We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
phoenix, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This property is large and doesn't look like much from the highway. You are actually looking at the back of the parking garage which helps buffer highway noise. Once you enter the courtyard the experience improves dramatically. All of the employees were friendly and helpful without being overbearing during our weekend stay. I believe they were catering to dual wedding receptions at the same time. However the noise level was contained so as not to impose on the other guests. Additionally, this did not impede our check in or service. Clean, quiet rooms with the stream paved bike trail at the rear of property. We enjoyed the gentle (mile) walk into town. This property offers comp shuttle service frequently into Vail as well. Main hot tub has gas fire feature which was very enjoyable for our fall stay. There is also a second hot tub in a quieter location which was unoccupied most of the time, excluding myself. Romantic setting, large bar area with big chairs near fireplace. Great ambiance. We found the food and drinks fairly priced and of excellent quality during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Steve,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations! We take service seriously – it’s in our nature. With the changing of season, we’re anxiously awaiting winter. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future!
Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely hotel located next to the river and provides an amazing view of the mountains. Great environmentally friendly setting. Food was organic and delicious. Room was large and provided great work space. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side. Great view and lovely to hear the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mary,
Not many people recognize the efforts we make to be eco-conscience so we appreciate your acknowledgment. We take great pride in our “Destination Earth” program, which recognizes the need to preserve the world we operate and serve our guests in, and we have implemented certain practices that help lesson our footprint on our changing environment.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your business trip to Vail – we hope you return to take advantage of all the unique activities and events that make Vail Cascade so special – especially in the winter.

Thank you again for your business,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Vail Cascade Resort for one night
We were traveling to see the fall colors in the mountains.

Our stay at the Cascade Resort was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful and our
room was very comfortable and clean. I would certainly recommend the Vail Cascade to other travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the patio that overlooks Gore Creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodshat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Rodshat,
Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the changing leaves in Vail. We love this time of year - and this year in particular has been exceptionally beautiful. We think it’s a sign of a wonderful winter to come! Thank you for your business and your endorsement. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have visited the Vail Cascade Resort and Spa several times and have never been disappointed. Whether staying in a room or condo, everything is very first rate and the staff is friendly and professional. Location is perfect - we love the Gore Creek for hiking and fishing. Our first time eating at the Fireside Bar - food was delicious and offered a variety of flavorful surprises. The hummus was the best we have ever had and we tried lots of other items on the menu. Overall, always a good experience.

Room Tip: Our rooms that walk out onto the Gore Creek and Trail are always our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy19542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Cindy19542013,
Thank you for choosing the Vail Cascade Resort for your recent visit from Omaha. We’re truly honored by your review and appreciate your feedback, especially since you are a loyal guest. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our location, cuisine and service.

We do hope you do return again. The temperatures are dropping, the leaves have turned, and snow has started to fall, which means winter is knocking at our door.
John Garth
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We typically stay at smaller, cozier places, so the Vail Cascade had the potential of being way out of our comfort zone. This place wasn't bad though. Part of the reason was probably that we were there Saturday - Wednesday, so 3 of the 4 nights were not busy. We were also there mid September, which is probably a slower time of the year for them. Whatever the reason, the resort was not crowded, which is why we tend to stay away from the larger places. The staff, from the front desk to the wait staff in the bar and restaurant, were great. The beer selection was good. The food at the restaurant was good. The pool and hot tub area was nice. The room was very comfy. We definitely recommend getting a room that faces the mountains. The creek behind the lodge provides for a nice sound when relaxing the in the room. One of the other reasons we typically don't like resorts are all the different fees they charge (parking, resort fees, etc.). We got a groupon for this place, so all the fees were waived as part of that deal. I know they do charge those normal fees, but can't comment on how much they are as we were able to get in and out without them. All in all, a very nice place.

Room Tip: Get one that faces the mountains. Open your door or windows to listen to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacys2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear stacys2010,
Thank you for choosing the Vail Cascade Resort for your recent visit from Denver. We’re truly honored by your review and appreciate your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, location and cuisine and we agree that our intimate setting and personalized service are not typical of any resort. Vail Cascade is truly special and we treat each guest with genuine and dedicated attention.

We do hope you do return again. The temperatures are dropping and the leaves are changing, which means snow is soon to come and you’ll be able to use our chairlift!
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Vail Cascade. All the staff were very attentive and very professional. We have stayed here many times over the years and always enjoyed our stays. The only suggestion I would make is to check robes better, the one in our room was torn in the shoulder.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I've stayed at the Vail Cascade Resort in Vail about six times now, and I'm always impressed with the service, cleanliness, and experience in staying there. The Resort has a great restaurant, clean rooms, and extremely helpful employees.

The location of the resort is incredible- it's a short walk into Vail Village, and there's no shortage of activities within a short distance of the hotel, which makes it an ideal place to stay if you're going to explore the area. There is a very good fitness center right across the street, and the spa is pretty incredible.

I always look forward to staying at Vail Cascade, and I hope to continue to do so for many more years.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thegreatone3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear thegreatone3182,
As a valued guest, we know others will appreciate reading your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all the things that make Vail Cascade so special. From our award-winning spa and fitness center to our craft beer program and our secluded location on Gore Creek, there’s really no place like Cascade. The next time you visit, be sure to check out the specials in Aria Spa and in Atwater in advance of your arrival – they usually have several great promotions to take advantage of.

Hope to see you again soon! We’re counting down the days until Opening Day!
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#11 of 30 in Vail
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing