We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going green with the bamboo vouchers - nice touch!”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vail Cascade the first week in November. Awesome resort to stay at! Staff is so friendly - they always open the front doors for you when you come and leave. One of the team members even remembered us playing basketball at the gym while he was off hours and chatted with us. Since we went during off season going into Vail Village was very low key. A lot of shops were not open, but restaurants had some great deals. The shuttle drivers were very helpful and will gladly let you know what restaurants to eat at. We rented a car and drove in from Denver. If you are renting a car be sure to ask the rental company for a snow brush and maybe even chains for your tires (we got stuck at the top of a mountain). Parking was free when we were there. You should travel into Minturn. It is only a few exits away from the resort. We had a nice brunch at Turntables and even went to mass at St Patrick's. The local shop owners were great - stop into the music and comic book store. If you are into hiking check out Hanging Lake. It was a 1.2 mile trail labeled as difficult. We were in jeans and snow boots and managed to make it to the top. Awesome view once you get up there! There is even a beautiful waterfall!! Take full advantage of the resort. The robes are a nice touch! If you reuse your towels they slip a bamboo voucher under your door that you can use at the spa or the restaurant (I believe). We used ours to get a massage. The spa is so relaxing and the staff is accommodating. We enjoyed a nice dinner at the restaurant - even better when you get a free birthday dinner. Our server was chatty and polite! Steak was delicious and a nice size. We thought it was reasonably priced. We had a mountainview room and utilized the outdoor hot tubs almost every night! You should definitely stay at Vail Cascade. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Jennifer,
It warms me dearly to read your recent 5-star review and to hear your recommendation of Vail Cascade Resort – what an honor. We’re thrilled that you and your boyfriend enjoyed all the amenities and features of our resort. It sounds like you discovered a local’s secret – fall! It’s truly a great time to visit. Between the scenery and the serenity, it’s hard to beat. With only a few more weeks of winter, we’re enjoying every day of snow! Summer is around the corner and is a great time to visit - we hope you come back again soon.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

As many other reviewers have commented, the service at this hotel is top notch. I had a couple of small items that needed to be fixed in the room - door didn't close automatically, TV stopped working - and they were both fixed immediately. All staff were very friendly, but professional. The ability to walk out the side door of the hotel, pick up skis at Charter sports (l really appreciated the thin "scull cap" that they provide to wear under a rental helmet), buy your lift ticket and load onto a chair lift within steps of the hotel is a real benefit.
This time I had a room at the front, which worried me as i thought it might be noisy. It was OK, but given the choice try to get a room at the back overlooking the creek. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are spacious, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, overlooking the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear exgeo,
Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade for your recent ski getaway! We recognize there are many hotels in Vail, but agree that our service sets us apart. Glad to hear you enjoyed our ski concierge services and chair lift (it’s truly the fastest and most-convenient way to get on Vail Mountain). Thank you for your review and providing some great information for future travelers.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is one of the best ski-in ski-out hotel experiences I have ever had. The service at this resort is fantastic, from the front desk who say hello when you walk by to the ski valets who handle skis and boots. Food is good. Bar staff is friendly. The fellow who was vacuuming the hallway asked me how I was doing.

We used the health club twice, saw two of the hot tubs and one of the pools.

Our room is large, reasonably priced and comfortable.

Easy place to come back to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tusker_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Tusker_Explorer,
Wow, what a great review! Reading your review is why we take so much pride in what we do. Our team truly provides service from the heart and strives to make our guests feel at home when visiting Vail Cascade Resort. With Vail’s largest fitness center and spa, Aria Athletic Club is an amazing experience and we’re thrilled that you enjoy it…twice! We appreciate your selecting to stay with us when traveling to Vail and we are grateful for your positive words. Your feedback is very valuable – not just to us, but to other travelers.

The snow continues to fall in Vail and the skiing is amazing. If you decide to return, please don’t hesitate to let me know how we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place was great. We even were able to have a pet friendly room with no amenities sacrificed. We had a balcony facing the mountain and the lift was right out the door. Great views, great service, and a great restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hevlovesbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Hevlovesbike,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent ski vacation. Glad to hear you and your dog enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to seeing you again!

John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Vail Cascade is one of my favorite hotels in Vail and I try and stay there at least once a year. The rooms are spacious and nice and if you join their membership club, you will receive an upgrade whenever one is available. They will also allow you to check in early, which is great if you are skiing.

They have a pool and hot tubs, restaurant and bar and the market store is great for coffee and snacks.

Parking is free during the slower months and the hotel has a shuttle to Lionshead and Vail Village.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front courtyard can be a little noisy during peak season. The mountainside rooms are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear HMDenver,
Thank you for your recent review and for being a Destination Delivers member! We’re delighted to hear that Vail Cascade is your favorite hotel in Vail! The snow continues to be great – we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We have been here twice and the ease of getting on the slopes, the kind and attentive service and the good food brought us back. We hot tubbed, took yoga classes, relaxed and ate in the cheery bar area, ate wonderful breakfasts from the buffet in the dining room, hopped on the free shuttle to visit other areas of Vail, after consulting with the helpful concierge, and enjoyed our cozy beds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maholwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Maholwa
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. As a loyal guest, we recognize the importance of providing superior service. If you decide to return to Vail Cascade, I ask that you reach out to me directly so that I can ensure your next visit is even more memorable. Enjoy the spring!
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a work sponsored charity event. The location was wonderful. I had a most spectacular view from my room. The staff was incredibly attentive and helpful. It is a ski in ski out location that is quite convenient. I hope to travel back again someday with my children. And if you want to host an event here, I highly recommend Vail Cascade. The food was very good and the facility was great.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Checkcheck38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Checkcheck38,
Thank you for your 5-star review! What a privilege to read about your experience and share it with our staff. Although traveling on business, it sounds like you took advantage of our unique amenities and enjoyed our convenient ski-in, ski-out location. If you decide to return (hopefully with your family), please let me know so I can make your next Vail Cascade stay even more memorable.
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,305 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $269 - $1,437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing