We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It might be the earliest review of all, but lots of impressions”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Well, we just arrived this morning.:) The beginning was very promising: the room was read yearly, the hotel looked very cozy and welcoming as week as the staff. You feel like you are really taken care of until... You get to your room. The view from or view was straight on the stairs that lead from the shuttle stop to the ski storage, which as you can imagine, might make your stay pretty disturbed. So I called the front desk (and I was sure that I booked the room with the mountain view via a travel agency, which proved wrong, but...) and a lady invited us to change the rooms. So we went down with all the bags and it appeared that we needed to pay extra for an upgrade... Pretty annoying, given that we were tired and wanted to get to some quiet place ASAP. I agreed on the upgrade and our was not ready. It wasn't ready in an hour, then two. Then they told us that we would receive a call as soon as the room is ready. So we spend a few hours wondering around (but she also gave us a spa access, which was nice even that we didn't use it) and finally, after four hours we came to the front desk and just got the keys... No call, nothing. When we came to the room, there was no water (like I previous room) and the view was partial mountain, but I don't really care anymore. I'm tired of asking questions:) I have to admit that the staff is still very friendly and the hotel environmental policy is pretty amazing and I would come to this hotel even for that! Will see if I update my review.:)

Room Tip: Check twice what you are getting.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NataMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,184 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

My daughter in law and myself spent 2 nights at this resort the end of October for our annual spa weekend. The rooms and resort were amazing. We had 2 big comfy beds in the end wing facing the creek. It was very quiet and the view was beautiful. We were close to the more private hot tub, which we enjoyed. No one was in it except for us. The outdoor pool and main hot tub were heated and felt good on the cold wintery evenings.
Even though we purchased the deal from Travel Zoo at a discount, we were not treated any different than had we paid full price. The service was excellent. Every time we entered or exited the resort there was a doorman there to help us.
The free bus to Vail Village was also very handy. It was never a very long wait to get a ride and the driver was a delight. It was the off season so he would drop us off close to our destination if we wanted him to.
We did spend time in the lobby bar and ate Duck Dumplings which were very good. One thing to keep in mind is that they add a 20% gratuity to everything you purchase, whether in the bar or in the restaurant.
We tried the breakfast buffet both mornings and it had a good selection and was very tasty. It is a bit pricy, but no more so than buying everything ala carte.
We both had massages in the Aria Spa, which were enjoyable, but I have had better. They were a bit pricy, also.
We hope to return again someday .

Room Tip: If you like it quiet with a view, choose an end wing facing the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My family and I love to stay at this hotel. The views are some of the best. Tho hot tub and pool are always clean and our kids could play in there all day. The staff is very friendly and helped me to find a room that met our families needs. The front desk staff addressed me by name and always asked if there was something that they could help me with. The shuttle drivers are great. They have a great time on the shuttle, play special music for the kids, and gave us some great suggestions for dinner.

Room Tip: Become a Destination Hotel member to get free upgrades when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the nicest experiences I've had in Vail. Hotel was very nice but slightly dated. However the service was awesome. They have their own private lift on to the mountain and ski valet. Great Lobby with a bar and fireplace. Very nice to hang out in after skiing or dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The service, views, accommodations was what was expected for Vail. I would rebook in the future. I housed some of my wedding party here as well. They were more than pleased for their 3 night stay and will put on their list when they spend the money for accommodations .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlottal615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent two nights at the Vail Cascade resort in December. All the staff went above and beyond to make our anniversary very special and memorable for us. The food and service at the hotel restaurant were superb, especially our waitress Anne, who made our anniversary dinner one we will always remember. The hotel itself is very nice, with lots of amenities for guests to enjoy, unfortunately we were not brave enough to take advantage of the beautiful heated pool and Jacuzzi(s) due to the cold. We do not have children, but we saw there was a ton of activities for children which is great for families. As far as our room, it was spacious, and the bed was very comfortable, we appreciated the option of receiving a $5.00 credit in exchange for opting out of maid service. The best part of our stay hands down, was the incredible view from our balcony, of the creek and snow capped mountains. Cant say enough good things about our stay, we hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountainside room with a view and balcony. Also have condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Kate, First let me take a moment to say congratulations on your anniversary! We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your destination to celebrate. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience and from what it sounds like, you had a memorable time, which is great to hear. If you decide to return to Vail, please let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next visit even more memorable.
John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Vail 8 times in the last 5 years, and this was our first stay at Cascade. It will be our last. The disappointment started with check in. We travel a lot and absolute despise resorts that nickel and dime you with hidden charges once they have you on property. We booked directly with the resort and prepaid our stay only to be informed at check in that they would be adding a mandatory $27 "resort fee" to our bill. It appeared that the desk staff must frequently deal with complaints about this "fee," because the second I questioned it, they launched into a droning pre-planned speech about all the amenities the fee "allows" us to enjoy. It is sad when employees have to take positions that they seem to view as distasteful. Things did not improve once we were in the room. The room was basic, reminiscent of a Holiday Inn at several times the price. The pipes in our room groaned and gurgled when the people in the next room took a shower, and the ductwork clattered loudly each time the heat turned on/off during the night, waking me. There are plenty of other places to stay in Vail at similar price points. Next time, we'll be staying at one of them.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
7  Thank Mustang97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Mustang97,
We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests, whether good or bad. From what it sounds like, your overall experience did not meet your expectations and we appreciate you providing us with feedback. The additional fee you’re referring to is our resort fee, which is communicated throughout the reservation process, as well as on our Website and in our reservation confirmation and pre-arrival communications. We want to make sure the resort fee is clearly visible in an effort to ensure guests understand the value of what the fee includes. Resort fees are very common in Vail and we do our best to offer competitive prices in this market, especially for all the amenities available at Vail Cascade.

Taking good care of our guests is our top priority and I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to address and rectify the concerns you mentioned. Your feedback will help to ensure that future visits to Vail Cascade are nothing short of excellent for you and for other future guests.

John Garth
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $268 - $1,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talisa, Vail’s newest luxury hotel, following a $60M + renovation, offers the epitome of elevation with 285 new guestrooms and suites with sophisticated décor, luxuriously appointed bathrooms and delightful turn down traditions – the perfect home base for year-round adventure and escape. Savor enchanting global culinary creations and breathtaking views within, Gessner, the new restaurant and lounge, an inventive après scene, blissful spa treatments, a premiere skiing offering including an on-property ski lift, ski concierge, rentals and ticket office, and experiences for all ages inspired by our beloved mountainside setting and culture. All just a mere 5-minute drive from Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing