We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ski Vacation”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Ski Vacation”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My husband and I spent an amazing five days at the Vail Cascades from March 11-15. The fire pit, hot tubs, spa, hotel bar, the atwater at the gore restaurant, the ski concierge, and the shuttle service were all fantastic and easily accessible amenities. Even though it is outside of Vail and Lionshead Village the shuttle made it incredibly easy to get to those locations for dinner or apres ski. All of the staff were extremely helpful in answering questions, making suggestions, and ensuring that our stay was spectacular. It is an incredibly easy ski in and ski out location that is not crowded and ensures you get some warm up runs before hitting the back bowls or blue sky basin. The rooms were clean, spacious, and the beds were comfortable. I can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

I stayed two nights here for a business trip and was very impressed! We usually stay in very nice hotels and I have had great experiences in others, but even so this hotel exceeded my expectations and was the best place I have ever stayed. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We had plenty of hot water, clean towels, etc. I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner there and found the quality of the food to be OUTSTANDING. The hotel bar and outdoor areas were also comfortable and not as generic and busy feeling as other hotels. I can't say enough good things about it. I give it 3 thumbs up :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maschamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailInstructor, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful visit. Not only is it helpful for those planning a vacation, it's helpful for our assosciates to read an outside view of a guests' stay. Thank you for taking the time to contribute your thoughts!
Kirsten, Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

Had a great stay and loved the ski in ski out lift. If, as some reviews say ,you are having a hard time finding your way back get hints from the staff. Our family had no problems, though.
Loved the Ski Concierge service !! They were amazing.
Had a lovely room overlooking the mountain and stream.Staff is amazing and helpful.
Our room was a bit noisy but the staff offered to change it when we complained.
The shuttle service is brilliant so you can easily get back and forth to the various parts of Vail until midnight.We loved the outdoor whirlpools and swimming pool. Heard the spa whirlpool is especially amazing if you have sore legs. We loved the outdoor pools with a drink in hand. What a way to end the day !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcinzrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Vail Cascade exceeded my expectations.

The service was great, no complaints at all.

We had a courtyard room -- it was spacious and elegantly decorated, with a large bathroom. There were 4 adults and only one king bed, but the full sofa made out into a comfy bed, so we were all comfortable. There was a small fridge and coffee station in the room.

If you're skiing, the location can not be beat as there is a ski room/concierge where you can store boots/skis. When you walk out the door with your gear, the lift is 30 feet away, so up you go.

The amenities were nice, 2 hot tubs and a heated outdoor tub, all overlooking beautiful scenery, including a stream and the side of the mountain. There is a great little market onsite for sandwiches and wonderful little snacks.

Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesofthenile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and during both the winter and summer seasons. While it is an older hotel, and the rooms are not quite as high-end (and a bit dated) as newer properties in Vail, they are both spacious and comfortable. But what makes this hotel is the service--from the bellhop to the front desk, you see an experienced crew who appears to genuinely want you to have a good time while in Vail.

But from some of the reviews I have seen here, I would not recognize the place. No experience with the spa, though travel partners said it was nice. Therefore, just wanted to make a couple of points:

1.) The hotel is outside of West Vail, so it does take a few minutes to Vail Village. The hotel shuttle is handy, and taxi fare is only $11-12 if you don't want to wait for the shuttle.

2.) Using the adjacent lift to access the mountains is quite handy and better than most early morning lifts, as there is no line. Returning is very easy for skiers, but the catwalk can be a bit rough for snowboarders who cannot get up some serious speed for the last leg. You can also backload on the lift (Chair 20), but it can be a bit scary for those with a fear of heights (you are leaning down with no footrest).

3.) The pool and hot tub areas have been refurbished, so disregard older reviews.

4.) Gym is free and amazing for a hotel. Think huge and uncrowded.

5.) It is a conference hotel (I hosted a conference for 120 this winter), but really appears family friendly as well. Saw a lot of kids this weekend.

6.) Staff makes the hotel. Not stuffy, very well informed, long time employees. If this is important to you, it will overcome the perception of dated rooms in no time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We recently stayed at the Vail Cascade for a ski weekend. The property was built in 1978 parts of it remind you of that fact. Other parts like the lobby, fireside bar and restaurant look newer and updated. We had a standard two queens room. The furniture in our room could have used some updating but the beds were wonderful. The resort also serves as the only convention resort property in Vail so there are lots of folks there at any one time. Despite this, it never felt too crowded. The staff at the Cascade were very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. We ate at the Atwood restaurant, only one on property, and our meals were great. The kids meals were well priced and good portioned. The pool area looked new and was very inviting. It seemed small for such a large convention resort property but we were not crowded and there were plenty of chairs available. The added touch of firepits near the pool were a warm and striking touch. The property is buffered by an enormous recreation/spa/parking facility so you never hear the roar of I-70. Skiing was easy because the resort has a dedicated lift to get you on the mountain and a trail to bring you back at the end of the day. The kids loved playing basketball at the rec center and my wife enjoyed her spa treatment. She confessed it was not as nice as the spas at the Ritz in Bachelor Gulch or Arrabelle in Vail but it wasn't as pricey either. Though we were content to stay on the property for the weekend, the resort offered shuttle service until midnight to both Lionshead and Vail. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will look forward to returning to the Vail Cascade this summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Awesome staff and great location but very average rooms and amenities. Over priced.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trurevuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.8 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.7 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebastian - Vail
1.5 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.8 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing