We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ski concierge service.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
plockton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ski concierge service.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

.....after almost 50 years of skiing experiences, starting with cable bindings, long tall wooden skis and double skinned leather lacing boots and climbing up before skiing down, in Glenshee, Scotland, I really felt I had reached the ultimate grown up skiing. Not only did nice young men put out my skis at the start of the day within 2 yards of the chairlift.....at the END of the day, there they were again, smiling and cheerful and sometimes even unclipping my skis, picking them up and taking them the extra yard to the ski rack. Ski concierge service ROCKS. Thank you all you lovely young guys who made my holiday in your hotel such and amazingly pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: brits....ask politely for an upgrade when you check in. you may be lucky and get a superior room, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriamclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear miriamclare,
Coming from an experience skiing aficionado such as yourself, I am truly honored to have read your review and to hear that your Vail Cascade stay exceeded your expectations. I can assure you that I’ve shared your experience with our team and we are all glowing with pride. Thank you! If you think winter’s nice in Vail, you have to check out the summer! From pool parties to après mountain fun and special events, you won’t be disappointed.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I guess I just expected more but all and all it was a very good hotel. When we first checked in we did not get the room we had reserved online. We had paid a little more to get a room with a mountain view and a king size bed for our anniversary. We had the right bed but the view was of the front of the property. We did call and they did get us the view we wanted, however we had two double beds and were they loud! When my husband would roll over on his bed it would wake me up on mine and vice versa. The room was quite warm as well. We slept two nights with the heat off and the balcony door cracked.
The food at the Fireside Bar was amazing the night we ate on-site!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcieack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear marcieack,
First let me take a moment to send you best wishes on your anniversary. We are truly honored that you selected Vail Cascade as your vacation destination to celebrate this special occasion. We recognize the importance of providing a relaxing and enriching experience and appreciate hearing your feedback regarding your reservation and accommodations. We are in the process of a multi-million dollar room renewal, which will debut in early summer. If your travels should bring you back to Vail, we would be honored to have you as our guests again.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Wonderful staff nice hotel with its own ski lift up to Vail Mountain just steps away from the ski concierge. They keep your skis and boots warm for you then just step onto ski lift. Great Restaurant in the hotel enjoyed this very much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunamoon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear lunamoon51,
Glad to hear you had a nice visit. We hope to see you again soon! Spring is here and the weather is great.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Nice hotel for the money (Ritz is nicer but much more expensive). Friendly staff, hotel is right on the lift with nice rooms. We visited Vail Cascade twice and had a great experience each time. We have 3 kids who had a great time swimming and helped make cookies in the kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear RockinC,
Thank you for selecting Vail Cascade for your family getaway this past March. From what it sounds like, everyone enjoyed the vacation. As a loyal guest, we appreciate your business and hope to have you again soon. The summer is almost here and the anticipation for mountain adventure is growing. We hope to be a part of your summer travels and memories.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our 2nd time at this resort - the 1st time we stayed on the ground floor, corner room. This time we stayed in the same room, one floor up. No real difference, room is spacious and clean. Bathroom area is fantastic - plenty of light and mirrors for my fiance.

Only a couple issues:
-Egg white Breakfast sandwiches at the food shop were nasty - soggy, chewy and plain. Not a good choice for $7.
-Shower has soap scum and pink mildew - for such a high class resort, I find this unacceptable.
-The king size bed is waaaaaay too soft. Same with the pillows. I did not sleep well.

Will I stay there again? Yes - but only when we can score a deal on living social :)

Room Tip: While getting a room far away from the reception/bar/restaurant area is quieter - it's also quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Tyler,
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate having you as a guest (especially for a second visit) and have passed along your feedback to the appropriate departments. We always value our guest's opinions as we want to make improvements that will help to elevate our guest’s experience in the future.

We are planning more with LivingSocial so keep an eye out – or better yet, sign up for our emails and get the insider’s scope to all the BEST deals (plus some extra perks).
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I've stayed at a number of different hotels and rental properties in Vail over the years, and this is the first where I am positive I will return. The hotel staff was awesome and accommodating in every way, starting with the fact that I had to cancel my reservation the day of arrival due to an emergency. It was clear to me I was probably going to lose out 100%, but they allowed me to reschedule the reservation with no penalty. During our stay, all our needs were met promptly. They threw in some nice extras, like only charging us for one car when we had two (parking is expensive), and not charging for our roll-away bed. The bell hop brought us a corkscrew, wine glasses, and extra robes within 20 minutes of our arrival.

While our room was pretty standard (even a little barren), it was clean and huge. The hotel itself is very nice. The hot tub and pool are in a beautiful natural setting on the river. The fireside bar is great for a drink or morning coffee. And the locker room has amenities like a steam sauna and hot tub. You can use the locker room even if you aren't using the spa. The shuttle service is also very efficient. We never had to wait more than a few minutes to get back and forth to the village.

Overall, I can't wait to go back! My only complaint is that the restaurant closed at 9pm on Saturday night, which seemed early to me since the place was very crowded. Not a big deal, though, since the fireside bar has food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahkay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear sarahkay03,
It is a true honor to read and share your review with my staff at Vail Cascade. We realize that you have many hotels to choose from in Vail and it sounds like you’ve stayed at several of them. To hear that you will return to Vail Cascade is the reason I am proud to be the General Manager. I hope you return soon – the weather is warm, the sun is shining and spring is blossoming into summer. Please let me know how I can make your next visit even more memorable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Affordable, reasonable, and customer satisfaction all the time. Love the infinity pool, and stays warm even with snowfall. Peaceful place to stay at, cozy rooms, restaurant excellent and good room service to match. Tennis, basketball, and big excercise room. Recommend this place even if it's off-season..

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Samsonite_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Samsonite_0,
What a great privilege to read your recent review on TripAdvisor. We absolutely love having guests from Denver travel up to Vail for an unforgettable experience. We are glad to hear you found a new altitude and enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the great review! Come see us again and let us be your alpine guide to the very best of Colorado this summer.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing