We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Taste of Vail stay was fantastic”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Vail
2 reviews
“The Taste of Vail stay was fantastic”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We had an event at the Vail Cascade Resort, The Taste of Vail. I saw an amazing level of service and we appreciate this.
The staff was available and ready to help at all times.
We had very few areas of improvement and there have already been meetings to fix everything!
The Cascade showed us that the location gave everyone time to enjoy the spa and Atwater. I would highly recommend anytime!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasteofVail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed a week with our two young children with the Spring Break package. We stayed in a standard room, facing the interior courtyard/entrance. The room wasn’t large, but it was tastefully furnished and comfortable.

Highlights:
Nice facilities - Pool, hot tub, fire pit, spa, ski rental onsite, chairlift – all wonderful. I was particularly impressed that the pool was sufficiently heated. Sometimes ‘heated’ pools are not sufficiently heated to be enjoyable during cold weather, but here it was a great temperature.

Housekeeping - No one gets excited about housekeeping, but they did make our stay comfortable. Multiple, requests (more sheets, blanket, more coffee) were quickly taken care of.

Restaurants on site (Fireside Bar and Atawater) were solid. The breakfast buffet at Atawater had sufficient variety and everything was high quality. Great value at $15 for adults. Service at breakfast was awesome. We always asked for Steve W.’s section. He was great with kids, just got us started on the right foot every day. We ate dinner twice at Atawater and it was very good – the buffalo rib eye was superb. Fireside had great choices and a nice atmoshpere. The kids' menu was thoughtful and had great choices (the mac and cheese ws home made and delicious enough for discriminating adults).

Shuttle – The shuttle to Lionshead/Vail Village also dropped us of (on request) in front of the Children’s Nursery/Ski School at Golden Peak. It was very convenient, no long walks with adult/kid equipment. The shuttles circulated frequently and we never waited long for them. It was probably more convenient for us than if we would have stayed in Vail proper!

Concierge – Yes, we know they are trying to make money, but still, it was very convenient to have someone call us and book spa and restaurant reservations. Thumbs up!

Low Points:
Reservations – I first called to ask questions about the rooms, package and change/cancellation policies. A nice agent (Allison?), answered all my questions, was very enthusiastic, and made an initial reservation. I called the next day to book my package and the agent that answered the call (not Allison) gave me completely different information on the room (can’t provide an inflatable mattress, etc.) and the package cancellation policy. She was also pretty short and impatient. I had some issues at check-out (see below) and I am wondering if she did not put all the information correctly.

Check-out – Since we were leaving at 5:30 am to catch a shuttle to the airport, I went to the front desk the evening before our departure to settle our bill. We had booked the Spring Break package that included a substantial resort credit for staying 7 nights. I had confirmed on the phone with reservations and at check-in that it was good for any resort charges (restaurant, spa, room service, etc.). At check-out, the front desk person indicated that in one part of my reservation the credit appeared as a Food and Beverage credit and in one part it appeared as a resort credit. Since I had spa charges, she would have to check with the manager to see if they could be applied. I indicated that my confirmation in my room clearly said resort credit, and it had been confirmed at check-in. I said I could get it, if it was necessary. She said I should get it, so that there wouldn’t be any problems. I had to go back to the room to get my confirmation for the front desk. We got it sorted and then I noticed there were 2 small spa charges that weren’t from my room. Once again, the front desk person went to the back office to retrieve the receipts, which clearly had someone else’s name on it, and only then was my bill corrected. This is a big hotel, and it is understandable that someone would have confused their room number, but it would make sense for the department making the charge (or the front desk) to verify that the name on the bill matches the person staying in that room before charging it to the room. This is not s small, intimate hotel where the entire staff knows your name, so it’s particularly important to check before charging the incorrect guest. Also, when I’m on vacation, I want my bill to be correct, and I don’t want to have to take the time to produce evidence that what I am saying is correct. All in all, it took a bit of time to get everything correctly sorted and I was glad I had not waited to 5:00 am to settle my bill. It certainly was not a relaxing end to an otherwise great vacation.

Despite the issues, we enjoyed the service elsewhere in the hotel, the facilities and restaurants, and the convenience of the location/shuttle, enough to visit in the future. If we do, we hope these issues are worked out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrvinotinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Avoid this hotel if possible. We paid nearly 200 dollars and had the worst nights sleep. The walls and doors are thin as aluminm foil and all night we had college players literally wrestling in the hall. It stopped around 4 am with a whole lot of cursing and threats to other guests. The next morning we had to request twice for towels before we finally went down and got them ourselves. At breakfast I found a hair in my oatmeal and a hair in our silverware roll and their only compensation was changing the oatmeal. I still paid for breakfast. As we were checking out, I went to use the toilets on the first floor and they were all clogged with bowel movements.

I will not be going back to a hotel which asked me to pay to listen to drunk college kids wrestle until 4 am, and asked me to pay for hairy oatmeal and poo in the toilets. You know what they offered me?

Free parking.... what a joke

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cstillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I stayed here at the very end of ski season (April 16, 2011) with 3 girlfriends in a 1 bedroom suite. Service was outstanding (can't say enough about the bellhops/concierges catering to every whim), room was extremely comfortable, very spacious and delightfully quiet. Although not in the heart of Vail, between the Hotel's shuttle and the village buses, we barely noticed - really just as convenient as other ski-in places I've stayed in Vail Village proper. The gloriously heated saline pool and hotub on the very edge of the mountain/creek with nearby fire pits were sublime. We enjoyed the onsite restaurant as well and the cafe/store was well-stocked.

All four of us did have difficultly connecting to the room's WI-FI (never worked), but we never called someone to look into it either since our digital phones worked fine. If you really need WI-FI, make sure it works as soon as you arrive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Good location near the slopes. Not at the mountain but close enough and access to an outlying chair make it convenient. As previous reviewer mentions hot tub by the river is sublime. Though I was not pleased with the amount of not just young teenagers but little children playing in the hot tub as it detracts from the experience. There should be some measure to restrict their access at least during certain times and enforce it to make it more pleasurable for guests who do not have children and are paying for a relaxing vacation. Overall service was excellent, check-in and cafe staff get the highest marks, concierge and bell hop the next highest and finally the ski shop/concierge staff the lowest. The ski shop crew were certainly kind and I don't need to be treated as royalty but felt after they got the initial "hello sir" out of the way, they were very informal. They assumed we knew the process when in fact we didn't and could have used an explanation. Not at all disrespectful, but too informal "yeah dude"
for me. Turns out the ski boots were returned to me soaked as they were left next to skis with melting snow by the ski concierge. Overall, in conclusion I would say that all hotel staff including the ski concierge was good, the location was ideal and the venue was beautiful both inside and out. I'd recommend this resort for couples and friends in the 30+ range but not suitable for families with younger children. Overall, an excellent value deserving each of the stars awarded.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I have stayed at the Cascade several times over the years. It had been awhile though, I hope it will not so long between stays!

From the warm welcome at the desk, they let us check IN at 10:00 in the morning. Impressive! All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, this at the end of the season.

Our room in the Terrace Wing was large with a king bed, sofa, couple of chairs, small fridge, table. I could have easily spent a week in our room.

Really nice hot-tubs, one with a fire pit. Love it! The Cascade is a very, short distance from the Village and the private shuttles run often. I love the location by the river. It is so very relaxing. Wish I had time to visit the spa, friends that did loved it! Thanks to everyone at the Cascade for the perfect getaway, though albeit much to short!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailInstructor, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
We are so pleased that your stay with us at Vail Cascade was such a great experience for you! We also truly appreciate the time and effort you took by writing and posting your review. Hopefully you can return soon, we'd love to see you here.
Best regards,
Kirsten, Vail Cascade Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I may be biased since I got engages last weekend at Vail, but all the staff went out of their way to make us feel special and spoiled! Excellent service and attention to detail. The value at thsi hotel is incredible, and with ski-in, ski-out, what more could you ask for! I can't wait to go back. P.S. the Aria spa is fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecc222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailInstructor, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Wow! What a romantic event, many congratulations to you both! We are so glad we got to be a part of your memorable experience. We truly appreciate that you took the time to record your wonderful stay here with us, and sincerely hope to see you many, many times again.
Best wishes,
Kirsten, Public Relations, Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing