We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfy!”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Vail
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy and comfy!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Would recommend this cozy place to anyone, fireplace and all! The service is superior, all employees were always smiling and gracious, nothing was too hard for them. Very professional yet still homey- that's an unusual combination. I felt like i was coming home after each day spent on outdoor adventures. Free parking! Beautifully lit gardens at night. Greenery well-tended too. i could go on and on... Just go and see it for yourself!

Room Tip: There are some rooms with better views but honestly, the best of the view is to be enjoyed from outd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananasFromBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear BananasFromBrooklyn
Thank you for your recent visit and your review on TripAdvisor. Our staff strives to provide service from the heart so we appreciate the recognition. We’re thrilled to be referred your ‘home away from home’ and would love the opportunity to have you again.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Got a great deal on a room (only $99) so my husband and I stayed for a night; it was a very good stay! The staff was exceptionally nice, everyone was friendly and helpful, we have to give them 5 stars based on that alone. Our thanks to them for making our stay special.

Our room faced the creek, it was lovely; everything was clean, bathroom was large, the bath products were great. Loved the light bedspread, versus the ones you usually get in hotel rooms (that are always bulky and when you take them off the bed to sleep, there's no where to put them). I even found a pillow that I liked, which is rare for me. Furnishings were tasteful, robes were heavy duty, and towels were fluffy (not hard and scratchy). Room seemed large, because of a step down area with a high ceiling, it was nice to have space. The doors opened up to a patio table and chairs that faced the creek, we enjoyed sitting out, and I was able to check out the stars at night. My only complaint was a very soft mattress (which many people might like). We both agreed we'd stay at this hotel again, and that doesn't happen often.

We loved the entire hotel, it had the feeling of an older Colorado lodge, but clean and in excellent condition, it is kept up well. My husband was thrilled to find they had gopro camera accessories in the girft shop, at the same price as the gopro website (he was expecting the resort markup). We thought the breakfast buffet was quite the step up from the usual buffet; he's vegetarian, and there was a huge selection of healthy food to choose from. And the bad for you croissants were really, really good too! We used the hot tub which was clean and fun, and walked the path along the river. I would definitely recommend staying here in summer, and will consider returning for ski season.

Room Tip: Everyone is right, get a room near the creek, it makes you feel like you're away from the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoPetLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear ColoradoPetLover,
Thank you for sharing your Vail Cascade experience! We take great pride in the service we offer and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our amenities, our access to biking trails and the views. Hope to see you again soon (or for the ski season).

Sincerely,
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Vail Cascade for a couple nights with wife and 1 year old. Great hotel, super clean, wonderful location near Lionshead and right up against Gore Creek (which hot tub, infinity pool and fireplace bar overlook). Room was very well kept and appears to have been recently renovated.

Only one customer service disaster kept this from five stars. Ordered a pack n play for baby to sleep in when reservation was made, then called to confirm it day before. Those who have travelled with a baby before know the importance of naptimes and good sleep as a vital part of enjoying rest of the vacation. When we arrived the pack n play wasn't there, but no big deal it was early afternoon so called and they said it would be right up. Two hours later, no dice so called again before leaving for dinner and they promised it would be there by the time we get back. Fast forward to 7:30 at night (baby's bedtime), still nothing. This is exactly what every parent dreads as the clock is now ticking. I was forced to go down to the front desk and literally stand there until my wife confirmed via text the pack n play had arrived. Guess what, it was delivered from the room right across the hall! Somehow it took around 6 hours to make that epic journey. This should never happen at a resort of this caliber and keeps from too highly recommending despite everything else being great. Getting a baby crib by 8 pm shouldn't resemble splitting the atom or curing polio, let alone resorting to a lobby sit-in protest until a simple request (confirmed day in advance) was completed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaminj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the vail cascade resort this weekend. It was the first time I'd been here...

Overall I recommend this resort and it is at a beautiful location.

The resort is situated right on gore creek and is in a beautiful section of Vail. Note that the resort is not in center Vail, which is nice as it's much quieter and peaceful. However, shuttles run till midnight everyday during the summer and parking in the public and resort parking is free...

The rooms were very clean, up-to-date and many had decks you could sit out on.

Whoever maintains the flowers on this property should get an award! Beautiful!

One note to management, you & your staff need to get outdoors (daily) around the pool and hot tub areas and pick up the discarded towels, cigarette butts and other litter... I was walking around, admiring the property, but those areas (which claim to open at 7am) were still filthy from the previous evening. Pool and hot tub covers were also still there after 7am... hey some of us like to use the pool and hot tubs early in the morning.. get them cleaned, uncovered and open ON TIME! Unacceptable.

Also saw a bar glass sitting on a rock outside alongside the Creek path. Does management walk their property outdoors daily? Doesn't seem like it.

This place does seem to nickel and dime you - no free coffee, no free newspspers, no free ice water in the lobby areas..

But we would stay here again without hesitation and larger groups and wedding parties should consider Vail Cascade Resort for their event.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear BilinDenver,
Thank you for your review and your feedback pertaining to your recent stay. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our location, rooms and shuttle service. As for coffee, newspapers and water, we do provide all of those items for our guests and are unsure why they would not have been available for you. Although you did encounter a few mishaps, we’re glad to hear you would return. Upon your next stay, I would ask that you contact me directly to ensure your next stay is nothing short of spectacular.

Thanks again for your review,
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Decided to have a quick weekend getaway in Vail with some friends. What a great location and the staff was great. The hotel was clean and very warm. Felt at home! I can't wait for the next visit to the Vail Cascade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Jenny,
With so many hotels to choose from in Colorado, we are glad you selected to stay with us for your quick weekend getaway. Vail is conveniently located to Denver and is a great place to rest, relax and renew. We’re thrilled to hear you had a great time and that you felt at home. Fall is in the air, which means winter is coming soon! Hope to see you again.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Their condos stream side have been our favorite family summer vacation spot. Beautiful scenery, many activities, friendly and very helpful staff keep us coming back in the summer and for spring skiing. Recommend the Cascades Resort without qualification.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rwpche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear rwpche,
Coming all the way from Louisiana, we truly appreciate your business and your vote of confidence. We take great pride in providing memorable experiences and are honored of your endorsement.

There is a chill in the air, which means winter is approaching…..our favorite time of year. We hope you come back to experience it. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable.
Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful and upgraded our room for free so that we had a mountain view from our deck, which was lovely. A shuttle bus was available to take us to Vail Village to shop, and although we called for room service too late in the evening, the staff gave us the name of a restaurant to call that delivered dinner to our door. The room was clean and comfortable, too. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ C, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Linda,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience; we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your weekend away. We are finding more and more Denver residents who are just now discovering us, like you did. Hope the word spreads, and thanks again for helping let others know to check us out.

Russ Craney
Assistant General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing