We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Choice in Vail”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Hotel is Beautiful, The Spa is Great and the Ski lift is right there..... So much better than staying closer to town where the hotels are al "Small" and the lifts are crowded.
The food is Excellent! We are definitely coming back

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janosoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Talisa, Vail
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here during a long weekend in Vail with some of his family (who stayed at a different property) in July, 2011.

Our reception at the front desk was welcoming and professional and the room was well-kept, well-furnished and very comfortable! We had a view of the courtyard, but the small walk-out balcony was so conducive to enjoying the fresh, summertime mountain air - a really nice feature of the room.

We took advantage of the path into Vail Village - a lovely walk in the summer. The bar area, although small, served us great drinks and as another reviewer commented, the outside pool area provides plenty of other places to relax. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant twice while there - there was a very good buffet selection and tasty enough, for a buffet. There was a mix up during one of our breakfasts - we were told to sit where we wanted and were sort of "forgotten about" for 10 - 15 minutes. It wasn't busy, so we finally asked a waitress, who apologized and then took our drink orders, directed us to the buffet, etc. This incident was not so terrible to take away from the full excellent rating - it was simply a mistake on their part.

The shuttle from the hotel to Vail Village was very efficient and timely - we took advantage of it to meet up with family for shopping and dinner on several different occasions. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ardenlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I've been going out to Colorado on ski trips for over 10 years now, and I must say this is probably the best place I've ever stayed.
You can't beat the ski concierge service and the proximity to lift #20, its literally 10 steps to the ski lift.
The room was excellent, lots of space, well appointed and very quiet.
We also liked the Fireside bar downstairs, it had a nice ski lodge feel to it.
We used the complimentary shuttle bus to get to Lionshead and Vail village several times and it was very efficient.
I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view out over Gore Creek
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcodeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thanks for your enthusiastic review! One of our favorite things to let people know is that we measure the distance to our chairlift in mere steps...and you did that for us in your review!
We hope to see you back sometime soon, maybe in our other favorite season, Summer?
Again, thanks!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We've stayed at the Vail Cascade Condos for over 10 consecutive years and have had nothing short of amazing experiences year after year. The staff is extremely customer-oriented, the homes we've stayed in are impeccable, and the property itself is spectacular. This is an organization that makes you feel as though they really VALUE your business, appreciate your patronage, and are determined to not rest on their laurels.

The housekeeping staff is terrific, the Spa & Fitness Center are VERY high-end, the restaurant is very good and the Concierge Staff is informed and responsive. Most importantly, the Condo Management Staff is first rate (Stasi has been there for years and is exceptional) and always makes us feel welcome and wanted. We've had many guests join us at the Vail Cascade Condos and every one has walked away DELIGHTED with the wonderful experience we were able to share with them.

I commend this property to you and feel confident that you will not be disappointed. Enjoy the magic of Vail and the Vail Cascade Condos!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVIG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was my first time in Vail in the high season (i.e. Xmas and NYE), so finding a hotel at a reasonable price that was still somewhat close to Vail Village was important for us. We found it at the Cascade. Don't be afraid of having to take the shuttle to Lionshead or Vail Village - it was waiting for us almost every time we went outside to look for it with never more than a 2 or 3 minute wait the other times. It definitely does not have the "snob appeal" that others in Vail Village might have, but that made it a really nice, relaxing place to spend 5 nights.

Breakfast room service was our least favorite meal, but it was still tasty. The small plates/appetizers in the main lounge room are AWESOME, as were the 2 dinners we had at the hotel's restaurant. We were there with a group from NYC and everyone agreed!

Another great part about the resort is access to the Aria gym and spa. I had several spa treatments there, all of which were lovely. And the gym offers a range of great fitness classes and equipment.

There are 2 reasons why my review is not "excellent": 1) the place needed a bit of a face lift in all parts of the resort, and 2) the valet and check-in/check-out process took forever and was mishandled in several respects (we had a morning flight out of Denver, so we had to leave super early, had notified valet and front desk about it the night before, only to be told in the morning when our car wasn't there that "we didn't call last night", which was absolutely untrue!).

p.s. - if you don't want to take the bus, we also walked to Vail Village and Lionshead and it is totally doable and beautiful along the creek, but just be sure to bring your snow boots!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worktravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2012

Dear Worktravelgirl,
Comprehensive reviews like yours are so very appreciated! We are happy to let you know that we are striving to update areas throughout Vail Cascade Resort as well as Aria; we want all of our guests to receive the best. I assure you, the mix-ups you enountered with our bell staff are not the norm, and should not ever occur again--we thank you for alerting us so that we are able to address any communication errors with the team.
Your review was so welcomed, you've described some of our "hidden" gems like the walking path perfectly so others can come enjoy us too!
Thank you,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We received an awesome rate during March on this place. You have to pay for parking at your hotel (which is ALWAYS lame!), but they do have a semi-secure private garage. But the garage is a walk and a-half from the rooms! ..that is bad.

But, what makes up for it, as others have noted, is the location. It is the only resort to have it's own chair lift. I am talking literally 2 steps from the hotel's side door. And on on-site ski-shop. They will store you skis over-night for free! So, this makes up for

The hotel is a maze, btw. Lot of wings to this place. Slow elevators.

Bar is small and always packed common hours. But, go outside! Be location is outside. Plenty of lit gas fire spots where you can sit, stay relative warm, drink , and enjoy the few. Plus multiple heated pools and a great hot-tub!

All things considered, would definitely stay again if we could get the same rate. Not cheap, but if you can get a discounted rate, it is worth the extra bucks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others on Trip Advisor about your stay here at Vail Cascade. We're glad you're sharing our "secret": the closest lift-to-lodge experience anywhere! Still haven't seen a lift line yet this year.
We hope to see you again soon!
Best,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 12 years and it is clearly the best resort in all of Vail, with the best spa and the best ski concierge and location with it's own private lift. The hotel itself is lovely with a wonderful Colorado feel. The staff is incredible and they truly value their customers. The spa, Aria, is absolutely fantastic and has garnered many awards! The spa waiting area alone is a respite into the wonderful world of Colorado relaxation after a day of enjoying all the wonderment our outdoors has to offer. I have stayed at the Ritz and the Park Hyatt and a few others which I also give good marks to, but this hotel is one of my favorites and always my first choice. The location is incredible! It is not on the highway, nor is it in the middle of all the noise so it truly is a perfect location. There is a wonderful cozy bar which often has live music. The shuttle picks up right at the front door and is an easy 2 minute ride into the village area-it is also not too far to walk if you are athletic. This is the place to stay when you are visiting Vail and we have a second residence at Copper Mountain only 15 miles from Vail and we often splurge and stay here just for the ambience, spa and incredible ski/in ski/out location.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms not on the lower level and if you are from out of state a mountain view, although I a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationauthority
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#4 of 30 in Vail
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $228 - $1,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing