We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
258
86
14
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
86
14
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesgreat locationfront deskbedroom condofree breakfastmountain sideevery afternoonmake your own wafflesparking structurefull kitchenhot breakfastfabulous stayski vailfarmers markethot chocolatebeautiful condomurphy bed
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 369 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had a group stay at Mountain Haus for a 4 day ski weekend. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo, we were told it was owned by a doctor from Michigan. It was well furnished and very clean. There was an ample amount of kitchenware if you wanted to cook, we did not. There is a good breakfast available in the morning (complimentary), with plenty of selections.

The location of Mountain Haus is perfect. It is right at the covered bridge, a 5 minute walk to the vista bahn lift and all of the attractions of vail village are right there. There is a nice little bar in the basement of Mountain Haus that the locals hang out at which is really nice. You didn't even have to put shoes on to go downstairs for a drink.

The folks at Mountain Haus can really make your stay easy. They can arrange shuttle service, stock the room with groceries, recommend where to get the best rental equipment and what restaurants to eat at. I found the service to be exceptional. One hint that they will tell you is that when you arrange a shuttle from the airport, you can just have the shuttle driver stop at a store so you can stock up your room. The staff can also give you some excellent tips on how to avoid the crowds on the lifts that occur on weekends, so make sure you ask them.

I'd highly recommend this to someone who want to ski vail and have a touch of luxury with their stay. For the price, you can't beat this level of quality in vail village.

Room Tip: There is usually plenty of room for a rollaway bed
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejr1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We rented a three bedroom and while the room had been updated, the furniture was super budget and it did not compare to many newer condos, The building was in worse shape than the unit - two ultra slow elevators, breakfast in a basement room across from the laundry. There are no ski lockers for guests and no parking. Water pressure for showers is variable. The sauna and steam room are each the size of small closets and the overall exprience is one of compromise. THe key advantage is a good location near the mountain, but other than that, there is not much to recommend,

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlk12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

After reading good reviews I was very disappointed in this condo/hotel. We rented a very expensive 3 bedroom for Christmas week.
1) condo was small dark and despite all efforts extremely overheated.
2) furnishings were old tired and stained
3) no washer dryer/ laundry was in basement and shared a small room with hotel laundry
4) complimentary breakfast also in basement across from laundry and was woefully inadequate and pretty unpleasant
5) hotel is about 1/3 mile from lift, the hotel has no contract with lift side ski valet so one has to make separate arrangements, very expensive with a family of 5.
6) 3 calls about heat problems went unanswered
7) otherwise staff was very nice
8) only showers, no tub in condo ( important if smack children

Overall I think that one could do much better in Vail. Other hotels seem to be newer and more up to date. This was probably top of the line about 1990 and other units may have been refurbished but I'd use caution here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baconator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattVail, Director of Sales at Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

One of the biggest challenges in managing a condominium property is that each unit is individually decorated to that owners taste, which is not always to our guests standards. We try and put as many photos of our common areas and units online as possible, however I am sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to the management team, as well as for us to forward to the individual owners of that particular unit. We would love to have the opportunity to make things better for you should you wish to give us another try for your next trip to Vail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed at the Mountain Haus for a sort weekend trip to Vail. The staff was very friendly and helped us with restaurant recommendations and local activities. They also had cookies and hot beverages everyday at 4pm which was a plus. The room was clean. The bed was comfy. We had a great view of the Christmas tree in front of the Village. The location was perfect. Right at the entrance of the Village and the bus stops right in front of the lodge for quick trips to Lionshead. The Mountain Haus was also several hundred dollars cheaper per night than most of the other places to stay in the village. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMDietrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in a studio apt facing the highway. Great hotel. Very nice breakfast. We are planning on coming back here next year!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews