We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service and location.”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Overall a great place to stay, with a good location and great staff.

Free breakfast, close to the ski lift (150m), bar in the basement, free bus stops outside, and the transport center is across the road.

The spa and pool were a god send for sore muscles, and the free cookies at the end of the day rocked!

From what we could gather, some if not all of the rooms are privately owned, so the condition and décor MAY differ from room to room. Our was recently renovated (just not our style =).

Things (small) that they could improve on:
* Turn down the heating coz its warmer than Florida! We had our heater OFF the whole time and would still open the window each day for a bit to cool it down more. It was near impossible to put your ski gear on and get outside without working up a sweat.
* The free breakfast. Served on disposable plates and utensils. Very rare to see staff in case something ran out. If you are a hot breakfast person you will be disappointed (only oatmeal/porridge and waffles here)
* Storage in the room. This maybe a room specific thing, but the furniture in our room was tiny, so we essentially had to live out of our suitcases as the drawers were a joke.

Tip:
I don’t think the margaritas in town have any alcohol in them, so go to the Tap Room bar and you may get a free shot of tequila that you can add to your margy.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groundrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    76
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
158
64
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

this is a well kept nicly maintained hotel / condo hotel. each unit is owned so the the sleeping arrangments and the "style" differs from room to room. our group of four men arrived to find a a queen and a king in each of the two rooms...wow. the roll away we was terrible so we ended up....yes, sleep together. make sure you review the arrangments before you book here.

the heat was an issue as well as we could not get it below 85 degrees the first night. it was later fixed and i must say the manager was exellent in making sure we were taken care of. the went out of there way to make us happy.

the breakfast was OK and was included in the room fee. a real hot young bar crowd hangs out in the George after skiing and late at night.

nice location..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We had a three double bedroom condo for a week over New Year. Great fun, big lounge, fire etc. Excellent location, staff very good, especially concierges - nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We were greeted by experienced, helpful and gracious staff. The spacious 2Br 2Ba second floor, end unit, upgraded condo on Gore Creek and the covered bridge could not have been better. The intown bus stop is right out the front door of the condo and walk under the covered bridge you are right in Vail Village. Walking distance on a scenic path to Betty Ford Alpine Gardens was quite enjoyable. We also enjoyed the Philadelphia Orchestra at the Gerald Ford Amphitheater. Surf(King crab,excellent) and Turf(top sirloin, not so much) for $15.00 at George, the Condo's restaurant was great. Relaxing Spa with two hot tubs, steam room, sauna and showers. Overall a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bktlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I stayed at the Mountain Haus with my wife and 13 year old son over Father's day weekend (June) 2009. I travel to Vail each Father's day to play in the King of the Mountain Volleyball tournament. I've stayed at several places in Vail but decided to give Vail Mountain Haus a try this year. I wanted to try a place closer to the town center, restaurants, etc. Based on descriptions and photos, I booked what VMH called a "Lodge Room". This room was smaller that the smallest of motel rooms you have ever seen. Two sub-queen beds we crammed into the small room leaving virtually no room to walk around the beds. I went on-line again to see I had perhaps mis-booked the room. I soon realized that due to the layout of the web site and the organization of descriptions, I had been duped into thinking a Lodge Room was much more that it was actually cracked up to be. I called the manager who offered to talk about upgrading to a 1 bedroom for a nominal feel. The next morning we did that and I could not have been more impressed with the 1BR. Sparking decor, great views, 1st rate modern kitchen and rich granite and stone decor.

In the winter, I would recommend this place but in the summer there is a serious flaw. The rooms have no air conditioning. This makes sense because even in the summer, the high elevation results in cool, comfortable and dry conditions that are quite comfortable. But, to cool the room you open windows or sliding doors to the outside. The problem comes at 11:30PM when the first of the bars start closing and goes through about 2:45 when the last of the bars close. Hordes of highly intoxicated patrons flock to the parking garage across the street screaming and shouting as loudly as possible. Waves of them pour out of Vail Village every 15 minutes over the covered bridge and wait at the bus stop right outside the hotel carrying on with foul language and loud drunker banter starting you out of a sound sleep and making it impossible to fall back asleep. This happened each of the three evenings I stayed there without fail and I got no sleep from midnight to about 2:45AM. Presumably, this isn't a problem in the winter since you would not need to cool the room by opening windows.

On the last night, a drunken man climbed into a decorative tree just outside the hotel and began shaking it back and forth while his drunken escort screamed at the top of her lungs "Shake it Monkey, Shake it Monkey" for ten non-stop minutes.

If you are visiting in the summer and value a good night sleep, I would recommend avoiding The Vail Mountain House (Valley View Rooms) and seek accommodations at one of the many quieter locations along Vail Valley Drive

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank pastvne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Our two bedroom condo was absolutely beautiful w/ fireplace and nice , comfortable furnishings. We stayed on the valleyside and yes, there is a parking area across w/ trees in front of it to help hide it but the breathtaking view of the moutains above it cancels that out! Room 445.

The only problem we had was that the second bedroom had no windows (has to be that way by design!)and no ceiing fan so it was stifling!...thus we found it hard to get a restful nights sleep with it being so hot with just a loud, noisy box fan blowing to keep the air moving. It was very uncomfortable to say the least!! But that is July in Vail!!The main bedroom has nice windows and is comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning is very good & adequate and we took it up to our room to enjoy the view as we ate. The location is fantastic!

  • Liked — THE CONDO WAS BEAUTIFUL WITH VERY TASTEFUL DECOR.
  • Disliked — THE HOT, NO AIR MOVEMENT 2ND BEDROOM
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank breezesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Apparently I stayed in one of the not-so-great rooms. It was a "lodge" room on the street side. Really cramped!!! With two queen beds in there, there was very little room to even walk past the television. There was no desk so I had to put my computer on the nightstand after putting the phone and the clock on the floor. Did I mention the room was very cramped? No air conditioning......it was 90 degrees that beautiful June day. There were spots of peeling paint and the room decor was either outdated or a version of "early monastery". Nothing remarkable about this room. The staff was very nice and I wasn't uncomfortable enough to make a fuss but I do not plan to go back. I felt I paid way too much for much too little.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jlclarkCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.3 mi away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#8 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge

Property: Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge
Address: 292 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#10 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along Gore Creek at the Covered Bridge in the heart of Vail Village, Vail's Mountain Haus offer luxury condominium and hotel accommodations only steps from World-class skiing, dining and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail`s Mountain Haus At The Covered Bridge Hotel Vail
Mountain Haus Vail
Mountain Haus Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing