We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great place to ski”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel and great place to ski”
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed here and it was very nice. Great room, great service, nice bar, quick access to and from the mountain. We'll be back to vail and if we don't rent a condo we will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayE28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london,england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

A really nice hotel . would stay here again. The lift access is excellent – you can get first on the slopes at 8.30 and avoid the crowds. One day the lift was not running so we got the shuttle to Lionshead gondola which was also convenient although you do have a bit of a walk to the actual gondola through pedestrianised area.

You can ski down back to the hotel (with a VERY short walk up the hill) and then you are directly at the ski concierge to drop off skis It can be crowded on the last bit under the tunnel and across narrow bridge, so I would also recommend getting the chair lift down- you ski past it anyway on the way down and it stays open until 4pm (I think half hour later than uplift). They slow the lift right down almost to a stop for you to get on or off and you get a lovely view of the village on the way down so its really easy.

Rooms – we did get a ground floor room initially with one small bed and only one armchair, but when we asked to move, we did get a nice 3rd floor with sofa and king bed so we were very happy with that. We did notice some noise from adjoining rooms as others mentioned, but it was not really an issue.
The restaurants were very good, in fact the Atwater was probably the only (fine dining) restauarant we went to in Vail where the service was perfectly judged- they never rushed us, like happened in others. When I first arrived I thought the minimum 3 course $55 menu expensive, but compared to other restaurants it was good value. The only thing is the menu did not change and there are not that many choices. The tavern menu was also very good.
The fireside bar was very nice but became very busy at weekend s and it was difficult to find a seat,- also it could get cold as it was open plan by the front doors.
Breakfast- we had this included in our rate and I would definitely recommend it if you can get it- otherwise it was $24 for full buffet. Good selection including cheeses and smoked salmon, also an omelette/egg station. Otherwise there is a nice coffee shop and you can buy muffins etc and eat it there or in bar, or room

We generally found the staff to be friendly and helpful, except perhaps the early breakfast seating staff who seemed to like to offer you the worst table even if the place was empty.

The buses worked quite well, for anything more than a few days I think you would want to go out in the evening. There are indoor waiting areas at the pick up points so you don’t have to wait outside.
We did stay for the late new years dinner. At $135 per person, it was expensive- was supposed to include music and dancing in the tavern, but actually there was just a couple playing soft jazz and no-one danced. There were no hats, or party poppers etc and the sparkling wine toast and balloon drop at midninght in the bar was available to anyone who walked in- (food was very good though they did miss our sorbet course)-, so not sure if I would do that again., but overall we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mf300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MusicTraveler2
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The Cascade is a gem. Right on the mountain, with its own never crowded lift. Ask a concierge for skiing directions if you aren't familiar with Vail. Once you get to know it you'll discover that staying at the Cascade gets you right on the mountain and into the bowls faster than anywhere else. You can avoid the huge Lionshead and Vail Village lines pretty easily once you know the way, and really enjoy a great mountain.
The staff is also fantastic. They'll remember your name after just one stay, and will always treat you right.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

First, I got a SUPER good deal on this resort (deluxe mountain view room w/ breakfast for 2 included) and ski, boot, and pole rentals on a European website (americanskiclassics.com). We got this room for half of the cost on the resort's website!! Unreal!

Second, this resort is amazing! Every staff memeber we encountered was not only courteous, but genuinely NICE! The food at the bar, Tavern, and Atwater was just wonderful! I reccomend the short rib french onion soup and the mushroom pizza (not your typical soup or pizza)! There was also a newly opened sushi restaurant attached to The Cascade which was really incredible sushi! The shuttles were super convenient and we used them often to go to Vail Village. The ski concierge and lift were convenient and super easy! The big couches, roaring fireplace, extensive cocktail list, and live accoustic music in the bar area every night was so great! We even attended a cooking class/wine pairing with the exec sous chef for $10 per person. We learned to make ricotta and mozzerella, there was a brushetta bar set up to eat from (and take all of your leftovers and cheese you made to go!), wine was flowing, and there was also eggnog, hot chocolate, etc. For $10pp I think it was a STEAL! All in all, we had a wonderful experience at this resort and I only hope we will be able to return!

Note: for beginner skiers, I would not recommend the chair lift at the cascade. Take the shuttle to Golden Peak or Lionshead to get true beginner lifts and trails.

Note2: for a fantastic local experience, I would reccomend The George in Vail Village. This is a bar, frequented mostly by locals, with $4 YOU CALL ITs and a great menu! The crab mac & cheese was the best I have EVER had (and I'm from the South) and the $18 steak and king crab leg special was amazing! The place is full of comfy leather couches and chairs, TV's, fireplace, just a really great atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtneyk1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Great location. When we arrived our skis were stored at ski concierge. You don't have to bring them to the room. Very convenient. Each morning just pick up skis and get on the lift right next to the ski concierge.

The service in the hotel is fantastic.
My only problem were paper thin walls. I could hear TV playing from the room on the left or quite noisy people on the room on the right.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoorMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We got this hotel last minute on priceline for about $130. It was very nice, though one the young woman at registration saw that we were priceline people, she wasn't as friendly - stupid! The rooms are a bit small but well appointed. The best part of the hotel was the back overlooking the stream and woods. The pool was there along with a spa, so one could really relax. Also, it was a very nice walk to the center of town through a paved path. Woods and houses on one side, condos on other, but somehow still very pretty. It's a bit of a walk from the hotel (about 25 minutes if you are fit), but makes the hotel seem nicely secluded. Note: the free parking is a bit of a trudge too, but you can pull up to the entrance and drop things off first - or they have valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The stay was great--but then in July I got a letter saying that "between January 1 and June 15 the computer systems of som Destination hotels were accessed without authorization" "As a result of this unfortunate incident, your credit or debit card information, including your card number and expiration date, may have been subjected to unauthorized access by third parties." Well my credit card was used fradulently before I could change my credit card number. so beware, who knows if this upscale company has fixed its security system.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendywest911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing