We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service....Plan to revisit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service....Plan to revisit again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everything was Great .... from the doormen/Valet guy at the front door to the banquet set-up crew that showed us the nearest elevator to the gentlemen who recommended the breakfast buffet and the housekeeping ladies who said hello! We also had a travelzoo special for the spa ... which was also very nice. :-) The breakfast buffet was execellent ... we ate there both mornings! Well worth the $17! :-) Also the dessert (we had blackcherry pie (I think that's what it was), triple choc. cake and 3 scoops of ice cream that were all homemade!) The choc. and pistachio ice cream were awesome! Well honestly it was all awesome and kind of had that Eurpeon flair as far as food/chefs! The hotel bldg itself was built in the 60's but some of the areas had a historical flair/feel to it.
The best part was we found out that the far wing is dog friendly! Can't wait to go back with the "boys!" (dogs)!

Room Tip: The far wing is dog friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awtwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear awtwin,
Glad to hear you and your “boys” enjoyed your recent stay at Vail Cascade. After reading your review, I’m all of a sudden craving dessert from Atwater! Our chefs take great pride in their culinary creations so we’ll be sure to share your positive feedback with them. We do hope you revisit soon – winter is the greatest season and with our very own chairlift and ski valet, we offer the quickest way to get on the slopes. Glad to you hear you enjoyed our spa too! Did you know that Aria recently ranked 24th on Condé Nast’s list of “Top 100 Resort Spas”? We’re very proud of the numerous awards we receive each year, but reviews such as yours are a testament to why we all love what we do and more important than any accolade. If you chose to come back, please do not hesitate to let me know and I’d be happy to make your stay more enjoyable.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We asked for a mountain side room and were even upgraded to a room with a balcony. Our room overlooked the pool. Not sure that all rooms with a balcony have the amazing view we had. Breakfast was especially good with a good variety of food that was high quality. Fitness center worth the 25.00 resort fee, but if you don't take advantage of the fitness center or pool - resort fee might be a waste.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view over the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTPM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear KTPM2012,
Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back this winter to enjoy our new guest rooms! Many of our guests don’t realize that we have Vail’s largest athletic and training facility in Vail. It’s not just a fitness center – it’s much more! Glad to hear you took advantage of it and recognized just how nice it truly is. Time and time again we are recognized for providing a great experience at an exceptional value due to our service, amenities and location.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I had planned a 3 week road trip around Colorado and had pre booked some accommodation prior to leaving Australia.
Unfortunately our pre booked accommodation near Vail was cancelled by the hotel so we were offered the Vail Cascade as an alternative. All I can say is wow! and we were pleasantly surprised.
From check in to check out our stay was heavenly.
The room was beautiful, overlooking the creek and we enjoyed great food and beverages within the bar and restaurant. Breakfast was included and was plentiful.
The only criticism that I have is that the hotel offers a shuttle service into Vail and they will collect you if you call, the problem we had was that we tried to call a number of times and they did not answer so we had to walk back to the hotel which is quite a distance.
Overall a fantastic stay and will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a stay in Vail.

Room Tip: One overlooking the creek as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Aussiesrus,
We are thrilled to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your recent stay at Vail Cascade. If you think our rooms were nice during your stay, you should come back this winter! We’re excited to offer new, redesigned rooms, just in time for Vail’s 50th anniversary. We also appreciate your comments regarding the shuttle service. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards. Should you return to Colorado, we hope you would select Vail Cascade as one of your stops during your next road trip!

Thanks, Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were there for the fall and it was prime time when the fall leaves were radiant. Having the hotel in the middle of this splendour was beautiful to behold. The hotel itself looks like a French castle but the inside was very warm and inviting. There were multiple multi-use rooms with comfortable seating and a roaring (gas) fire.

The pool area is spectacular and though we didn't use the fitness center, it looked really nice.

The only complaint I had is they almost force you to do valet when you are first coming into register. There is no close parking for guests who need to register. Why is this? The parking garage was very adequate when we were there but it is a walk so be careful if you have issues walking far.

The hotel seems a little mismatched other than the main area. There seems to be additions that were done after and it didn't flow very well (you couldn't get from one area of the hotel to the other very easily.

Over all, is a very nice hotel and we would like to come back and stay/ski since the gondola is close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2krazykats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear 2krazykats,
Fall is a great time to visit and we’re delighted to hear of your amazing stay in September. Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade and for your recommendation on Trip Advisor. We value your business and hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Vail. We also appreciate your feedback on our resort décor. Just as the seasons are changing, exciting changes are also taking place at Vail Cascade. We’re in the process of a mulit-million dollar renewal to our guest rooms. With winter knocking at the door and Vail’s 50th birthday, we’re buzzing with excitement! We would enjoy seeing you again.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Great rooms lovely common spaces, Cascades is a real treat. I've been here two years for a professional conference and it has been fabulous. Good food high value for your off-season dollar. Easy check in, happy to see they got rid of the parking charge.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litlleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at Vail Cascade for a quick Fall getaway. Treated like royality from the moment we arrived. Grabbed a beer in the bar and head to the pool area and lounged by the raging river and took a quick nap in the sun. For dinner. . took advantage of the beer flight and small plate deal and it was just enough to get us into the evenings' festivities. . .hot tubbing and marshmallows by the fire. The room was so comfortable, lots of pillows, robes for the hot tub. . we had the mountain view. . could open the balcony doors and let the wonderfully cool fall air in our room . .we got up the next day and walked the trail into Lionshead for breakfast and took in all of Vail's gorgeous scenery. Wonderfully relaxing .. .not a care in the world. . could have stayed a week!

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms give you the feeling you are in another world. . slopeside, river, aspens and pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Tracey,
We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your romantic, fall getaway to Vail. From what it sounds like, you were able to disconnect and enjoy all the great amenities and offerings that make Vail Cascade so unique. We hope you and your husband return soon and if there’s anything we can do to make your next visit more memorable, please let me know.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My favorite resort in Vail during all seasons--skiing in the winter with a chair lift on the property and boot concierge, too. Ski conditioning classes at the spa/fitness center in the Fall. Spectacular Autumn colored leaves. Summertime biking along trail following the creekside with access all the way up Vail pass. Lovely wildflowers in the Spring. Having a shuttle to the town of Vail ~ 1 mile up the road is great at night, no need to drive your car anywhere. The spa/fitness facilites are amazing!

Room Tip: Chose a mountain view with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear sarah919,
Fall is a great time to visit and we’re delighted to hear of your spectacular stay in September (and all the other seasons!). Thank you for choosing Vail Cascade Resort and for your recommendation on Trip Advisor. We value your business and hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Vail. Winter is knocking at our doorstep and the hotel is buzzing with excitement! We would enjoy seeing you again.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing