We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the lines and head up your own lift!”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great location if you like to breath away from the crowds! Gore Creek flows alongside the pool & hot tub while warm fires burn bright. Couple & kid friendly. Amazing Spa. Hotel shuttle easy & frequent enough in case you want to hop into
Lionshead or Vail village.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeaganD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

We were sad to leave. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was very nice. The rooms were nice size and clean and comfy (although a little dark). The jacuzzi's were great, especially the one by the outdoor pool & a fireplace. Very nice touch. Cookies & cider in the afternoon was also great and it was a big plus to have their own chair lift by the hotel and to ski back directly to the hotel at the end of the day.

Some complaints were that we did find the breakfast choices limited $18 / $24 buffet and no a la carte option. They did have a market for coffee, danishes & bagels but it was limited for breakfast. They did have pizza available for take out or room service which was good! The hotel is a bit isolated but the free shuttle was convenentient since we could wait inside by the fire place or in the transit center so it really wasnt bad, but they could have had them going a little more often since they were so full during peak season (and people had to stand). As long as you are not in a rush, it is fine. The daily ski valet was very convenient but i did have some issues since it was so crowded and they do need more space and to be more organized. My poles dispappeared for 3 days but they lent me a pair and they did end up finding them the day i left and the hotel manager Scott was very helpful and brought them to our next hotel in Avon, which i very much appreciated!. Unfortunately my gloves were taken in the valet/storage room and those never showed up. The store manager gave me 50% off for a new pair but i was quite disappointed. Just be careful to keep an eye on your stuff especially during holiday season since it is so crowded.

All in all, we had a great stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

4 days before Christmas my teenage boys, hubby & I stayed here. Booking ski rentals online saved us 25% and using the AMEX platinum got us some other deals. Room super clean and comfy, with robes and humidifier. Out door heated pool & hot tub a must for apres ski. Best breakfast buffet with lots of healthy & indulgent choices. Bar always lively with tasty small plates and pizza available; kids allowed. Shuttle to town frequent. Commitment to environmentally sound practices commendable but they could go further, like instituting a no-idling policy for waiting vans. If you are waiting inside you get a face full of fumes every time the door opens. We hotel hoppers seemed to adjust to getting rid styrofoam, using towels more than once and having our own little individual bottles of shampoo etc pretty quickly. I know I wouldn't mind a van turning off it's engine while it waited even if it meant I'd need my jacket for the first few minutes of the ride.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Vail Cascade Resort for a few days the week following Thanksgiving as a mini-vacation before the Christmas bustle really set in. I booked the stay online without knowing what to expect exactly, but I was very pleased with what we found. The resort was very quiet after Thanksgiving week, and we felt like we had a lot of privacy. The resort is a bit away from all the hustle and bustle of the main part of Vail, and there is a beautiful walking trail right behind the resort that for a half hour walk, takes you right to the Lionshead village. Also, there is a shuttle bus that picks up right in front of the resort and goes to the other parts of Vail, so you can easily get to the more crowded restaurants and shops, etc. if you want to.

There was a beautiful outdoor hot tub with trees around it, and a view of the mountain behind the resort for relaxing in the evening and watching the moon and the stars. All of the staff was very friendly and the whole resort was extra charming, and without any pretentiousness. There was a comfy library filled with books for hanging out and reading while watching the snow on the trees out the window.

We ordered a pizza delivered through room service, which was excellent. The bar was very intimate, and easygoing. The gym was a full-service gym with every piece of equipment that we are used to at our regular gym, so we were able to continue with our usual routine.

We did get lost one time, as there are two sections to the hotel and you cannot get between the two sections on all floors. Once we figured this out, it wasn't a problem.

I hope to go back, and plan on making this an after-Thanksgiving tradition.

Room Tip: Room 259 looked out on a roof - but we did see some trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayDee970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Hello JayDee 970-
We truly appreciate your review of your stay, and we are so glad that we exceeded your expectations after booking online.
We agree, we like that we are secluded, but without isolation, and our shuttle makes getting around easy. Not everyone uses the shuttle in the winter, so with your review, perhaps more visitors will find they don't even need to rent a car to get to Vail.
Once again, thank you for your stay and your detailed review; we appreciate both greatly!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Recently Stayed here for a week with my family... Hotel's huge, like a maze, got lost a couple of times. When we got to the suite we were delighted to see a really big and comfortable suite.. Staff is very friendly, we rented our skis in their shop,but rent was very expensive, so keep that in mind, but the staff was really friendly, called us by our names and everything. There's a lift just outside the shop and that's great but you cannot ski back, well at least not in early season, slopes were closed so we had to come back in the shuttle, which is free and picks you up every 15 mins, so it is very convenient but...... you have to go down a couple of stairs to return the skis to storage, same stair you have to climb with your skis if you want to take the shuttle to another peak, not nice especially if you have kids or just came back from 7 hours of skiing. There is nothing around the hotel so you cannot walk to a nearby restaurant or anything but you can always take the shuttle. Housekeeping was a little lazy too, we didn't get coffee for a couple of days and one of our bath lights was down for the whole week but as I said minor complaints. I would recommend this hotel and come back happily.

Room Tip: if you like ski in ski out be sure slopes are open for season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel for around 15 years now and its still a great place to stay especially since it sits right on Gore Creek and you are just a few steps from a great walking trail that takes you everywhere along a very scenic route.

The hotel is still in pretty great condition and has had renovations thru the years. It's probably not on par with the newer five star hotels in the area but I would still view it as a premier property in the area if you don't mind being a mile or so away from the main Vail Village.

Fees are reasonable BUT be aware that when you ask for the nightly rate that they may not tell you that their is a $20 fee per day for resort fees that is MANDATORY. It's for the health club, and a few other services that quite honestly we did not use. They also charge to park your car per night as most hotels in the area do. They lose points on this matter but still consider it when you stay in the Vail area. They do offer a shuttle system that takes you into the Vail Village and the Lionshead area of Vail so its pretty easy to get around the area without a car. This City of Vail also has a bus service that can take you around other areas as well and I belive that service is provided free of charge but not sure since we still have not used it.



It's still a great hotel but be aware of hidden fees that you may not be aware of till you get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a creek/mountain view. The lower rooms offer a nice but small balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Great hotel in a great location. About a 5 minute complimentary shuttle ride to Lionshead, and just a bit further to Vail Village. There are various hot tub areas and the pool area is beautiful. We were there over Thanksgiving weekend and enjoyed all the activities going on in the hotel, such as warm cider in the evenings, making s'mores, and the Thanksgiving buffet. We can't wait to return to Vail and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $341 - $1,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talisa, Vail’s newest luxury hotel, following a $60M + renovation, offers the epitome of elevation with 285 new guestrooms and suites with sophisticated décor, luxuriously appointed bathrooms and delightful turn down traditions – the perfect home base for year-round adventure and escape. Savor enchanting global culinary creations and breathtaking views within, Gessner, the new restaurant and lounge, an inventive après scene, blissful spa treatments, a premiere skiing offering including an on-property ski lift, ski concierge, rentals and ticket office, and experiences for all ages inspired by our beloved mountainside setting and culture. All just a mere 5-minute drive from Vail Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing