We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camp Hale Across From Holy Cross Wilderness Area”
Review of Camp Hale

Ranked #26 of 74 things to do in Vail
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1942 as a training camp for a WWII army force, this campsite is now home to Camp Jeep.
Copper Mountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Camp Hale Across From Holy Cross Wilderness Area”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Camp Hale is a great historical park for a hike into pristine forest areas. Across from Camp Hale, hike into the Holy Cross Wilderness Area.

http://www.amazon.com/Holy-Cross-Wilderness-Area-ebook/dp/B004AYD70M/ref=pd_sim_sbs_kstore_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2

Helpful?
Thank MountainMan-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great camping”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Primitive camping only but the views and hiking available are the best. Watch out for grazing sheep.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful for camping, off-roading, and access to Nova Guides”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A group of friends and I camped at the Camp Hale Memorial Campground this July in conjunction with a rafting trip. I wasn't sure what to expect since the website said many trees had been removed due to beetle kill, but I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of remaining trees and privacy. The camp is in a beautiful part of the valley by the stream. No running water - so be sure to bring lots of your own - and no cell phone service, aahhhh relaxation. The campground hosts were very nice. The goats that live in the hills added a bit of extra charm by making strange sounds around twilight time, but after that they seemed to calm down. Don't worry, we confirmed that they were, in fact, goats. I would definitely go back.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tartuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Idea but Unfortunately Terrible Management”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

The scenery is spectacular only to be completely ruined by management. We booked months in advance requesting a good view. Being the first to book a cabin for said weekend, we were shocked to arrive and find out we would be in the cabin facing the parking lot and big white commercial vans. When we questioned how this happened, we were told that other patrons, who booked after we did, were paying more money. Note to management, never tell customer A that customer B is worth more to you even if it's true. That's just horrible judgement! The stay got worse when we noticed our fireplace and BBQ grill didn't work. Being after hours (5pm), we had to call management. The rudest man in Colorado (hard to find mind you) said we were not "resourceful" people because we couldn't fix the problem ourselves. It's $200/night to stay here - it's not Best Western. Why should I have to fix broken items?

Again, it's a great idea but make a day trip out of it. You could stay in surrounding Red Cliff or Vail even and drive in, park, and hike around. You'll see it all without all the grief. I would definitely NOT recommend these cabins under the current management.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank K O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mountain Getaway!”
Reviewed October 12, 2005

Being a local to the area I frequent Camp Hale quite often. Camp Hale is nestled in the middle of the White River National Forest and is full of history and beautiful views. There are more than enough campsites allowing you to stay all night and wake up in your own nature paradise, or you can also stay at the Pando Cabins, located right in the middle of Camp Hale. Take an ATV or Jeep tour with Nova Guides, operates out of Camp Hale, and learn the history of the area and view the Continental Divide. You can also bring your bike and ride or hike the many trails that were created by some of the 17,000 members of the 10th Mountain Army Division.
Overall a great place to experience and learn while taking in the mountain atmosphere!

Helpful?
14 Thank DaciaLee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camp Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing