We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort & Rooms. Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort & Rooms. Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My daughter in law and myself spent 2 nights at this resort the end of October for our annual spa weekend. The rooms and resort were amazing. We had 2 big comfy beds in the end wing facing the creek. It was very quiet and the view was beautiful. We were close to the more private hot tub, which we enjoyed. No one was in it except for us. The outdoor pool and main hot tub were heated and felt good on the cold wintery evenings.
Even though we purchased the deal from Travel Zoo at a discount, we were not treated any different than had we paid full price. The service was excellent. Every time we entered or exited the resort there was a doorman there to help us.
The free bus to Vail Village was also very handy. It was never a very long wait to get a ride and the driver was a delight. It was the off season so he would drop us off close to our destination if we wanted him to.
We did spend time in the lobby bar and ate Duck Dumplings which were very good. One thing to keep in mind is that they add a 20% gratuity to everything you purchase, whether in the bar or in the restaurant.
We tried the breakfast buffet both mornings and it had a good selection and was very tasty. It is a bit pricy, but no more so than buying everything ala carte.
We both had massages in the Aria Spa, which were enjoyable, but I have had better. They were a bit pricy, also.
We hope to return again someday .

Room Tip: If you like it quiet with a view, choose an end wing facing the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

My family and I love to stay at this hotel. The views are some of the best. Tho hot tub and pool are always clean and our kids could play in there all day. The staff is very friendly and helped me to find a room that met our families needs. The front desk staff addressed me by name and always asked if there was something that they could help me with. The shuttle drivers are great. They have a great time on the shuttle, play special music for the kids, and gave us some great suggestions for dinner.

Room Tip: Become a Destination Hotel member to get free upgrades when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

One of the nicest experiences I've had in Vail. Hotel was very nice but slightly dated. However the service was awesome. They have their own private lift on to the mountain and ski valet. Great Lobby with a bar and fireplace. Very nice to hang out in after skiing or dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The service, views, accommodations was what was expected for Vail. I would rebook in the future. I housed some of my wedding party here as well. They were more than pleased for their 3 night stay and will put on their list when they spend the money for accommodations .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlottal615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent two nights at the Vail Cascade resort in December. All the staff went above and beyond to make our anniversary very special and memorable for us. The food and service at the hotel restaurant were superb, especially our waitress Anne, who made our anniversary dinner one we will always remember. The hotel itself is very nice, with lots of amenities for guests to enjoy, unfortunately we were not brave enough to take advantage of the beautiful heated pool and Jacuzzi(s) due to the cold. We do not have children, but we saw there was a ton of activities for children which is great for families. As far as our room, it was spacious, and the bed was very comfortable, we appreciated the option of receiving a $5.00 credit in exchange for opting out of maid service. The best part of our stay hands down, was the incredible view from our balcony, of the creek and snow capped mountains. Cant say enough good things about our stay, we hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Try to get a mountainside room with a view and balcony. Also have condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Kate, First let me take a moment to say congratulations on your anniversary! We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your destination to celebrate. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your experience and from what it sounds like, you had a memorable time, which is great to hear. If you decide to return to Vail, please let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next visit even more memorable.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Vail 8 times in the last 5 years, and this was our first stay at Cascade. It will be our last. The disappointment started with check in. We travel a lot and absolute despise resorts that nickel and dime you with hidden charges once they have you on property. We booked directly with the resort and prepaid our stay only to be informed at check in that they would be adding a mandatory $27 "resort fee" to our bill. It appeared that the desk staff must frequently deal with complaints about this "fee," because the second I questioned it, they launched into a droning pre-planned speech about all the amenities the fee "allows" us to enjoy. It is sad when employees have to take positions that they seem to view as distasteful. Things did not improve once we were in the room. The room was basic, reminiscent of a Holiday Inn at several times the price. The pipes in our room groaned and gurgled when the people in the next room took a shower, and the ductwork clattered loudly each time the heat turned on/off during the night, waking me. There are plenty of other places to stay in Vail at similar price points. Next time, we'll be staying at one of them.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Mustang97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Mustang97,
We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests, whether good or bad. From what it sounds like, your overall experience did not meet your expectations and we appreciate you providing us with feedback. The additional fee you’re referring to is our resort fee, which is communicated throughout the reservation process, as well as on our Website and in our reservation confirmation and pre-arrival communications. We want to make sure the resort fee is clearly visible in an effort to ensure guests understand the value of what the fee includes. Resort fees are very common in Vail and we do our best to offer competitive prices in this market, especially for all the amenities available at Vail Cascade.

Taking good care of our guests is our top priority and I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly to address and rectify the concerns you mentioned. Your feedback will help to ensure that future visits to Vail Cascade are nothing short of excellent for you and for other future guests.

John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of November at the Vail Cascade. We found it to be lovely. We had a balcony room facing the creek. It was like waking up to a picture postcard every morning. The hidden jacuzzi spa with the fireplace is fabulous. The drivers that took us back and forth to the village could not have been nicer. The staff are very down to earth and lack the pretentiousness you get at some of the other hotel chains. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Vail Cascade. I would love to see it in the summer months.

Room Tip: We read the other reviews and opted for a balcony room facing Gore Creek. We were very happy with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 933DeniseB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing