We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get-away!”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great get-away!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A beautiful location right along the creek, with a wonderful path that takes you into the village. Very nice pool and multiple spa's for relaxing. Enjoyed my visit there very much, and I am looking forward to a return visit in just a few weeks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear LetsGoSea,
Glad to hear you enjoyed your getaway from Denver! We’re looking forward to welcoming you back in just a few weeks – and guess what? Your timing is perfect. The leaves are beginning to turn and the peak of fall is upon us. See you soon!
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The house is setup perfect for couples and/or families! There were four private rooms all with bathrooms! The master suite is beautiful and has everything you could imagine. The next two rooms are below the master suite. The one bedroom has a queen bed with walk-in shower. The other room next to that room has bunk beds plus a full bathroom. Then there is the main floor with living, dining, bar, kitchen, laundry, and two decks, etc. Then you go down some more stairs and there is a bedroom with a king and full bathroom and jetted tubs. We will definitely be back as a group or bring our families!

The hot tub was another nice feature and grill! We utilized both quite often. There is a two car garage as well.

The resort spa (Aria) had so many things to do to change up your workout. We definitely got pretty good use out of that including a little 3 on 3 basketball :)

We did not use the pool or hot tub at the hotel but it was very, very nice. We would have if we had more time! The staff was wonderful... there was a shuttle that would pick us up from our house and bring us to the hotel. And there was another shuttle that would take us to Lionshead Village and Vail Village. We went over Labor Day and there was so much going on in Vail Village -- great time of year to go!

We rented bikes from the hotels ($25/person for 4 hours!) --- we took the bike trail that runs right along Gore Creek -- we were so happy we did this.

You CAN'T go wrong with Vail Cascade or the Evergreen home. We can't wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Evergreen home is beautiful and perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Hannah,
We agree – our location, amenities, and of course the variety of accommodation options we offer can’t be beat! Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your experience at Vail Cascade. As Vail’s largest athletic training center, Aria is really a unique place to experience and we’re glad to hear you took advantage of it. If you travels bring you back to Colorado, we would love to have you again. Please feel free to contact me if there’s anything I can do to make your next visit even more wonderful.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We bought our stay at a discount through Travelzoo, and we were pleasantly surprised with how nice the accommodations were. The check-in employee was nice and helpful, the concierge was knowledgeable about fishing in the area (and right out the backdoor!) and our room was large and clean, with views. The spa robes that were provided gave the stay a luxurious feel and the convenient, nonstop, free shuttle gave us access to the surrounding areas. All in all a great stay, we have already recommended the Resort to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Penny,
Endorsements such as yours mean the world to us! Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our unique location. Did you know Gore Creek is only one of 10 Gold Medal fishing streams in Colorado? Pretty awesome, especially considering it’s a stone’s throw from the resort. Thanks again for your review – hope to see you again soon.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Really lovely hotel, with great facilities. What really made it for me was the service- they were not only professional and helpful, but took a real interest in what you were doing. When they discovered we liked tree run, two of the staff would send us to new places every day based on the weather.

We had to wait for ten minutes for our room to be ready when we arrived- because of this they gave us free drinks at the bar and a room upgrade- What a fabulous place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjskathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear kjskathryn,
Thank you for your 5-star review! We’re thrilled to hear that our service exceeded your expectations! We take service seriously – it’s in our nature. With the changing of seasons, we’re anxiously awaiting winter. We hope to have you as our guest in the near future!
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I just returned from my trip to Vail and I needed to write this review. The service was amazing. I was traveling with my 4 y.o. From the moment we arrived, Sharon (the concierge) greeted us and made us feel right at home. It's a large property yet had the feel of a boutique hotel -- mainly because of the personable staff. My daughter looked forward to seeing the staff everyday. And they made her feel so special. The room was nice. Bed was comfortable. Our room overlooked the pool/river and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony listening to the sound of the water. Location was great. It was a nice walk to town but they also provided a free shuttle. Sadly we got lost one day during a hike. I called the concierge and they got me connected to the Vail Mountain Rescue Team. Luckily they found us but what was unexpected was Russ and Dave (the managers) were waiting for us at the entrance of the trail to make sure we were safe. They brought snacks and water. Russ drove us back to the hotel which was a nice gesture since I was tired. When I got back to the room, there was a handwritten note from Russ apologizing for the stressful day, and 2 bathrobes laid out for us to use. He also provided a very nice dinner for my daughter and I and the rest of the rescue team. Absolutely generous! This was a fantastic experience and they really went above and beyond. We will definitely be back. We love Vail and the community. Special thanks to the Vail Mountain Rescue Team (a group of volunteers who respond to backcountry emergencies, the 911 dispatcher Derek who attended to my numerous calls, Sharon and Joe (my daughter's buddies at the concierge), Russ and Dave and the rest of the wonderful staff at the Cascade. We're grateful beyond words. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear luvshk,
Reading your review provides me with great honor. It sounds like you had quite the experience while visiting Vail and I’m very grateful for the Vail Mountain Rescue Team and the staff members at Vail Cascade that went above and beyond to ensure your safety. There are so many wonderful people in Vail and we’re fortunate to have a staff that truly cares about our guests. I will absolutely pass along your review to our team as it is a testament to our brand and how we deliver upon our brand promise, which is to make a meaningful difference with our guests, our staff, and our community by fulfilling needs with genuine care and consideration.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I truly hope you return to Vail Cascade and experience all that Vail has to offer. It would be an honor if you called me directly and I will ensure your next visit is nothing short of extraordinary.

Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I made reservations directly with Vail Cascade. Check-in went easily, room was nice. Upon check-out, my rate had been changed .... raised $30/night. I had the reservation with me, but the desk clerk said it was wrong. Refused to change it. I asked to speak to the manager, and the clerk glared at me and said, "No."
I was told later by someone else that all I needed to do was to have given the desk clerk $20.00 tip and everything would have been fine.
NEVER TRUST THESE PEOPLE!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFK1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JFK1952,
We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests, whether good or bad. From what it sounds like, your overall experience did not meet your expectations and we appreciate you providing us with feedback on the issues you encountered with your reservation. The additional fee you’re referring to is our resort fee, which is communicated throughout the reservation process, as well as on our Website and in our reservation confirmation and pre-arrival communications. We want to make sure the resort fee is clearly visible in an effort to ensure guests understand the value of what the fee includes. Resort fees are very common in Vail and we do our best to offer competitive prices in this market, especially for all the amenities available at Vail Cascade. As for the insider’s tip you received, we have never heard of this and can assure you that it is not tolerated.

I can promise you that we have addressed your feedback with our team. Your review is invaluable as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards as a AAA Four Diamond resort in Vail. We do hope you give us another chance to earn back your loyalty and I personally invite you to call me directly if I can make your next visit more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Got to deal to stay here for business in July 2013 and enjoyed every minute. I got a great room on the third floor facing the river and was able to open the window and get the sound of water and a cool evening breeze. Great thing about this mountain property is that you have the option to run a ceiling fan or the AC, which not all places have.

This place is a real resort, they make your room cozy by turning on some lights and tv to welcome you at check in, then they do a turn down with chocolates on the pillow, etc.

The lobby bar and pool bar where also top notch with great service. I had ordered take out in the lobby bar since it was very full and I could not immediately find a seat, but then once I had found a place to sit the bartender brought the takeout to me and also table service so I had the option to hang out a bit.

The pool had a lot of children the Friday night I was there and they show movies poolside on an inflatable screen, which the kids seemed to enjoy and gave parents a little break. Pool and hot tub are nice but the whole area felt a little crowded as each time I moved around to find a place to relax a herd of kids seems to flock to that area, the pool, the hot tub, the fire pit, etc. A parent actually apologized to me as he realized his group of kids seemed to be following me around, which I just thought was funny.

I checked out the spa across the street and a little walk through the hotel and over a enclosed walkway. The spa is a little older but nice and had great service. They had some sales on products so I was able to stock up. The gym is a little older in layout but equipment looked modern. The layout did not have a lot of room for stretching and the outdoor pool looked small.

The hotel has a great policy with quiet hours from 10 pm to 7 am to be observed in the hall ways, so no loud (after bar closes) guests in the hallways.

Also liked that you have the option (at least in the summer) to make a short walk from free self park or you can pay to valet. And the hotel has a shuttle that runs around the major stops in Vail and makes it easy to get around without driving.

There is a nice grab and go café with breakfast items and well stocked with water, snacks, drinks, souvenirs.

Overall, great stay and I look forward to coming here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Gore Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westendgirlco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear westendgirlco,
Comprehensive reviews are so valuable for my staff and for future guests. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. From what it sounds like, you took advantage of all the amenities that make Vail Cascade so special. We’re glad that you noticed even the small things that we do to make our guests feel welcome. If you should return to Vail, I would kindly ask that you reach out to me directly and let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next stay even more memorable.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing