We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel lobby is charming, very rustic and welcoming. The rooms are good size and are clean. I was disappointed to see the tiles in the shower could use a little work. The smores by the pool at night was a hit with the kids. Great food in the bar area. The one downside was the walls were paper thin...I could hear the guests next door, in fact when I said "come on people" they heard me and started talking back...It was very annoying at 11:45pm. The shuttle was convenient for getting back and forth to the villages. The spa was one of the best I have ever been to as far as treatments go. The employee, Steve, who entertained the kids was absolutely great!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beach_mom_leesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear beach_mom_leesburg,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your Vail Cascade experience. Coming all the way from Florida, I’m thrilled to hear that you felt welcomed and enjoyed our pool, s’mores, food and spa. Did you know that Aria recently ranked 24th on Condé Nast’s list of “Top 100 Resort Spas”? I am sorry to hear you that you did not receive the best night of sleep; however, we appreciate hearing your feedback as we continue to improve our rooms. If you decide to return to Colorado, we would love to see you and your family again. Vail has the most beautiful summers (shhh….that’s an insider’s secret).

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Talisa, Vail
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at the Cascade several times during ski season (7 to 10) from 2011-2013. The pool is amazing and it is a real ski in ski out with a chair right next to the door to the hotel...unlike 99% of the places that advertise as such. Also the restaurant brunch is the best for the price in Vail and on par with that of the Ritz or Hyatt. The rooms can be a bit dated, and I have never felt very welcome by the front door staff in general. I have had a few good experiences and a few bad. The worse was being checked into a room with no functioning heat, and told the hotel was full so they could not accommodate me elsewhere. I had to keep all my ski gear on the whole night in addition to being under cover just to stay warm. This hotel is NOT worth the standard winter rates they charge. I would not recommend paying over $250 a night here. On several occasions my out of town friends booked here and paid in excess of $500 a night for a room that was no different in quality then the one I paid $200 for. Remember there’s a resort charge, parking fee, tax on top of the listed price. All in all this property really does have great potential but the customer service aspect is holding it back.

Room Tip: The best rooms are those that open up to the river on the first floow with a walk out patio.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travis992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Travis992,
Thank you for your constructive feedback of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and thorough review. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards as a AAA Four Diamond resort. We do hope you continue to stay at Vail Cascade and allow us the opportunity to earn your loyalty. Should you return, I personally invite you to call me directly if I can make your next visit more enjoyable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Vail Cascade during the second weekend of January for the 13th Annual Big Beers Festival. The Vail Cascade always delivers with this event. From the beer selections at the hotel bar and restaurant...to the cuisine at the beer dinners...I can't say enough good things. They really go above and beyond to accomodate such a rowdy group!

The hotel itself was great. The ski concierge and ski in/ski out is such an added bonus with this property...would reccomend to anyone!

Only downside is the service in the restaurant is slow..but hey, its Vail. I like to call it "Vail time"!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are fine, but make sure to ask for a good view ;)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear sasand01,
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Vail Cascade. Big Beers is a great event and we’re honored to host it every year. Thank you for sharing your experience. We take great pride in what we do and it’s always nice to hear feedback from our guests. We hope you come back to experience one of our Brewmaster’s Weekends. If you love craft beer, you’ll love what we’re doing in Atwater! Check out our Website for more information or feel free to reach out to me directly.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here during the Thanksgiving weekend 2012 and I was pleasantly surprised at the atmosphere and the friendly staff. We were there mainly to snowboard so we didn't spend a lot of time in the Hotel but we did go down to the heated pool and Jacuzzi at night, it was clean and cozy, you can go for a swim than relax by one of the fireplaces outside. Its within walking distance from everything so you don't have to drive just walk along the river to get to the village. The rooms were excellent comfortable beds, very clean, and the bathtubs are enormous so you can soak in them after a long day of skiing or snowboarding without having to go down to the pool or jacuzzi. The concierge hooked us up with tickets to the cine bistro which was excellent for my teenage girls that wanted to see the new Twighlight movie.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the slopes they have a better view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Becca313,
We are so delighted that you selected Vail Cascade for your family vacation over the Thanksgiving holiday and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. Time and time again, our guests comment on how relaxed they feel after staying with us. From our convenient location to the infinity-edge pool, hot tubs and fire features to Atwater’s delicious cuisine, we take great pride in providing memorable experiences and appreciate being recognized as your “home away from home”. Thanks again for sharing your Vail Cascade experience. We hope you return soon!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Every need of the guest is thought of before arriving here. We stay here on every trip to Vail. The Spa is great and the overall ambience is just terrific! The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet in the Atwater is huge with both hot and cold food items, the chef preparing eggs any way you would like them is an added bonus. Great variety of food for every taste.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 883Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello 883Barbara
Thank you for sharing your Vail Cascade experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you selected Vail Cascade as your vacation destination and you enjoyed the ambiance, service and our variety of menu options. We hope you return again soon and enjoy another memorable experience.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Was a little outraged at the price charged for a room here; it was early january and the snow coverage is still pretty poor. But this place is the only ski-in ski-out resort I've ever stayed at. But too bad with all the wedding events, we did not have time to ski. Also, this place charges an extra resort fee, parking fee and if you wanted to use the fitness center even it is $27 extra, crazy. The resort felt like something in the 80's esp the elevators and hallways. The room we stayed in was very small and had low ceilings. The bathroom was outdated but not amazing by any means. I am from LA and have stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Westin and this place was ok. The best part was probably the lobby area where there was a nice fireplace and the library next to the reception area. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hot tub was cool too, right next to a ski run. The Aria spa is nice if you're willing to pay extra, but it does not compare to the Four Seasons spas I've been to. The wedding restaurant made the best steak i have ever had at a wedding so kudos for making good food even in large mass quantities. But the wedding set up seemed a bit awkward. And if you had the leave, you basically cut through the dance floor.
Yeah, so I don't think I'd ever stay here again.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank msylee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear msylee22,
Thank you for your recent review and sharing your experience. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our resort’s ambiance, service and cuisine. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we strive to provide a great experience and appreciate you expressing your concern regarding our resort fee. In addition to providing access to Aria Club, the resort fee also provides shuttle service to/from Lionshead and Vail Village, in-room coffee service, local telephone access, high-speed Internet access and more. If you do return to Vail, we ask that you consider Vail Cascade. Our on-property amenities (chairlift, ski concierge, ski storage and rental shop) make it easy to get the most out of a winter vacation.

Thanks again,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Cascade in the past and have always been thrilled with the attentive staff and variety of amenities, especially the ski shop and chair lift right on property! However, we were a little apprehensive about traveling with our three children over Christmas, for fear we might miss out on some of the "Santa traditions". Little did we know that the Cascade had a ton of great activities planned for the holiday. One night we made gingerbread houses...and not with little graham crackers and some icing. These were real, good sized houses which gave us all plenty of room to be creative with all of the goodies the hotel provided. Another night the kids decorated stockings but the best part was that the hotel FILLED the stockings the three nights prior to Christmas with all kinds of great gifts and treats. The kids were THRILLED!! There were also movie nights planned, smores around the fire pit, an incredible magician, contests...the list goes on. We had asked the kids if they wanted to do some of the activities in Vail Village after skiing and every night they wanted to go back to the hotel and take part in their activities. We could not have scripted a better Christmas away from home!! The Cascade staff truly made it a special occasion for all of us! The Cascade will continue to be our resort of choice in Vail!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kati K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Kati from Atlanta,
Thank you for your 5-star review! What a privilege to read about your experience. The holidays are truly a magical time of year in Vail and from what it sounds like, your children were delighted with all the special events, activities and amenities that make Vail Cascade so unique. We take great pride in our annual Cascade Christmas celebration and are thrilled your family was a part of it. We hope your travels bring you back again this winter (or any time of year for that matter).
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $234 - $1,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing