We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was very nice Xmas weekend, we rent a car from Denver and drove to Vail, booked the hotel through their website, cheaper from Expedia and similar sites.
Place is great, they have their own shuttle, and its very fast every 1/2h if I remember correctly. We had only one time breakfast at the hotel, and it was great, but the most of the time we dine in town.
Would definitely go again if we decide to go back to Vail.

Room Tip: Restaurants in hotel are closing early and hotel store doesn't offer a lot if you like your wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celsolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear celsolph,
Thank you for your 5-star review; we are humbled by your generous comments. The holidays in Vail are truly a special place and we’re glad to hear that your stay was memorable. The snow continues to fall and we’re having a great winter – we’d love to see you again! If you do decide to return, I’d ask that you reach out to me so I can ensure your next visit is even more special.
Thanks again,
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have been all over the world and I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We had our wedding in Vail and had about 100 guests all staying at the Vail Cascade. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to fulfill all of our needs all week. Great bar, great pool, great rooms, excellent food. I really cant say enough good things about this hotel. They even remembered us when we came back the next year for our anniversary! They truly make you feel like a VIP. I look forward to going back every year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Jason,
First let me take a moment to say congratulations on your recent wedding and send you best wishes for a lifetime of happiness! We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your host hotel for your special celebration. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience and from what it sounds like, you had a memorable time, which is great to hear. We hope you make your anniversary a tradition by coming back to Vail Cascade year-after-year. We will go above and beyond to ensure your stays exceed your expectations.

John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

One of the best girl's trips we've had thus far. Even though we were booked in a private home, the hotel staff treated us the same as they would if we stayed on the hotel premises. They even found an iPod dock for us to use for the weekend! We definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Ania,
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your girl’s getaway! Having the largest selection of condos and homes provides a great opportunity to connect with those you enjoy spending time with. Glad to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities as well. We do hope you return; we’d love to welcome you back. If there’s anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have been to Vail before for the skiing but had stayed at a different resort in the past. The hotel is located west of the two main areas of Vail, the Vail Village and Lionshead Square. For any dining and shopping other than at the hotel itself you will need to take a bus, taxi, or car. The hotel itself provides shuttles that leave every fifteen or twenty minutes and take you to two locations: the Vail Transportation Center and Lionshead Square. The free Town of Vail bus system also stops at the hotel on a regular (contact the Town of Vail for details as the schedule changes by season). Not being in the center of Vail means that the pace is a little slower and it is definitely quieter.

The rooms, overall, are kept up very well. They are clean and comfortable and you can find a humidifier in the closet. The rooms are a tad loud and should have been built with a bit more sound insulation and a better fitting door to the hall. While the resort was built in sections over the years and thus not new, it is in quite good shape. The room came with a very small balcony that was just able to hold two chairs.

Charter Sports is located on site. They sell ski and snowboard gear as well as renting ski and snowboard gear. You can buy your lift ticket right outside the sports shop and a ski lift, lift #20, is also located just outside Charter Sports shop. The Vail Cascade appears to be the only resort with its own ski lift in Vail. Charter Sports also stores your skis and boots when you come down from the mountain at no cost. It is all very convenient.

The Atwater restaurant is very good. The quality of food and service is great. The only negative was the price. However, I rate prices for all food and drink in Vail as rather high when compared with other resort towns. With that said, the Vail Cascade is one of the better values in the town. There is also a bar just off the lobby that was packed during much of the afternoon and evening.

There are two heated pools and hot tubs. I enjoyed relaxing in the hot tubs after skiing with their lovely view of trees and mountains.

The staff is pleasant and helpful. The resort is big, so it can take awhile to get to your room from the lobby. The hotel also has a spa and indoor sports facility, including indoor tennis and basketball, which I did not use.

The only major negative of the Vail Cascade, in my mind, was the mandatory “resort fee” at the hotel. This fee, which covers such things as in room coffee and local telephone access, is due upon check-out and is charged at the rate of $27 per room per night. One should consider the “resort fee” to be part of the room rate as most of the "resort fee" covers items included in the price of a room at most hotels.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, and I would stay at the Vail Cascade again in the future

Room Tip: If you plan to ski ask a room near the ski lift but not on the first floor or directly above the Cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We love this resort. We stayed here for a few days this summer and knew we'd have to come back during ski season. When we checked in, I mentioned to Dilyana, the incredibly pleasant girl behind the desk, that the price for our room had gone down since we booked. She smiled and said, "Don't worry, I'll upgrade you and give you a really nice room to make you happy." We had a beautiful suite with a view of the ski mountain and the stream. I love all of the amenities here that are included such as wifi, fitness center, spa facilities (I used the hot tub and steam every day), and the station in the lobby with the various chargers for whatever cellphone you might have. The market is great when you want a snack or a quick meal. Charter Sports which is on site has great rentals and they are so nice. To rent skis, walk out the door, and have the ski ticket office twenty feet away and the chair lift ten feet away is just terrific. They store your skis when you come down. There are two heated pools and hot tubs. I love the comfortable bar area. The shuttles leave every fifteen minutes and take you all over Vail. There's also free self parking. This is a wonderful place to stay and it's very good value. The best deals can be found when you "like" it on facebook.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MarcelleMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear MarcelleMiami,
Coming all the way from Florida, we’re delighted to hear that you returned to Vail Cascade for another visit. Summer is definitely beautiful in Vail, but winter is equally as rewarding. We are grinning from ear to ear after reading your review. It sounds like you took advantage of all the amenities and offerings that make Vail Cascade so unique. We greatly appreciate your feedback and would love to see you again….hopefully sooner than later! The snow has been great this season!
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel several times, and I would stay here again in the future. For the most part it is a very good hotel. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The resort is big, so it can take awhile to get to your room from the lobby. The complimentary wi-fi is a huge plus.

Charter Sports is located on site and rents ski and snowboard gear. You can buy your lift ticket right outside the lift that is also located just outside Charter Sports. It is very convenient.

The business center is a huge rip off. I hope you don't need to use the computers or print anything (printing is super expensive). It is located next to an office where a hotel employee was yelling and grunting. Very strange. Also, don't have a fax sent to you at the hotel. It goes into a black hole.

The rooms overall are kept up very well. They are clean and comfortable and you can find a humidifier in the closet. The rooms that overlook the Vail bus stop and the lift are a tad loud. Constant shoveling and beeping coming from buses or other equipment.

Atwater restaurant is very good. The quality of food and service is great. The only weird thing was that they expect you to re-use the same knife for appetizer/salad and entree. I had the warm spinach salad with poached egg, so there was egg reside on my knife. Usually nicer restaurants give you clean utensils between courses.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, and I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIVS2TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Great value in vail. All the amenities without being over the top. If you're interested in skiing this place has it's own lift, rental shop and a big outdoor hot tub to rest after a long day. For those not interested in skiing or snowboarding, the restaurant, the bar, coffee shop, and library should be enough to keep you occupied. There's also a shuttle that runs every 10 minutes to Lions Head and Vail Village.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Chuck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Chuck,
Thank you for sharing your recommendations and feedback on TripAdvisor. We enjoy hearing from our guests and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Vail. Should your travels bring you back to Colorado, we’d love to welcome you again to Vail Cascade.
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $264 - $1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talisa, Vail’s newest luxury hotel, following a $60M + renovation, offers the epitome of elevation with 285 new guestrooms and suites with sophisticated décor, luxuriously appointed bathrooms and delightful turn down traditions – the perfect home base for year-round adventure and escape. Savor enchanting global culinary creations and breathtaking views within, Gessner, the new restaurant and lounge, an inventive après scene, blissful spa treatments, a premiere skiing offering including an on-property ski lift, ski concierge, rentals and ticket office, and experiences for all ages inspired by our beloved mountainside setting and culture. All just a mere 5-minute drive from Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing