We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Favorite hotel in vail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
MusicTraveler2
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel in vail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Cascade is a great ski hotel, but what makes it really special is the quality of its concierge and bell staff. They remember names of guests and what they like with courtesy and friendliness, and usually after just one visit. In fact, the reason we keep coming back has far more to do with friendships developed over the years with the staff than the hotels private chairlift or great spa. Steve, Everett, Jen, Tony, Jeff, Dave at the bar, almost anyone you can think of there will be very helpful and make sure your stay is enjoyable. Our daughter is always excited when we say we are going to the Cascade over another hotel, and when trying to pick a getaway spot I have a saying: "Going to the Cascade is never a mistake."

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    356
    93
    34
    34
See reviews for
373
382
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
149 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a great hotel that has a fab SPA ! It is also an ski in ski out hotel with great service for skiers. The main restaurant is chic and has a great view of the montain. The brakfast is amazing, dont eat too much or you will be slow at the slopes.....
They also have : SPA, BIG GYM, BASKETABALL COURT, MASSAGE (FOR A FEE) and much much more. They have a nice concierge also, which are very helpfull. It is a great hotel for family and also couples. The price is also good. You pay for a 4 star and get many extras !!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for montain view....if you are in the winter it is great to see the snow....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brazildude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. One of the things we frequently hear is how surprised guests are when they discover our fitness center--just like you described! It is so hard to image a hotel gym being 78,000 square feet with a basketball court, three indoor tennis courts, the yoga studio and on and on. It sounds like you got to explore a lot of the property and we are so pleased you had a great stay.
Very best,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We liked Cascade a lot for a recent ski trip. I found the rooms to be nice and staff was generally pretty helpful. Perfect for Ski-In-Ski-Out. We got a great rate, but looking at this winter--it's $400-$700... much more than we paid. For that kind of money, Vail Village has some great options. I recall getting a great spa massage here. Overall good for groups. Nice, but not fancy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChetX5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Wonderful summer stay at Vail Cascade

Booked a standard room via Amex FHR and so package offered upgrade (if available), breakfast & late checkout as well as resort credit
Received a great welcome from a young woman with dark hair who check us in – we received a fantastic room located creekside (think it was a deluxe room)– it had its own patio area next to the creek – wonderful to sit outside with a drink.

Room facilities:
Room had king bed (very comfy & good linens & pillow), sofa & armchair , desk, fridge. Coffeemaker, Bathroom had double vanity – toiletries were from the onsite spa & were nice. Hairdryer was very powerful.
The room was spotless
patio area creekside with table & chairs

The pool area was gorgeous in the early evening & there were chairs to sit out & enjoy the mountain air, and a firepit,

The area was very peaceful. and a nice walking path runs creekside

The restaurant was excellent and the service first rate.

The lounge areas looked comfortable & relaxing

Overall I think the inside of the hotel is much more impressive than the outside

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are so pleased that you not only enjoyed your stay, but also that you took the time to write a detailed description of our resort. Some potential guests don't realize the extensiveness of the ammenities we offer, and your review will be helpful to many.
With thanks,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have been visiting this hotel for many years and really enjoy the peaceful setting. I always bring my dog and we love the convenience of the path along the creek, which only takes a few minutes to walk to Lionshead. During winter it is ski in/out, which is not that easy to find in Vail. I happen to enjoy the full service gym and spa. There is indoor tennis and I have had lessons with a great pro in the past. The staff are all exceptionally friendly, professional, and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the creek and are in the main part of the hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We got a great deal with a Groupon and we had never stayed in Vail so we decided to try it. We were very pleased with the room with the hotel with the service and the staff is very attentive and extremely helpful. We ate at the Atwater at Gore Creek restaurant in the hotel and the food was beyond all our expectations! We are still talking about the 1/2 roasted chicken, the caesar salad and the creme brulee!! The Angus burger was the best my husband had ever had. We had a balcony room and it was truly worth it. The sound of the creek right outside the door to the balcony and the beautiful views - so calming and peaceful. We just wanted a weekend away and this was the perfect spot to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: upgrade to the balcony, mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LJCanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Hi LJCanary-
Thanks for taking the time to post, we're so pleased that your stay exceeded your expectations. We are finding more and more Denver residents who are just now discovering us, like you did. Hope the word spreads, and thanks again for helping let others know to check us out.
Best,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I found a really great deal online for this hotel. We kind of had an experience upon arrival that lowered our expectations. We drove past all these amazing resorts and, at the end of the line was one that looks a bit old and run down...that one was ours. Unfortunately I have a keen attention-to-detail, which makes me notice things that most people might otherwise miss (like mismatching pavers and cobblestone as well as cracks/broken concrete).

When we checked in, I was looking around while I listened to the customer service my husband was getting. Oh my. Little lack-luster to say the least. We were the only ones there and there were 3 people behind the counter and it took about a minute of us staring at them to get noticed. Everything around the check-in desk seemed aesthetically pleasing, but the chairs were all broken down and overly worn as was everything else in sight. It is what someone might call "Monet."

The room we got had a bit of a mid-evil dungeon-feel. It was averagely nice, but there were stains on the carpet that probably could have been cleaned with a shampooing...it was just never done. Made it a bit uncomfortable since I felt like I had to have shoes on at all times.

The building was definitely showing it's age as the plumbing was shotty. I will say, I was pleasantly surprised to find a small refrigerator in the room as well as a humidifier since my skin was falling off my face.

The location was fair...close to things (though not many were in open-season yet) but not close enough to walk. We did visit the Aria spa to get our first massages ever. I was able to get the one that was included in our package changed from a custom to a prenatal. The first part was great, but then came the second part when I had to lay on my back (something a pregnant lady is NOT supposed to do), I got very ill. Needless to say, the massage effects were gone before I had a chance to enjoy them. Also, when my husband left a tip, the girl overcharged us by $20, which was more of a frustration than anything.

Not sure I would return to this particular location, but it served the purpose needed at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clmcam1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.6 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#8 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Property: Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing