weekendstayed longerrestaurants and shopsrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 67 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been staying at The Galatyn for many years and love it. The Galatyn is a charming small luxury lodge minutes from the center of Vail village and minutes to the gondola and chair 6. The rooms and suites are very comfortable and spacious and decorated beautifully. The Staff - Andy, Brian and Roslyn are friendly and knowledgable and go out the their way to make your stay enjoyable. We love the outdoor pool after a long day on the mountain.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Galatyn was a very Nice surprise as this was a last-minute reservation and our first time staying there. The staff are extremely friendly, and even offered to mail me some clothes I did not realize I had forgotten there. The hotel is very nice and clean and it has a huge heated pool outside. It is conveniently located only steps away from the Golden Peak lift and is a very short walk to Vail Village Gondola. I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2020VisionMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I've been staying at the Galatyn every year for the last several years. This last stay was very nice. The staff (Andy, Brian and Rosalyn) is extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. The rooms and accommodations are very nice and my stay was quiet and restful when I needed it. I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayareagirl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Made a last minute booking with Brian who is, I believe, the manager of the property. He was so wonderful when we got in Friday night after our drive from Denver. He loaded up the luggage cart in the basement garage (which is considerably roomier than some Vail properties)including our skis, took us up to our room to unload then put our skis away for us in the ski locker on the main floor.
We stayed in a comfortable "Hotel Room" which is basically one of two extra bedrooms bookending the two bedroom condos. The kingsized bed was comfortable, we loved the "smart tv" and the comcast cable complete with on-demand and dvd and there were lots of handy extra amenities in case of emergency in one of the bathroom drawers. Brian even got a little fridge for us to use in the room the next day. If you are environmentally conscious you will appreciate the fact that soap shampoo, conditioner and lotions are stored in large, refillable dispensers.
The Galatyn has a nice heated pool right out back off of the lobby and offers privileges to use a nearby health club. We also appreciated the Keurig in the lobby so we could have an early coffee before leaving for skiing. The location is perfect-more or less between the Riva Bahn Chairlift at Golden Peak and the Gondola at the Vail base. On our second day we hopped on the shuttle and in one stop we were right at Golden Peak without having to carry our skis very far. At the end of the day one can ski to the very bottom of the beginner chairlift at Golden Peak and ski down and behind the bottom of the chair all the way to the road. Once you remove your skis you are a very short walk to the Galatyn-pracitcally "ski-in." We loved the roomy individual ski lockers which were thoughtfully equipped with packets of hand warmers, lip balm and granola bars! This was very much appreciated.
The hotel room accommodations do not have their own kitchens so I cannot speak to those amenities. We will definitely return to this property, probably this ski season.

Room Tip: Some top floor rooms may have a view of the mountain. Some of those rooms seem to have balconies. Our room was on the third floor looking toward the mountain but really had a view of the front of the Tivoli Lodge
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Staff is incredibly attentive - and we had a LOT of needs! Heated pool was refreshing and a blast. Very clean rooms and very comfortable. Very easy access to the mountain - super easy. Big, giant, heated pool is a lot of fun in winter. Climate controlled underground parking is a huge luxury in the winter (other parking so close to the mountain is $50/day!).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews