We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Colorado”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Incredible private location! Family friendly and great for young children. A true winter wonderland. Food was excellent and staff was exceptional especially GM R. Craney. He personally made our stay extra special. Employees went above and beyond expectation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoloverNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Talisa, Vail
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2009

Our room was at the end of a labyrinth of tight hallways. It was clean but plumbing from other rooms was noisy and disruptive. The lack of light switches and outlets was inconvenient. The staff does not carry a professional demeanor, especially the concierge. This is the first concierge I've consulted who wouldn't pull out a map and give directions and helpful advice. The staff at Charter Sports was helpful and it's right by the lift. But if you want to stay in Vail or Lionshead for apres ski, you'll need to carry your skis afterward through the village to the shuttle and you'll be dropped off by Charter Sports - then climb down 40 steep, slippery wooden steps in ski boots carrying equipment. The terrace hot tub stunk like bromine, killing the desire to soak after a day out. The Fireside Bar had charm and pretty good entertainment. Oddly enough, the elevator wasn't marked with a button to the pool and I had to try all the lower buttons which opened to back storage rooms until I found it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiSojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2009

The resort is great however, while we were there my friends had some things taken by housekeeping. The items were later returned by the police so it all ended okay although i do suggest you use the safe in room. Also resturant not open and lift not open during our stay but it is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I stayed at this resort while attending a seminar. The staff is outstanding and caters to your every need. the woman at reservations arranged the shuttle for my trip from the Denver airport. The staff is friendly, knowledgable and very accommodating. Although my room was ready when I arrived, many other peole were unable to check in until hours later. also, the line in the check in was pleasant but slow.

The resort itself is nestled among the mountains.It has a genteel, clubby lodge feel with a large library and crackling fireplace. The rooms are average sized and mine was quite a hike from the elevators. if you have mobility issues ask for a room located close to the elevators. while some rooms had mountain views, I had a rather pedestrian courtyard view. There was a little balcony which I enjoyed. However, I was across from the parking garage which disturbed me at night with the lights. I was surprised at how noisy the hallways were as the resort seemed solid enough. However, people congregating in the hall talking made it difficult to sleep. My bed was comfortable and there is complimentary wi-fi. The bathroom was a bit small and they are a bit stingy with the complimentary soap, lotion, etc. Ostensibly in the name of keeping green. Two towels in my room were dirty. all rooms come equipped with humidifiers which the staff will set up for you. As Vail is over a mile above sea level, it is truly high and dry. It does take time to adjust to the altitude so it is important to keep hydrated. The little store sells an herbal formula called Altitude Adjustment which was quite effective.

there is a little ski shop and a gift shop/market. On premises there is a rather pricey restaurant. the spa was delightful until a woman and her two kids came in sightseeing. i did not appreciate being gawked at while elaxing in my robe and slippers after a facial. They were eventually asked to leave after touring a power yoga class. There is also a well equipped gym with personal trainers. Prices were at the off season 40% off, which brought them pretty much in line with every major metropolitan area.

The meeting room was fairly standard. Meals were provided as prat of the tuition and they were certainly adequate in every respect. Due to the elevation, things cool quickly so food was tepid.

As my visit was off season, there were few activities. There is a shuttle which transports you to Vail and the neighboring Lions Head. Vail is adorable and expensive. there is a sksi museum and a number of shops ranging from boutiques and jewelry stores to tee shirt and sporting goods stores. Vail does have some amazing restaurants, among them Sweet Basil and the Blue Moose.

My stay was very relaxing and the staff was truly outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

This hotel is very average, but no complaints. The employees are friendly (most of them...) and the pool and hot tub are very nice. The hotel was sufficient and pleasant, but we were not blown away. It seemed like a Holiday Inn of the Vail resort world. However, the location can not be beat. This resort is a good value if you book through a discount site. PS The $18 per day parking charge was a RIP OFF.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawbooks01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Wonderful Week, I loved the beautiful location and my walks along the river and the scenic views.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blissfulspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were given many recommendations about the resort from friends and thought we'd check it out for ourselves. Sure enough - the Cascade Resort and Spa was everything we hoped it would be. The entire staff - from the bellman at the curb to the waiter at the Atwater Restaurant- was friendly and ensured that our stay was exceptional. We can't wait to return this winter!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $234 - $1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing